We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill

Romano's Macaroni Grill
201 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Queens Marketplace, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 56 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Rocklin, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An OK dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you are staying at a nearby condo, the great thing about Macaroni Grill is that it is within walking distance.
The staff is friendly and the food tastes OK (at least what we order). Also it’s not as expensive as some other places here. The only thing was negative is that it’s incredibly load. Anyway, the food was good - standard quality that you would expect from a national brand. Nothing outstanding, just something straight out of the Macaroni Grill playbook.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    146
    108
    68
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
glendora, ca
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

this is a brand see often which I feel has dropped in reliability this one had terrible service our friends had to ask several times to get what they ordered the service was slow and underwhelming frankly, I don't think they cared I don't see how they can survive and the prices were high i'd say that people come here once and don't return

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast away from the resorts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was surprised and happy to find this place open for breakfast. I had the Italian Vegetable Scramble with bacon and fresh fruit. Yummmy!! The staff is very friendly (Megan and Grace). Outdoor seating made this morning breakfast spot a treat. So much less expensive than the resort I was staying at and I have to say so much better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A waste of time and $$”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Typical Romanos MG, mediocre food. Service was ok. No wonder they went belly up in our home town. I have had better Italian food at an Olive Garden.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lower price than nearby restaurants, lower quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Went for a quick dinner with my Italian wife. We knew not to judge this to Italian standards, but the food was still pretty poor. Tuna in a sauce which definitely didn't complement it, some form of rice/pasta infused with burnt garlic, and artichoke hearts straight out of a jar from the supermarket opposite (we ate them from the jar the following day).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romano's Macaroni Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.