We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property but very boring atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations Club to your Saves list
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69-699 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Discount
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good property but very boring atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Good clean accomodation, we had a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. More of a R&R place for the retired folks. Plenty of goats running across golf course and cats all around property. Quite a drive from Kona town where most of the action takes place but than again, it is really clean and quiet. If quiet is waht you are looking for, this is a great property. If action and fun is in your game plan try looking for accomodation elsewhere closer to town so you don't have to drive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    197
    53
    16
    7
See reviews for
469
261
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment in Building 2. We were 6 adults and we had plenty of space. One bedroom had a king bed, the second bedroom had 2 double beds and the sofa pulled out to a queen bed. This apartment was like a mini house and I could live there forever. The kitchen was beautifully designed, there was a washer/dryer and a nice patio looking out to the golf course.
We ate breakfast in the main area and they gave us 2 for 1 coupons (thank you!). The grounds are gorgeous and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Be warned that this resort is near NOTHING! So don't be shocked when you need to drive 20-30 minutes to get to the grocery store or Target. My friends loved the remoteness .... me, not so much. My personal preferences does not affect my review of this resort .... the resort was beautiful!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We (family of 4) arrived at King's Land on Aug 27th for a 7 night stay. The landscaping is beautiful, surroundings are quiet and relaxing, and the pool is just WOW. This is our second stay at King's Land, and we enjoyed it just as much as last summer. The weather in Waikoloa is predictably sunny and mid 80's, and we were lucky to have the cooling trade winds the entire week.

We love the pool(s) here, and spent much of the week enjoying them. Waterfalls, lava steam, huge waterslides, a separate adult pool with unique grotto/waterfall, it just goes on and on. Water temperature was perfect for the sunny days too. There are at least 5 good sized hot tubs scattered around, and a large area for toddlers with fountains, baby slide, and soft bottom. Pool bar is just steps away where my 11 year old son enjoyed his daily "pina colada" (with no rum)

It's easy to stick with your fitness routine at this resort too. Daily fitness classes (both land and water) are free to guests, and are taught by very qualified and fun instructors. The fitness center is also nice with many cardio machines and free weights. My husband enjoyed an early morning walk down to the beach path each day, there were many was to stay active.

The rooms are comfortable and very clean, and since we are not time share owners, we did receive daily housekeeping services. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit on the second floor, overlooking the golf course. The rooms are nicely furnished with dark wood flooring, granite counters, stainless appliances, and a good variety of pans/utensils. We had take out from the Island Gourmet (in the Queen's Marketplace) twice during our stay - it was nice to have this option of eating in a few days.

The only drawback to this property is the strange layout of the master bedroom/bathroom. The bathroom is wide open to the bedroom, and the shower has no door or curtain. The toilet compartment has a glass frosted door that doesn't reach to the floor. Not great for any kind of privacy, and the toilet is one of the loudest I have ever heard. I really wish the designers had gone more for practicality than aesthetics here.

The rest of the room was nice, big patio with comfy sofa and chair- nice for morning coffee. The second bedroom had two beds, with a large bathroom across the hall (with a door!)

We spent one day over at the Hilton Waikoloa Resort pool, but it was so crowded and noisy compared to our resort. We also had a poor experience in the restaurant next to the dolphin experience. Sat down at a table for a late lunch, waited 15+ minutes for a wait staff to come to our table (there were many empty tables), but we couldn't even get someone to make eye contact with us. Finally we got up and left, and went over to the counter service snack bar at the pool.

This is an excellent choice for travelers looking for a place to chill out and enjoy the surroundings. It had a definite resort feel with the many activities offered, but with all the conveniences of home. I love all of the Hawaiian islands, but the Big Island is especially gorgeous. You will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Just came back from a week's stay at King's Land. We were in a two bedroom unit - which was fine for a family of four. Though units do have pull-out sofa's in the living room, I feel it would be very crowded if you used it.

The facilites were all very nice and overall it was a great place to relax.

The property was not crowded during the day - but looking at windows in the evening, most of the units had lights on - so people were there the last week of August.

We took advantage of the happy hours, the work out rooms and the pools. Otherwise we cooked in the unit or went out. Stock up at Costco -between the airport and Kona. The gas station there is also the least expensive that we found on the island.

We had cleaning service one time - it's usually done every third or fourth day. They did a great job putting the place back together. Remember, this is not a hotel, and they are very upfront about the service levels within the units.

We took the shuttle once to the hotel and drove there a couple of times - no problems or complaints. Did not use any of the amenities except restaraunts at the hotel. We found the pools at King's Land perfect for what we were looking for.

A couple of suggested activiites.
Go to the beach next door to the Mauna Kea. A beautiful true powder white sand beach. We went on a Saturday and it was busy with locals and tourists alike. Bring your own chairs and "shade".

Do an evening trip to Mauna Kea to view the stars and telescopes. Be sure to bring a light jacket or sweater - even if not going to the summit. The tourist area is at over 9,000 feet - so it is chiily. They have a variety of exhibits and telescopes for you to play with. The area is open from around 6:00pm to 10:00pm.

A fun day was also had with Bike Volcano. We did an easy bike ride at Volcano National Park. Total miles ridden was only about 12 - with a lot of stops and learning oppportunities. The ride has a maximum of 12 people - much more fun than the big bus loads of tourists. We took the "Saddle Road" from the hotel - the drive was a breeze and took two hours to get to the meeting point in Volcano Village. On the way back we took the north route and stopped at Akaka Falls - totally different view than Saddle Road.

If you are looking for the total hotel experience - don't stay here. if you want a wonderful more laid back home base - will absolutely highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here for one week and I could have stayed longer. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath apt in Building 1 on the second floor. We were 4 adults and a 2 year old. The apartment was very clean and spacious. The master bathroom was huge and had a separate bath and shower. Our room was cleaned once during our stay. There were flat screen tv's in all the rooms and modern appliances. The rooms overlooked the golf course and one of the volcanos (can't remember the name right now!). The grounds were immaculate. We enjoyed the bbq's outside each building especially at sunset. The pool was beautiful and you could float from one end to another. The water slides were fun too. The kiddie pool would have been nice if the "sand" was not actually more like gravel so we tended to avoid that area. There are a few hot tubs and an adult only pool area also.

We had breakfast at the buffet one morning and found the food very good. We had some yummy mai tais at the bar and spent an evening chatting with Roy the bartender who was great. We were also told that because it was summer, happy hour was extended until 7:30pm.

We used the shuttle twice to go to Hilton to use their facilities and eat there. We found the staff very helpful and polite. Honestly, I have nothing bad to say about the place. It was beautiful and a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

NOTE: if I ever received any higher management responsiveness I might be more of a fan knowing they cared about the grief we had.

CONs - Our "Personal Concierge" Cheryl was so bad she tarnished (In a lasting way) the over all satisfaction of our "Expensive" trip to this property.

We were there to consider a purchase and we quickly canned the idea-don't need her kind of attitude. Our "Personal Concierge" was down right offensive. We asked her to have her manager call us and we have NOT YET received a call.

Our room (While it started clean) was not ever attended to during the 8 days we were there. At first we thought that was what to expect at a villa and but we learned better. The cleaning staff manager was cordial and responsive but he was going to have higher level management call-NO call.

Very quiet. Almost deserted feel because most people stay in their villas. Loved the outdoor bar & pool but NO people was a bummer. They insisted they were 98% full.

Do not think that it is walking distance from the beach (More than a mile)! We were able to park at the Hilton Hotel (Waikoloa) but the parking staff there was terrible. Self park for sure.

PROs - ALL other staff was very very helpful. The resort is actually very beautiful and impressive.

The King's Land is much nicer than the main hotel. My kids preferred our pool to the famous pool at the main hotel.

Scott

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We spent a week at Kings' Land in August and the place is even more spectacular than when we visited 2 years ago. They added many more buildings plus a gorgeous clubhouse, new pools, lazy river, game room, fitness center, a great hall just for relaxing or playing chess, an bar area. Moreover, the service and its people are extremely helpful and friendly. Our check in was delay by about an hour and the manager invited our party of 8 to complimentary cocktail. The 2 bedroom we stayed at had the same beautiful polynesian decor I remember, but now they've added a vent on top of the stove area as I recall the last time many smoke alarm went off around breakfast time. The back area where the lanai is faces a golf course and Mauna Kea. We woke up to stunning sun rises every morning, and we saw the picturesque sunset every evening. I could not imagine staying anywhere else when on the Big Island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations Club

Address: 69-699 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations Club 3*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations Club® Hawaiian resort is a stunning hotel on the Big Island of Hawaii in the heart of Waikoloa. Reminiscent of a lush, Hawaiian plantation and nestled among championship golf courses and the beauty and serenity of the Kohala Coast. Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations Club Hawaii hotel provides the perfect setting for your vacation in the South Pacific.Treat yourself to spectacular hotel accommodations with spacious one- and two-bedroom suites incorporating a casually elegant tropical style and featuring a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. The suites offer all of the convenience of home including separate living and dining areas with wood-style flooring, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer and granite countertops throughout. Enjoy flat-screen HD TV's, an enhanced entertainment sound system, and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. The master bedroom has a king bed, while the master bath has a luxurious sculptured tub and shower. Step out onto your own private lanai equipped with comfortable sofas and chairs, and enjoy the serene surroundings and tropical breezes of Waikoloa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings` Land By Hilton Grand Vacations Club Hotel Waikoloa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.