We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paniolo Greens Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paniolo Greens Resort to your Saves list
Paniolo Greens Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   68-1745 Waikoloa Road, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sale - 15% Off
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Central location and Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice 2BR condo with upstairs. Don't get A/C as trade winds keep it nicely cooled. Close to restaurants (Pueo's Osteria and Lava Lava were great) and village market. Internet was very bad though

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    221
    59
    19
    18
See reviews for
201
195
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Paniolo Greens for 8 days, while others in our family stayed at a highly rated Kohola Coast resort on the beach. Overall, we were much happier with our accommodations than I think they were with theirs (once they saw ours). They had a gorgeous ocean view, but only got a hotel room with two king size beds, no kitchen, and no room to lounge around in the evenings. We had a peaceful and quiet view of a nice golf course, three bedrooms, three baths, a full-on kitchen, a living room, and nice furniture to lounge around on after a hard days snorkeling and touring. Paniolo Greens is essentially a large collection of condos that I presume private owners rent out. Because of this, I can’t personally vouch for any condo other than our own, but I’ll bet most condos are configured in a similar fashion to ours. We booked through a major internet travel site, and pre-paid a room/car package, so everything was paid for when we arrived. However, use the air conditioner was an extra $5/day and controlled via a key that gives you control over the thermostat. Of course we paid the extra fee, but when we arrived, we discovered the placement of our room was such that all we had to do was open the windows facing the golf course and the windows on the other side of the condo, and air blew through the condo like a tornado. So if you’re staying on the golf course side, maybe you can get into the room and check out the air flow is before you pay the extra fee. Though frankly, the AC fee was about the cheapest thing on the island, so no problem for us.

Internet is included in the room rates (though sometimes the connection was dodgy), and parking is assigned by condo number, with parking spaces having the condo numbers painted in them. The condos are 6 minutes from the main highway and 15 minutes (or shorter) from several large Kohala Coast resort (I timed it). The condo is essentially located on Kona side of the “Saddle Road”, which is the route to Hilo, and the Volcanoes from this area of the island. However, Volcano National Park is still a 2 hour drive. The closest beach access is about 10 minutes from the condos, though the best beaches are about at least 20 minutes away. Paniolo Greens is about 25-30 minutes from the airport and sites right smack dab in the middle of the lava fields, with stunning views from most of the second story condos. There is a small pool, which we could tell was being used by the adult crowd late in the evenings. Daily towel and trash-removal service, though they also straightened up a condo a bit. Deep cleaning (vacuming, scrubbing, etc) is done once weekly. There are also a small grocery store, gas station, and shops right around the corner from the condos, though you have to drive to get to them. Wild turkeys roam the golf course, and were fun for our child to feed every morning. Overall an excellent choice, if you are OK with not paying crazy prices to stay on the beach. We’re already planning our return trip to The Big Island, and we will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a second story with a golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We exchanged into Paniolo Greens for a week. We had a very good time on the island, and Paniolo Greens was a good base to work from. Last time we were on the island we stayed at The Kona Coast Resort, and most of our time was spent in Kailua. This time we spent more time at other parts of the island.

We took the advice from other reviews and asked for an upstairs unit. I can understand why they were unsuccessful in selling the units as condos and had to convert to timeshare (per a local we talked to). We were OK with the bathrooms being upstairs, but I could not see living that way on a full time basis if I were old enough to retire there or if I was ill. Yes, there were wild turkeys outside, but they made no noise at all. The only noise was from our neighbors that insisted in cranking up the volume on their TV at 5AM and then trying to talk over it. The walls are thin, so be kind.

We stayed in the G building. That building and the ones next door do have an ocean view, but it is from the little bedroom. The master bedroom has a golf course view, as does the lanai. The little bedroom was funny in that the dresser and TV were placed in the closet. The master bedroom is quite normal.

Don't think of the property as a resort per se. There is no bar or restaurant. The pool area is OK, but nothing special, and nobody enforces the no kids in the hot tub or no yelling or rough play rules. Kids basically get to do whatever they want to because their parents ignore them.

There is a grocery store near by, so you can eat whatever meals you want to in your unit. We typically eat breakfast in, so that worked out well. The grocery store prices are high because of the remote location. Buy wine and such at Long's in Kailua for half what the grocery charges. There are Long's stores in Kailua and Waimea.

If you use a concierge to book activities, talk to Patrick. He is very helpful and won't steer you wrong. You can trust him for any advice or information he gives to you.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs and in the E-I buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have been going to Paniolo Greens Resort for the past four years. This year was just as good. It's located on the "quiet" side of the island. So if you're looking for a peaceful, quiet, relaxing, getaway, this is the place.

First, all the rooms are full kitchen suites. The lower levels in building B,C,D, are excellent for walking straight out of the patio door unto quite mornings and cozy nights under the stars. A pleasant surprise every morning is the wild turkeys. The come right up to your patio and parade by. You can feed them! The upper level feature a townhome style (guest bedrooms on bottom floor, master upstairs. Free WiFi (good signal strength), full waster and dryer! Maid service too!

The rooms are large and specious. The full kitchen is a great bonus on this property. If you like to cook meals in instead of going out, you'll love it here. Everything you need from pots and pans, to plates, bowls, silverware, etc. is provided. No need to go out and eat. Just stop by the Costco on your way out from the airport (a short ten minute drive) and you're all set.

The landscaping is well kept. The pool area has it all, jacuzzi, pool, lots of tables, and fun complementary guest activities. Plenty of gas grills and picnic tables. Driving wise, you're a short drive to the public beaches, Hilo farmers market and waterfall, and golf courses.

The staff is friendly and very responsive to any request. So, if the Kona side of the island is too fast paced, Paniolo Greens Resort at Waikoloa is where you can come to relax and bask in island paradise.

Room Tip: Select building B,C, or D. The best views and near the pool & spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Thanks to a delayed Delta flight we were accommodated at about 1am but experienced no problem at all. For a decent price we had spacious condo offering much more space then expected (and needed) and could not complain about anything. The only concern would be the noisy lawn cutters at greens early in the mornings, but we had only spent a couple of days exploring the Big Island and it was thererfore no concern. If you plan just to take a good rest in there, mornings could be quiter somewehre else though.
As for the location it would not be a walking distance to the beaches unless you like two hours march on lava fields under the sun, but the pool is nice and the place makes a good base to travel around the island. On the top of that, nearby grocery store is well stocked and reasonably priced (for Hawaiian standards) as well. If you plan to travel around the island, dont be afraid of Saddle Road, there in nothing special to be afraid of in there and road is in very good state on most parts. It will save you 30 minutes or so travelling to Hilo or Volcanoes, and Volcanoes really are a must when in there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just got back from a week's stay on the Big Island. This resort was in a great location for everything we wanted to do. The spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath multi-level suite was perfect. Although it could be updated, it was exceptionally clean, nicely decorated, fully stocked, and the staff was great! I would love to return!

Room Tip: Loved the multi-level. Second floor common rooms, and bedrooms on the third floor provided great pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our multi floor suite was somewhat dated, but everything was functional with nice decor. Grounds and pool area were well kept. Shared BBQ was clean and functional. Staff/ service were excellent.
lots of turkeys, like over 50 put on an interesting show outside the balcony facing the golf course.
There is a grocery store, restaurants, and fast food just up the street (past the golf course).

We recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paniolo Greens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paniolo Greens Resort

Address: 68-1745 Waikoloa Road, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paniolo Greens Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Big Island’s captivating mountains as a backdrop, Paniolo Greens is a lush tropical retreat deep in the heart of Hawaii's Big Island. Settle in to spacious, fully furnished villas tastefully decorated in keeping with the area’s rich heritage. Relax in your own private lanai, enjoying the cool breezes and warm Hawaiian sun. Paniolo Greens is centrally located for day trips to the North Shore, Waipio Valley, Volcano National Park and the waterfalls on the windward coast. Tee off on one of ten world-class golf courses located just minutes away. And dining, shopping and entertainment are conveniently located. Paniolo Greens is the perfect place for romantic getaways, family vacations, reunions and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paniolo Greens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paniolo Greens Hotel Waikoloa
Paniolo Greens Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paniolo Greens Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.