We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club

Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club
68-1292 South Kaniku Drive, Mauna Lani Resort, Kamuela, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
808-885-5910
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Kihei, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A must try if you are looking for great food, great service and a great view. We lived the fact that this is a smaller restaurant which allowed us to have a wonderful dining experience with our friends. Since there's only about a dozen or so tables, it gives you a very intimate setting wether you're looking for a romantic evening or just a very nice outing with friends. The food was excellent and everything we ordered was delicious and cooked to perfection. We will most definitely be returning to Napua on our next visit to the Big Island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    46
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This small restaurant is nestled on a perfect little beach. It has covered open air seating and some tables on the patio. The food is just extraordinary. I had a fried green tomato stack with crab as an appetizer that I would have happily eaten several orders of to make a meal. But then I would have missed out on the delicious fish entries and steak. I really don't think you can go wrong with anything on the menu. The menu combines the best of comfort food with upscale preparation. One of my kids is a fairly picky eater. The first night we went, she didn't see much on the menu she liked, but the waiter was able to come up with an option that worked for her. When we went back several nights later, I requested a simple grilled chicken breast for her when I made the reservation and they were happy to accommodate the request and had it ready (and perfectly prepared). The service is warm and efficient. The desserts are amazing so do leave room (Mud Pie is huge and can easily be shared). Don't forget to try the black salt in the the little bamboo box on the table. It is a revelation in itself! Looking forward to going back already on our next trip!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Doesn't always deliver to the level demanded by it's high prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The first night we ate there, we had the short-ribs and seared ahi... some of the best food we have had in our entire lives. Second time we ate there, we had duck and sword-fish... strike out on both dishes. Great staff, amazing atmosphere, live music.... but a too expensive if you can't deliver great food every single time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic local food, great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We ate at the Napua during our honeymoon. The Fairmont Orchid shuttle drove us there and back. The food was outstanding and the cocktails and beer just great. I can recommend virtually anything from the menu. The outside seating with the ocean view and the sunset is an extra bonus. Definitely recommend this place!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Elegance and finest dining we found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We found Napua on yelp and asked a few locals about it. Arewe happy we tried it. The food is outstanding and the service is excellent. Nestled in a very private cove it is the perfect specs il dinner we were seeking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club also viewed

 

Been to Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.