We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy spot near to Volcano N.P.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Kilauea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Kilauea to your Saves list
Chalet Kilauea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Germany
1 review
“Cosy spot near to Volcano N.P.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

outstanding accomodation, unique rooms, beautiful garden, friedly staff. Strongly recommended for a nice stay

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    66
    19
    14
    15
See reviews for
26
143
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

The rooms are very much Bed & Breakfast style - but the breakfast part isn't really included or encouraged. The room and bath are very nice. We stayed in the Jade room and it was nice. The bath is large and high quality. The deck area outside the room is also home to the sink, coffee machine, and microwave, and is a very nice spot for daybreak and sunset.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We ended our amazing 10 day trip to Hawaii the Big Island with 2 nights and 3 days at the Volcano National Park and stayed at the Inn in the Africa Room. The room was perfect, very clean and completely contrary to a review we came across. The Africa Room is adorned with wonderful African Art, the Queen size bed was very comfortable and the room had everything we needed to refuel ourselves for our hikes the next day even a flat screen TV! Also very convenient to have a door/hallway leading to the shared living room where we and friends could review the menus to the available local restaurants (best Thai Restaurant ever) and sip some wine in front of the fireplace. The Breakfast in the morning was like the old B & B's used to be! Great fresh fruit, amazing Bread Pudding, Tea's and Coffee and a very friendly staff. Very convenient was also the little kitchen we had outside the room which was shared with a few other rooms but not an issue at all. Just glad we had a place for our beers, wine and cheese snacks! We have traveled all over the world and look forward to visiting Hawaii again very soon and will definitely stay and recommend the Inn to anyone bound for Volcanic National Park! Thanks to all who made our stay such a memorable one!

Mahalo,
Jackie & Mike; Sarasota, Florida

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Beautiful setting, convenient location, helpful staff. Room had everything we needed. Continental breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scaramento, CA.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

My wife, Samantha and I, have been to The Hawaiin Islands many times. We were staying on The Waikoloa area (sunny) for 3 weeks and wanted a climate change. This property was recommended by Sam's son who has lived on the island 40+ years.This property is located in Volcano Village, Hawaii, 30 minutes from Hilo. While most people think of this area as visiting Hawaii's most active Vocano, we experienced a dense rainforest with lush foliage and some tropical rain. The property had a wide range of rooms to select from on their web site - from $60 to $289 deluxe. A room that fits all budgets.The room at the Inn at The Volcano was clean and had well thought out amenities. The morning breakfast's for $6 was delcious. The town of Volcano has some great restaurants in the true trdaition of old Hawaii. The Sunday Farner's market in the quaint town of Volcano was EXTRAORDINARY. Food, produce, and gift fair, and yes, the Volcano was special! Peter & Samantha Schor, Lincoln, CA.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

We stayed in seven hotels on three islands over a two week period and found a condom wrapper under the bed in one of them, and that hotel still wasn't as bad as this place. The carpets were disgusting - worn out and very dirty. Notice how the room photos on the website don't show the carpets? There's a reason. There were spider webs on the door to our room that were never cleaned, as well as mildew in the shower - a bit of bleach now and then would go a long way.

We stayed in the Africa Room - if you stay at this hotel I suggest you avoid this room - your knees and shins will thank you. The platform for the bed is bigger than the mattress & box spring and you WILL hit it EVERY time you walk by unless you put something on the corners to force yourself to walk around. They have pads on the platform, but the bottom and top are unprotected - perfect for slamming knees, shins and toes into. Additionally, this room was ridiculously hot - and there was no way to adjust the heat.

Other thoughts - there was a large dead goldfish in the filter of the fish pod (I suspect it might still be there) - this and the other things I mentioned highlight the lack of attention to detail that COULD make this an enjoyable place to stay. Finally, if you are much taller than 6', eating breakfast here will be a challenge as you have to avoid bumping your head on the ceiling.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, December 17, 2009
I must comment on this review. The review is clearly misleading. For example, although I cannot confirm or deny the presence of a dead goldfish in the koi pond at the time of their stay. What I can say is: 1) the pond is filtered by a high-powered water pump for optimal fish health, occassionally fish can accidentally become trapped, 2) the filter basket is located in a very very obscure place, how did these guests find it? What were they looking for exactly? One would think from their review that the beautiful koi pond was some sort of death swamp! Every part of their review feels like they had gone through the property with forensic detail. That is not normal for those on a relaxing vacation. Unfortunately, their comments may deter some from staying in a very popular and attractive unit. These guests paid $107/night for their room. Not only is the rate the lowest in the area, it also comes with an array of amenities. In regards to the other details mentioned by the guests, one would have the impression that the unit is filthy, quite the contrary. In particular: the carpet is not brand new, however, it has only minimal and average wear and a very small "wrinkle" by the entry. The state of the carpet is at least equal to, if not better than, most hotel operations. So why are these guests so critical? I have no idea. P.S., I'm 6'3" and have no problem with the ceiling in the historic dining area we offer. Most people are not taller than 6'3" so I can say confidently that most will not have a problem with the ceiling either. We offer very unique units; we look forward to your stay with us! Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

We spent two nights at The Inn at Volcano, part of The Chalet Kilauea Collection, and it was a wonderful place to stay.

Located just minutes from the entrance to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. There are not many places to stay in Volcano Village, it is a small town, I believe most people stay in Hilo and drive down to the Volcanoes Park. I would highly recommend staying in Volcano Village instead. It is a quant town located in the rain forest and this Inn is a gem versus Hilo which is a city and the hotels are more tourist traps. It only takes a couple of minutes to the National Park and your park access is good for a couple of days. Weather around the Volcano, due the rainforest, is extremely variable, thus if the weather is rainy you can just come back a bit later to see if things cleared up.

The hotel has a beautiful garden out front with a koi pond. It also has a communal room with free internet access on their computer or free wireless. The continental breakfast in their nice dining room was very reasonably priced. The continental breakfast included great fresh fruit, local coffee, tea, cereal, bagels, a wide selection of local Hawaiian bread and even homemade bread pudding one of the mornings.

We stayed in the Garden Room which was very nice. The bathroom was newly renovated. The room was very large, even had a reading room. Out on the covered patio there was a small seating area along with a microwave and oven.

Of course the main thing to do is the volcano. Due to the vog (volcano fog) from the large vent that opened in 2008 a lot of the rim road is closed due to high sulfur dioxide content in the vog. The movie at the welcome center was interesting and the lookout at the Jaggar Museum offers a great view of the crater. We heard that at night you can see the crater glow. The chain of craters dive was spectacular. There are some really neat craters along the way. Once again the road is closed temporarily when it reaches the coast due to vog. So we did not see where the new lava flows had taken over the road. Back up in the rainforest we walked through the Thurston Lava Tube.

There are with several good restaurants in Volcano. We got take out from Thai Thai which was super authentic, the owners go back to Thailand for a month every year. The other night we ate out at Kaiwe Kitchen Café, which had great margaritas and creative and delicious pizzas. We ate lunch at the Lava Rock Café; a modest diner setting with a big menu. We had some great burgers and a fantastic peanut butter pie. Our local friends told us Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant was fantastic, but it was a little pricey and we were not in the mood for the German/Continental Menu.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Kilauea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.