We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for What You Get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Kilauea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Kilauea to your Saves list
Chalet Kilauea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced for What You Get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

We stayed in the "Continental Suite." The entrance to the suite is next to an outdoor kitchenette which unfortunately meant proximity to a trash can and lots of flies. The door to the suite opens right into the bathroom (sink and toilet area), which you have to pass through to access the bedrooms. Let's just say that led to some awkward entrances... The jacuzzi tub was much smaller than expected and shower curtain needed to be replaced. Bedrooms were comfortable, clean and quiet, and the flat screen TVs were great. Grounds were "charming," as advertised. But at the end of the day, we found this property way overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    66
    19
    14
    15
See reviews for
26
143
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

This place has beautiful landscape, but the rooms are dark even when the lights are on. No one was staying at the hotel during the three days when I was there which meant no complementary breakfast. (Complementary breakfast was supposed to be provided with the room). When I approached the front desk, the hotel clerk stated that since I was the only hotel guest, my breakfast was provided to me in my refrigerator. It was the same breakfast that was sitting in my refrigerator the day prior.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

I'm not a b&b person, so please keep that in mind with this review; we were on our honeymoon and mostly stayed at resorts but wanted one night in volcano to explore the park; chose this place in volcano because it was only for one night, it was in my guidebook, and seemed to be the only place in volcano that had TVs in the room. I'm not quite sure why this place is so expensive compared to other places (unless there are others out there like me that need the TV!) but the main lodge in town seemed much more popular (it looked packed). The staff was helpful and nice, but tmain issue was that the room/suite was damp and smelly (related I'm sure). The water in the shower had a weird smell as well, and granted it was a chilly night, but chilly/damp/smelly is not a good combination. The common area is fine, but didn't add to my experience. Of course location and proximity to the park entrance is the main draw. For $200 per night, eggs or pancakes and semi-real (not powder + water) orange juice would have been nice with breakfast (though the fruit was great). The place that has gourmet pizzas and pastas in town was FABULOUS!!! It was packed and the food was YUMMY!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

Located on a quiet residential street in the tiny town of Volcano Village, Chalet Kilauea is a lovely place to stay and the antithesis of the mega resort - not slick, shiny and new, but homey, very tidy and welcoming. It appears to have once been a private residence remodeled into an inn. The grounds are lush and lovely centering around a large koi pond. The rooms are each designed around a theme, we enjoyed the Jade room. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and carefully tended. A central family room offers a computer, internet, game table, fireplace and tea each afternoon and adjoins a large lanai overlooking the koi pond. A candle-lit continental breakfast in the morning includes fresh fruits, local breads and yummy bread pudding. The owners and staff are warm, kind and a pleasure to interact with. Altogether the Chalet Kilauea exemplifies the aloha spirit - refreshing, relaxing and peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

Spent 4 nights in the "Tree House" suite. On our previous visit we stayed in the Jade Room. The Tree house is a stand alone unit connected to the main building by an outdoor covered common room. The Tree house unit has two levels. Lower level is a tiny kitchnette with fridge, microwave, sink, and counter. Also a Bistro table with 2 chairs. The large Spa like bath is on the lower level. It has a jacuzzi tub, a shower, flatscreen tv, a propane fire place, drawers and a storage area/closet for hanging garments. Off the bath is a private deck. Up a circular staircase is a bedroom with a King bed, bedside tables, a chest of drawers, A chair and foot stool and another TV. There was no way we were going to carry suitcases up the circular stairs so we made due with the storage in the bathroom. The Indoor Common room is very comfy and beautifully appointed. Our hosts Valerie and Bob were very pleasant. We would visit again.

Love the restaurants in Volcano. We enjoyed two wonderful meals at the Kilauea Lodge Restaurant. Definately gourmet. Make reservations for a special meal here. Also enjoyed Kiawe Kitchen for awesome gourmet pizza and pasta.

Tried to eat at Thai Thai restaurant but these people didn't want our business. They are only open until 8:30pm. We arrived at about 7pm to a restaurant that was only half full. They refused to seat us until they had a two top table available. After waiting 20 minutes we went back to Kilauea Lodge and they squeezed us in. We have dined at the Thai restaurant on past visits. Thouroughly average food coupled with this last experience means we've given up on them.

Volcano is a good base of operations for sightseeing in the Volcano National Park and Hilo area. The active lava flow is outside of the Volcano National Park and is about an hours drive from the Inn. Definately a worthwhile side trip! Park rangers or the folks at the Inn can give directions.

  • Liked — proximity to Volcano National Park
  • Disliked — Lack of storage space.
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

This was our first visit to Hawaii and the Inn at Volcano and I would not hesitate to recommend this accomodation and location to anyone. We stayed in the Oriental Jade room for 3 nights which is the perfect amount of time to explore the splendid Volcano National Park. The room is wonderfully decorated and has everything you need - the only very small negative point is that the windows are small and it feels a little dark, but we didn't spend day light hours in the bedroom as the connected communal living space was far too attractive. This light and open space offers free internet, many games and reading, lots of advice on local restaurants and activities, plus a great view of the lovely grounds.
The local amenities in the village were sufficient for ourselves with a number of restaurants (recommend Thai Thai and Kaewe Kitchen), general store and ATM.
In summary we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay in Inn at Volcano and the Volcano area. We recommend a visit.

  • Liked — The calm peaceful atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

We stayed here during Christmastime. We had stayed the year before at one of the off-site properties, and we thought that the Inn itself would be nice this year. We chose the Africa room, which was our main mistake. It has no window in the room. The decor is dark. The room is damp and smelly. The linens were damp and smelly. You are forbidden from wearing shoes in the room, which exposes you to contracting lockjaw from stepping on the sharp, rusty carpet tacks. It was terribly painful and hampered some of our hiking at the volcano.

I believe the wall that separates this room from the adjacent room was made of cardboard. A family with 2 young children stayed in the next room. We heard every word they said. We felt it when they rolled over in bed. We had to wake up when they did, and could not go to sleep until after they had. We spent most of our 5 nights whispering and trying not to move. There is no potential for romance. It was horrible. It was as if we were sharing a room, no actually a bed, with strangers.

The breakfasts were excellent. The staff was nice and tried to accommodate dietary needs. Unfortunately, 2 of the mornings a very large group of people, larger than the dining room would accomodate, came from 'down the road' and had breakfast in the dining room. They entirely took over the dining room, shouting over one another to the point that it escalated to 15 people screaming like banshees in a small room. And the first of these 2 mornings a toddler camped out underneath our private table. We had to leave on both occasions. I do not know what these people were doing there in the first place. They were part of some tour group. Other breakfasts were pleasant, and we met nice people.

The staff were very nice. The living room was a comfortable place to hang out. We hooked our wireless router up to the public computer and enjoyed internet access for ourselves. The grounds were nice. We wish they would get another cat, as we miss Chloe. I see that they have more than doubled the price of the Africa room since we stayed there. I might stay there again, in one of their more expensive detached bungalows, but spare yourself from the Africa room!

  • Liked — The grounds and location
  • Disliked — The painful carpet tacks in my feet, feeling like I'm practically in bed with the people in next room
  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Kilauea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.