We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertainment Great/ Food Blah” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Legends of the Pacific Luau

Legends of the Pacific Luau
69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
808 886-1234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 31 Activities in Waikoloa
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
Attraction details
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Entertainment Great/ Food Blah”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We enjoyed the entertainment at the luau. The dancers were phenominal. The food for the adults was okay, but didn't blow me away. It was nice that the kids had options lilke chicken nuggets and spaghetti, so they would eat and enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    45
    28
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food, Quite good Luau staff/dancers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Hilton needs to move it's food quality up a big notch. The up-charge for priority seating of $25 per person is highway robbery as all seats have good view, and contrary to the sales pitch, all seats were served table-side. Priority may have provided open bar...but was there actually alcohol in those drinks? I can't say so. I am not one to down half a dozen drinks to find out. The dancers were really quite fine and tried hard and succeeded. MC did well and added a touch of humor and could expand on that. EXPENSIVE for what it offers.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food was cold when served.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had to sit with our backs to the entetainment, we left early. This luau doesnt even come close to Jermaines in Oahu.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A really nice job by the entertainers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food was really good, the drinks great, but I'd have liked the show to have started just a bit sooner. I think kids would have been bored with it somewhat, but really tiny ones seemed to enjoy the music and dancing by the groups.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Save Your Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I guess everything is relative. If this is the only luau on the Big Island, than it's the best and worst. It's the only one that I've been to on the big island, but I've been to so many that are much better on the other islands - Germaines, Polynesian Cultural Center on Oahu, Smith's Tropical Luau on Kauai. All with much better food and shows.

Pros - the show is well choreographed. The hula is performed well. The fire dance is first rate. The Ahi Poke was excellent, the assortment of food is amazing. The desserts are pretty good. The potato/mac salad was pretty good, sweet potatoes pretty good, local tomatoes good. Drinks are okay. Hostess has a great voice.

Cons - the biggest dissapointment was the food. Kalua Pork dry and stringy/overdone, fish dry, short rib beef overdone. Sweetbread rolls dry. People around us from the mainland and other countries also complained about the mediocre food. I'm a stage lighting guy, and the lighting is done as an afterthought. I don't like the abrupt fades.

All in all, if it's the only luau choice you have, then it's probably worth going to. if you have other options on the other islands, I'd wait for them

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends of the Pacific Luau also viewed

 
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Legends of the Pacific Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends of the Pacific Luau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.