We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helicopter Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Hawaiian Helicopters

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters
105 Kahului Heliport,, Kahului, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96732
(808) 871-1107
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Scarsdale, New York
1 review
“Helicopter Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!! The pilot was extremely knowledgeable and the ride was as smooth as could be. This was definitely the BEST way to see the Island.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    41
    13
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, WI
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I agree, this is an expensive activity, but we thoroughly enjoyed it. Seeing the island from the air is spectacular. You really get a sense of how the lava flows and our pilot, Steve, was very knoweldgeable about the island. Learned a lot. Seeing the waterfalls on the remote cliffs was incredible. Seating on the Eco Star was comfortable and and people on both sides of the aircraft were given ample opportunities for photos. Don't pass up this opportunity.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Big Island Spectacular - Well Worth It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you are hesitating about spending the extra for the 2 hour trip - stop hesitating and do it!
Unbelievable experience and scenery, all incredibly well described by our pilot, Steve. Any initial nerves were quickly dispelled with Steve running through his impressive resume and he really made the trip even better - making sure everyone had a great view of the countless jaw dropping vistas and features.
The 2 hours took in the Kilauea caldera, the current eruptions and lava flow, the Hamakua coast and rainforest, dolphin pod searching and of course the stunning waterfalls and valleys of the north east.
Steve was very patient answering the 'varied' questions of our 6 and 8 year old who had a fantastic experience.
Overall an experience well worth the money and a must-do of the big island.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You haven't seen the Big Island until you have see it from the air.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Ride the Eco star and take the Big Circle tour. It's totally worth the money.This was our second time on Blue Hawaiian Helicopters.The first trip was years ago. It was amazing to see how the island had changed with new lava creations. Great touchdown by John our pilot. He was very knowledgeable and interesting. His stories and insights were exceptional. We were able to see Kilauea from the air as it spewed out an enormous amount of lava. The waterfalls were breathtaking. If you want to grasp the enormity of the island, you must take this tour.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Yeah, this is an expensive activity, but well worth every penny. Our pilot Noah isn't a native Hawaiian, but he knew his history, geography, geology, and how to fly! We did the Big Island Spectacular, which gives you 90% of the island covered. We were fortunate to have a very active day with Kilaeau's eruption, so we spent way more time than normal over the crater. Noah didn't scrimp on the waterfalls on the Hamakua Coast, and got us some killer photo opps. We've done multiple helo tours, and Blue Hawaiian is the best.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Hawaiian Helicopters also viewed

 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Blue Hawaiian Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Hawaiian Helicopters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.