We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what I thought it would be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Legends of the Pacific Luau--Hilton Waikoloa Village

Legends of the Pacific Luau--Hilton Waikoloa Village
425 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI
808 886 1234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 56 Restaurants in Waikoloa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Bartlett, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not quite what I thought it would be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I think I thought this would be more of a taking a cooked the pig out of the ground on the beach at sunset type of experience. So I didn't feel like it was an "authentic" luau experience. However, the food was very good and the drinks kept coming. The staff was also very friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    82
    66
    34
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Included in the hotel package (aside from paying for kids) I can't say I'd have thought it was great value if I'd have paid full price, but as it was, we enjoyed this experience. Food was good and plentiful; there was a kids' buffet which our kids were not interested in as of course it's just your usual chips and nuggets rubbish, but noone complained when they hit the main buffet. The show was really lovely, the cocktails were good, and it was a beautiful relaxing way to spend a night!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Salonga, NY
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“If you never attended one, it worth going”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The pig was over done, but its great Hawaiian music and dancing. Its limited, but as long as you are not expecting 25 Hawaiians dancing at once, is enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“It was a Luau.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have been to Hawaii twice, both times when I was 17 and under. And both times I have attended Luaus, and I just felt like this Luau fell short on the food and entertainment. We did receive the Ali'i seating which served unlimited alcohol which was worth the value. My husband had 7 glasses of wine and I had 5 drinks myself which equates to $10+ a drink or so, therefore we had our value there. However, the entertainment could of been longer with more history of Hawaii, and involved the customers more. The pig roast was presented but it should of been a bigger production. I have been to Luaus where they show you the digging the pig out of the pit right in front of you. Overall, average for the price but I would of like more food options and better entertainment.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very pricey. More of a dinner show and not a true luau. How can you have a luau without leis?? The performers didn't seem into it and the emcee can't sing. The wait staff kept forgetting our drink orders.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends of the Pacific Luau--Hilton Waikoloa Village also viewed

 

Been to Legends of the Pacific Luau--Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends of the Pacific Luau--Hilton Waikoloa Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.