We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm. Not the greatest but not the worst.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) to your Saves list
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection)
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   19 4178 Wright Road, Box 998, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
toronto, ontario
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hmmm. Not the greatest but not the worst.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It's not awful. But it also needs a lot of work to catch up with the times. The wallpaper was peeling in places, the lighting was terrible, and the sheets were absolutely awful. The comforter in our room was terribly stained to the point that I didn't want to touch it, which was easy enough to do since we had two beds. The bathroom was impeccably clean, as was the general room, but I felt that it really should be updated in order to bea really top place to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed one night in the Makalapua Room, and wished it could have been more. This delightful lodge is an old guesthouse comprising four guest rooms and a large communal lounge. The house has been fully modernised, while retaining the old world decor and charm. The room and bathroom are small, but fully appointed and spotlessly clean. The king size bed was firm but comfortable. The owners provide a great breakfast at $6 per head at the central office, which is a short drive (unfortunately too far to walk) away.

After the heat and noise of Honolulu it was pure pleasure to experience the cool peace of Volcano. Some may prefer the razzamatazz of Waikiki or the glitz of a 5-star, but this suited us down to the ground.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

In a quiet part of the island of Hawaii near volcano national park an excellent property for off the beaten path accommodations. Not to be confused with super luxuary hotels this is an excellent value.

Room Tip: Top floor room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stay 2 nights at Lokahi Lodge --- (Olena Room). It's far away from highway so quiet at night. It's at ground floor so we're lucky that other guests on the 2nd floor didn't bother us. Very close to national park so a good place to stay if you don't want to drive far away to Hilo.

Originally we booked 3 nights but by other reasons we cancelled 1 night. Only get 85% return by their policy. But when we are there, they are so nice that gave us free breakfast for compensation (usually $6.25/person) Tons of fruit for breakfast, I like it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Clean, warm, well decorated, comfortable. The check in/out staff was the best.
Perfect place to stay in Volcano only stayed 1 night but would definitely consider
staying longer in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My family is not particularly fond of "quaint" places (they prefer upscale chain hotels), but we enjoyed our one-night stay at the Lodge. We had booked both the upstairs room (Naupaka) for 3 of us, and the Olena room for my 2 daughters. The rooms were spacious and clean. The Naupaka room could use more lighting and there was very little water pressure. The kitchen was being walled off while we were there - not sure what they are doing with it, but it wasn't available. The weather was not conducive to using the hot tub, but the surroundings were beautiful and it was a nice place to spend an evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our three days stay in the Naupaka room were great. It was clean and comfortable. The shower was pretty bad, but other than that it was a good place to stay in Volcano. They were very helpful in advising us before we got there about how cool and rainy it would be, and it was, but we still had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection)

Address: 19 4178 Wright Road, Box 998, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.