We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paniolo Greens Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paniolo Greens Resort to your Saves list
Paniolo Greens Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   68-1745 Waikoloa Road, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Prague
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Spacious clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Thanks to a delayed Delta flight we were accommodated at about 1am but experienced no problem at all. For a decent price we had spacious condo offering much more space then expected (and needed) and could not complain about anything. The only concern would be the noisy lawn cutters at greens early in the mornings, but we had only spent a couple of days exploring the Big Island and it was thererfore no concern. If you plan just to take a good rest in there, mornings could be quiter somewehre else though.
As for the location it would not be a walking distance to the beaches unless you like two hours march on lava fields under the sun, but the pool is nice and the place makes a good base to travel around the island. On the top of that, nearby grocery store is well stocked and reasonably priced (for Hawaiian standards) as well. If you plan to travel around the island, dont be afraid of Saddle Road, there in nothing special to be afraid of in there and road is in very good state on most parts. It will save you 30 minutes or so travelling to Hilo or Volcanoes, and Volcanoes really are a must when in there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    235
    61
    20
    18
See reviews for
212
201
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just got back from a week's stay on the Big Island. This resort was in a great location for everything we wanted to do. The spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath multi-level suite was perfect. Although it could be updated, it was exceptionally clean, nicely decorated, fully stocked, and the staff was great! I would love to return!

Room Tip: Loved the multi-level. Second floor common rooms, and bedrooms on the third floor provided great pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our multi floor suite was somewhat dated, but everything was functional with nice decor. Grounds and pool area were well kept. Shared BBQ was clean and functional. Staff/ service were excellent.
lots of turkeys, like over 50 put on an interesting show outside the balcony facing the golf course.
There is a grocery store, restaurants, and fast food just up the street (past the golf course).

We recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Chose this place ultimately because of price and reviews. We were not disappointed and I would recommend it to anyone.

Now for the finer points...

It is a 20 min drive to the airport, and 25-30 minutes from downtown Kona, but it is closer to the sand beaches (on the Kohala Coast). So if beaches are your thing, this is a better location than Kona. If you want restaurants, bars and people and within walking distance you will have to pay the higher fees and need to be IN Kona and likely on the north end of Ali'i drive. Ali'i drive is about 8 miles long so if you're on the south end it is a fair hike to the centre of town. If you want something similar to Paniolo Greens but want to be closer to town, try Kona Coast Resort - managed or owned by same time share group.

We planned to tour the island and had a rental car so didn't much matter where we stayed. You cannot walk to anything in Waikola Village though other than a small strip mall (with 1 coffee shop/ breakfast cafe, 3 fast food and 1 formal restaurant, and 1 grocery store in it). Waikoloa is a sleepy bedroom community. Waikola Beach is 6 miles away and is a planned tourist resort town with a Starbucks, shopping, beach, etc. Again, a bit far to walk in the heat.

At Paniolo we had a two story condo on an upper level, with full lanai overlooking Kohala Volcano and with distant ocean view , FULL kitchen with EVERYTHING you could possibly need and dishwasher as well as clothes washer and dryer. They even had detergent for all machines. We've stayed in condos with kitchens before that had apartment sized stove and 2 plates and a few odds and ends for utensils. This one had truly everything, all you needed was food. It should be noted that all units are 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom. If you want a one bedroom, they just lock the second bed and bath. NOTE IF FOR SOME REASON SECOND ROOMS REMAIN UNLOCKED YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THEIR USE. (Did not happen to us but overheard someone else checking out who had extra couple of nights charge for second bedroom because they didn't make it clear they did not need/ want the rooms and they should have been locked). Also should be noted AIR CONDITIONING IS EXTRA - it is Hawaii so this is common but you need to know. It is $5 + tax PER DAY. This resort is just high enough elevation that you don't technically need it during the night as there are ceiling fans in every room that do a great job but we were out getting baked every day doing all sorts of activities and found it a blessing to be slightly chilled at night so opted for it.

So not everything can be 100% awesome all the time, Therefore I must share the one negative we encountered...Apparently the units on the ground floors can hear chairs on the lanais..or hear something. We purposely lifted our chairs when on the lanai but we think the patio door also reverbed through the floor as we got royally told off and accused of purposefully making noise by an old couple below us. It was off-putting to say the least but we brushed it off as he yelled at the people in the condo next to us too thinking it was us - so he really couldn't tell where his noise was coming from. We believe this is just a by product of the way the building is built. We did not hear them below us or any neighbours to our right or left other than the occasional door sliding. The condo from our perspective was exceptionally quiet. It's too bad for the old guy - Given we are two middle aged adults who only spent an hour on the lanai having a drink right before bed as were out touring from the early morning to late evening, I can't imagine if we had been a family staying here what he would have done!

So lesson - be sure to ask for an upper unit...just in case.

Room Tip: Get an upper unit. If you're not accustomed to heat, spend the $5 a day for the AC. Make sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

One of 3 couples, we stayed from June 8 through June 14, 2013. They placed us in 3 units clustered together across from the pool with designated parking. The location was perfect as we had easy access to each others units, convenient to board the bus or van transportation to tours we had selected, or to our vehicles. We bought the "Go Green" package for light housekeeping. The units were spacious, well decorated and lighted, beds great, terrific closet space, convenient layout of bathrooms and kitchen and laundry facility in each unit. The design of the units allows for opening windows/doors for the wind to go through. Air conditioning (at that time of year) was not required! Grounds well maintained and staff very friendly. Loved the wild turkeys that roamed the golf course! Did not care for the facility restaurant and as I am not a "water" person did not use the pool or spa. The location is approximately 6 miles off the main highway and you drive 10 minutes to two resort areas (Hilton and Marriott) for upscale dining and shopping; drive 30 to 45 minutes to Kona and the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was the only place that provided our two rooms together. The layout is very spacious with designated parking. Love the wind that goes through the house. I bought the "Go Green" package which meant light housekeeping. I would have given this a 5 stars but for the following reasons, I deducted a star. The noisy 5am lawn mower, the strange closet doors which opens to the bathroom and my towels were not restocked. I enjoyed my visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a great resort, has every thing you need for a wonderful stay, even if it is a over niter. Location is perfect, close enough to all the beauty that the Big Island has to offer.

The condos are very roomy and pool and spa was a plus, especially spa, perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paniolo Greens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paniolo Greens Resort

Address: 68-1745 Waikoloa Road, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paniolo Greens Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Big Island’s captivating mountains as a backdrop, Paniolo Greens is a lush tropical retreat deep in the heart of Hawaii's Big Island. Settle in to spacious, fully furnished villas tastefully decorated in keeping with the area’s rich heritage. Relax in your own private lanai, enjoying the cool breezes and warm Hawaiian sun. Paniolo Greens is centrally located for day trips to the North Shore, Waipio Valley, Volcano National Park and the waterfalls on the windward coast. Tee off on one of ten world-class golf courses located just minutes away. And dining, shopping and entertainment are conveniently located. Paniolo Greens is the perfect place for romantic getaways, family vacations, reunions and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Paniolo Greens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paniolo Greens Hotel Waikoloa
Paniolo Greens Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paniolo Greens Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.