We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining, food was ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Legends of the Pacific Luau--Hilton Waikoloa Village

Legends of the Pacific Luau--Hilton Waikoloa Village
425 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI
808 886 1234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 57 Restaurants in Waikoloa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Entertaining, food was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

It was interesting to see these talented men and women telling the story of their homeland. Not only are they talented but it must take some serious dedication to learn their craft. Thanks to you guys for a great show. Now, the food was horrible. Buffet style, cold food, empty or missing food containers at the buffet line. For the price I would never do this again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    95
    74
    39
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding Luau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The food was fantastic and the entertainment was fun. Even though we sat at a table with tourists from Japan who spoke little English we all felt like we communicated and had a great time together.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Food was excellent, Dancers superb. Beverages were unending. Tried to buy a fresh lei and they were out of change. The narrator was very vibrant and full of Hawaiian history.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The food was good ( buffet style) and the entertainment was good especially the hula dancers and the fire dancers

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Price Not Worth the Event”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My spouse and I have been to a couple different luaus in our visits to Hawaii and tried this one during this past week. Aunty Tutu and the dancers definitely put a lot of effort into their program. For us, it just felt a little too Vegas and frankly, I am not in need of a lot of audience participation as I am paying to be entertained so don't make me do things like stand up in a crowded aisle and learn the hula or do that "hang loose" thing with my hands every 10 minutes or yell something back at you, Aunty Tutu, while I am trying to eat and enjoy the show. That said, the hardest thing to swallow looking back on this is that we paid $289 for the two of us to attend this event. The minute we signed the Visa receipt, we thought...oh my..hope this it worth this much...but we truly didn't feel it was. The food was ok, plentiful and included the kind of "feed a whole town" stuff you'd see at a standard restaurant buffet...not really anything special. The short ribs were very tender and delicious and actually much better than the main course - pork - which was just a tad dry. The drinks were very pretty but obviously watered down. The desserts were the same bite-size variety you see at standard restaurant buffets as well. Again, nothing really unique which was too bad. The servers were great which was nice. The big issue here is whether you want to pay this much for something that feels like its worth half this amount. Definitely not worth the price in our opinion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends of the Pacific Luau--Hilton Waikoloa Village also viewed

 

Been to Legends of the Pacific Luau--Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends of the Pacific Luau--Hilton Waikoloa Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.