We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% thru 5/3!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights over Spring Break having stayed here before. We really like this hotel. Everything is very convenient due to proximity to the King's and Queen's Shops. Pool is substantial with a small slide. There is a kids area with sand bottom. Not overly crowded like the Hilton. We had a nice ocean view room overlooking the pool. Nice grounds with the Hawaiian fishponds and beach. They have a little kiosk in the lobby with "Starbucks"-type fare for breakfast. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    838
    280
    94
    42
See reviews for
490
1,008
58
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Believe it or not, I was over on the Big Island just for one night, and decided to stay at a hotel. We usually stay at a vacation rental condo, but due to the short stay this worked out better.
Staff very pleasant, common areas beautiful, great location, and nice rooms.
Didn't get to use the amenities much, but it appeared to be a very family friendly place.
I am not usually the resort type, but this was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel resort as part of an incentive trip my husband won. The incentive winners were spread across the Marriott, Hilton, Mauna Kea and Fairmont. The Marriott didn't measure up to the other hotels. All four hotels are around the Waikoloa area which is very, very windy. The nearest small town is Kailua-Kona, about a half hour drive from Waikoloa. The Sheraton is a better option if you want to be closer to town (and out of the wind).

The first room we were given was touted as having a garden view. Forgive me, but looking over a concrete roof with a vague glimpse of the highway in the distance does not constitute a garden or a view. My man is not picky, but one look at his face when he saw the "view" was enough for me to insist on a room change. The next room was more tatty but had a view of the roof, the pool and the ocean.

The hotel is tired. An upgrade is long overdue. The reception staff would also benefit from some customer service training. The other staff teams were helpful. At least the rooms were clean. The pool area is good with plenty of loungers and towels available. Lots of good pools and a decent span of beach. The Mauna Kea hotel beach, though, is spectacular.

Watch out for the car hire desk in the hotel. We requested a Mustang, but were given another car - but charged for the Mustang. The clerk was not interested in adjusting our rate or making any effort to accommodate our request.

We had to pay for an extra night ourselves. Not sure what the other hotels charge, but I would rather pay more for another hotel.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a decent view. The "garden view" includes roofs and the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice hotel with a surprise warm lei greeting and all of the rooms have some sort of ocean view, even if its partial. The rooms are elegant and even sexy for Marriott. This is not a romantic place, definitely not for honeymooners unless you have small kids. I liked this better than the Hilton because we had a real beach and the Hilton bartenders seemed as though they'd had their fill of virgin daiquiris. The hot tubs are 24/7 at Marriott which we loved. Overall, the food and parking prices are outrageous, spa overrated, and there is far more to see on the big island to be wedded to one place for too long. We had a pleasant stay and memorable view :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Waikoloa Marriott for one week in early March. The overall experience was great. Our contact with staff was always courteous and each was helpful. I would especially like to point out the terrfic service provided by the Hotel's concierge service. Each morning an orientation is provided by the service and don't miss it. Amanda did the presentation the day we attended. Her insights and recommendations were spot-on.

In addition to the concierge service one other individual stood out, Frank the Manage on Duty. Frank, I aplogize I can not remember your last name. I do however remember the open and gracious way you treated my wife and me. If you stay at this Marriott, seek him out. I am sure he will be able to help you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on our first trip to Hawaii during Christmas break 2012. My family of 4 traveled from the east coast, spent one night in Oahu and then flew to Hilo to do some sightseeing there. After an activity packed day we drove across the island to Waikoloa to the hotel, arriving there at about 12:30 am. When I arrived I was told that they had our room which was an oceanfront king. I explained that I had four people, and we booked a room with two beds months ago. At that point I was told that was not a guarantee, merely a request and I asked where exactly my two children would sleep. I was told the hotel was completely booked, but eventually they found another room--not oceanfront--that had a sleeper sofa and king bed. At 1am we got to the room and went to make the sleeper sofa and found blood on the mattress. When I called to complain to the front desk I was told to flip the mattress. At 7am I got a call from the front desk--different clerk--to tell me the difference in the room cost and ask me if I still wanted the room type I had booked--which I did--and then was told it would not be available during our stay. They woke up our entire family to tell me that they didn't have our room! I went to the front desk to complain and was asked if I wanted to send an email, which I did not, but then spoke to a supervisor who was very nice and gave us a complimentary luau. I know we would not stay at this hotel again and was happy to leave after the two nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We enjoy our stay at the Mariott. Pool were big and heated. There could have been more shade by the pool or at the beach. Nice beach activities for the kids, kayak, paddle board, glass bottom boat, etc... Very nice location, near variety of restaurants, grocery stores. Perfect weather! We would definetly go back .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Marriott Waikoloa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.