We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pinnacle of great adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Hawaiian Helicopters

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters
105 Kahului Heliport,, Kahului, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96732
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #4 of 31 Activities in Waikoloa
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bent NM
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 215 cities Reviews in 215 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“The pinnacle of great adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This ride will be the highlight of your Hawaii trip and probably the best thing you have done in 10 years. Don't shudder at the price. The ride is more than worth it! Choose the big helicopter. Choose the Big Island Spectacular Tour ($495).
You get a close up look at lava flowing out of the volcano and lava flowing into the sea. Then a bathroom stop in Hilo (appreciated), followed by the most amazing waterfall viewing from up in an inaccessible box canyon.
The chopper has a camera to record the flight and you may purchase a DVD copy ($25) after the flight.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    36
    11
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Originally my friend was going with me. She's overcoming her fear of heights so we were looking at one of the hour tours. I ended up going without her on the two hour two which was amazing! In retrospect if I had to choose which hour tour to take, I would definitely take the waterfall tour. That said if possible, go on the two hour. That way you get to see it all. I have a whole new appreciation of Hawaii. I don't regret the high price tag a bit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Don't let sticker shock get in your way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Yes, you will think this is expensive; and it is. You could get a cheaper ticket to the mainland but that is a cattle run. This is truly an experience you shouldn't pass up. Toshi was an excellent pilot and guide. We took the 2 hour tour and went all the way to the Kilauea volcano, saw the lava flows and where the lava meets the ocean. From there we went up into the Kohala valleys and were able to see vistas only accessible by air. The entire staff at Blue Hawaiian could not have been nicer. The obviously have been schooled in guest service. All were very attentive and kind. Great place to do business.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

First class all the way! Roomy aircraft, comfortable, very professional staff who helped us fully with the enter and exit, strapping in, just a First Class operation all the way. We took the Island tour, the pilot made sure that both sides of the chopper were offered the same views for photography. He explained what we were seeing as well as where we were. I highly recommend Blue Hawaiian Helicopters - can't see many of the views from any other way! We flew over the volcanos, the shoreline, the canyons.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our pilot was great and made everyone feel at ease. The view were fantastic overall an awesome experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Hawaiian Helicopters also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Blue Hawaiian Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Hawaiian Helicopters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.