We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth seeing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te 'E'a O Te Turama Hula Halau

Te 'E'a O Te Turama Hula Halau
68-1330 Mauna Lani Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
808-885-9501
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Looking for classic Hawaiian entertainment? Come see one of the most exciting Polynesian hula shows on the Big Island! The Shops at Mauna Lani, located near the Mauna Lani Resort, is the place for fire dancing, culture, music and traditional Polynesian dances performed by the Te 'E'a O Te Turama Hula Halau. This hula show is fun for the entire family and it's free! Shows are from 7-8 pm every Monday and Thursday evenings. Fun, festive, and a night you won't forget!
wapiti
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well worth seeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A free show with better performers than some of the paid luaus my husband has seen. Plan to arrive early enough for dinner. There are several restaurants in the plaza. I noticed one restaurant has an upper lever looking down on the stage and that would be the absolute best seating. The young men doing the fire-dance rocked the house! I think there were also people making fresh flower leis but we didn't have enough time to check it out. Be sure to go early.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    11
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Great Show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a great show! We all loved it! And, our toddler couldn't stop dancing and drumming after the show.
We loved the Polynesian dancing--the girls were great. And, the fire dancers were very good. The kids were just awesome.
It was approx 40min from Keauhou Bay. But, well worth the trip. The seating is good...no real bad seat. And, it is free! You can have your photo taken with the performers afterwards, too. We did some shopping around afterwards, but the place cleared out pretty quickly.
Prior to the show, we grabbed some snacks from the adjacent grocery store.
We enjoyed it, and would recommend it to others.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“reviews are all acccurate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Set in the middle of outdoor mall. Fun show for all. How can you complain, it was free! Had hula gals, fire dance guys.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville; home of the UF Gators
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“At the shops at Mauna Lani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Show is free, performed on Mon. & Thurs. at 7PM. Plenty of seating but get there about 30 minutes before show time for the best seats. The hula story and dancers were very good. Even had some keiki dance. The fire dancer was really entertaining. These are just kids and young adults learning the trade but they're very good and probably as good as most of the luau's. Pictures at the conclusion. Donations excepted. You won't be disappointed!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, NJ
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Front Row & Free - Awesome Luau Show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were so impressed with this luau show. The choreography & dance skills were great - and the fire acts just seemed to get better & better. We really liked the 'local' feeling of this luau - yet it catered to visitors/tourists as well. We enjoyed a dinner at Ruth Chris Steak house (literally 1 minute walk) - we justified the meal as twice as good & costly as luau food -(but the free luau made it even out in the end). The luau 'voice' leader was fantastic & captured the imagination & excitement of the kids (and adults) in the crowd - great job everyone - thanks for the free show.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te 'E'a O Te Turama Hula Halau also viewed

 
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Te 'E'a O Te Turama Hula Halau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te 'E'a O Te Turama Hula Halau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.