We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club

Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club
68-1292 South Kaniku Drive, Mauna Lani Resort, Kamuela, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
808-885-5910
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We dined here early one weekend evening and our only disappointment was that despite what one of the other reviews indicated, there is not a full sunset view.

This restaurant is located in the Mauna Lani Resort area and has a beautiful location on a small beach. The patio seating is ideal for watching the waves and listening to the slack key guitar player who performed during our meal. According to yelp, he is a regular and we enjoyed him immensely. Several of the ladies who were dining with us ended up doing an impressive hula to his tunes later in the evening.

Service was impeccable and our waiter was as good looking as the view :)

Everything was top quality in terms of ingredients and preparation. We had the poke to start which was our favorite poke of the trip. I had the seared ahi. The pickled ginger buerre blanc was original and made the dish for me.

I had read about the "shave ice" martini and got it despite rarely drinking liquor. Just watching the bartender make it was a treat and it was a novel and photo worthy drink. My husband finished it simply because I wasn't digging the vodka.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    46
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Another wonderful place to eat in Paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Mauna Lani Resort is worth visiting, even if you don't plan on eating there. Beautiful grounds, beautiful ocean views, and very well designed accomodations. Also, be sure to check out the Resident Artist, Calley O'Neill...amazing lady and amazing artist! We actually ate breakfast here a couple of times during our December stay on the Big Island, and each time we were very glad that we did! I would highly recommend the Coconut French Toast, Malsada, and Hawaiian Loco Moco! They also have a large breakfast buffet which we did not partake of, but those people who seemed to be enjoying it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“convenient, professional, affordable, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

a real treat to have access to coctails, and great food, just steps from the ocean. nice variety of seafood, and other, of course. Wait staff is excellent. Nice place to get out of the sun and relax, watch all the people on the beach having a great time

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville,WA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Perfect for our last night in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Knowing we'd be ending our vacation, we decided to make reservations at Napua, as it was close to where we were staying at the Golf Villas at Mauna Lani. It was marvelous! Reservations accepted. Easy parking. Our fish was served perfectly, the service ( especially the wine server) was personal and outstanding, the music added a lovely touch to the evening. We were given a table near the outside of the former Beach Club, and enjoyed viewing the nearby beach, and watch our final day turn into night. A bit pricey, but wine prices reasonable. Worth it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
637 helpful votes 637 helpful votes
“Ate 3 dinners in one trip, think it's great and it allows corkage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Although we had not planned to do so, we wound up having 3 dinners here in a 2-week trip. The combination of food, service, location, and value was compelling compared to alternatives north of the Four Seasons.

The restaurant is located at the Mauna Lani Beach Club; the parking lot is open to restaurant patrons at dinner…ask when you reserve. Reservations are wise since it’s quite popular with hotel and condo guests and homeowners in the resort. The site is beachfront, with sweeping views of the Kohala Coast and Rift Zone, but not sunset views due to the angle. So plan your meal time accordingly if you want to catch sunset from the hotel area or around the Point.

Service is warm and professional. This reflects the caliber of staff and management commitment to training.

The wine list is small but thoughtful. They have a $20 corkage fee. We took advantage of this the second and third dinner and brought champagne over from Foodland Farms (chilled it in the room refrigerator and had it iced there).

We especially enjoyed the fried green tomato and crab appetizer, the ribs, and the duck confit. Most memorable is the haupia (coconut cake) dessert—well worth the calories!

Before tip, dinners cost $135 (including 2 glasses of wine and one dessert), $126 (including corkage and one dessert), and $141 (including corkage and 2 desserts).
We definitely will have more meals at Napua and look forward to returning next trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club also viewed

 

Been to Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.