We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volvano heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Kilauea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chalet Kilauea to your Saves list
Chalet Kilauea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Volvano heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We originally booked in Volcano Hale (one of three properties they own), but then decided we wanted a bit more luxury and asked about the availability of a room in Chalet Kilauea. We were very well looked after by Amber who sorted us with two nights in the recently refurbished Bamboo room. Wow, what a great decision this was! The room was fantastic - amazing huge windows with an outlook directly into the trees and Koi pond - it almost felt like we were sleeping outside. The amenties were superb - a his and hers bathroom and shower (huge walk in), amazingly comfortable bed, breakfast table, fridge, microwave etc. We also made good use of the communal jacuzzi! Definitely the highlight of the 16 days of our accomodation on the Hawaii Islands. Also worth mentuioning was the awesome Chalet Kilauea Kona coffee blend they provided during the stay - we even bought some to bring back to Sydney. Fabulous experience and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Bamboo room all the way! Rooms on upper floor away from office probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. It's wonderful to hear to you had a great stay with us! We are so glad to know that our front desk was able to accommodate you with a room that fit all of your needs and that you found to be most enjoyable. We definitely agree with you that the Bamboo room is one of the most amazing in the hotel. It's also great that you found the provided amenities to be everything you needed during your stay with us. We thank you for your lovely comments and recommendation and we hope to see you again on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i. Aloha and Mahalo!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    64
    20
    13
    15
See reviews for
24
136
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for two nights this week in the Bungalow and loved it! The location is in the middle of the rainforest. It is located just outside Hawaii Volcano National Park. It doesn't get more convenient than this to visit the park. The bungalow had a lot of space. There was a nice bedroom, living room (both with tvs) a kitchen area with a sink and frig and microwave. We loved the front porch area with the chimnea. We sat outside in the evening and enjoyed the rainforest. The bathroom was really neat with open glass looking out into the forest. Staff was very pleasant at the front desk and at breakfast. I read a complaint on here about the breakfast, but I thought it was well worth $6.50. There was cereal, fruit including pineapple and papaya, a variety of bread, and delicious Kona coffee. You could also take a paper cup of coffee to go. Hawaii is expensive and we thought this was a good buy. I would absolutely stay here again! Around the area, we enjoyed the Lava Rock Cafe for lunch and dinner. The Thai place was also good for dinner with huge portions. Have fun!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for providing comments on Chalet Kilauea. It's great that you had such an enjoyable stay with us in the Hapu'u Bungalow. We are always glad to hear about our guests' experiences! The Hapu'u bungalow is definitely great for privacy and enjoying the rain-forest on the lanai. It's also wonderful that you made use of the chiminea! That's my personal favorite! Also, we thank you for your nice comments about breakfast and we have to agree that for the price (which is at cost) it's a great value!! Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again on any future trips to Volcanoes National Park. Aloha and mahalo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Okay, don't choose the Garden room. We heard noisy footsteps stomping overhead before we went to bed, and then again starting at 6am. This guy was pacing around with heaving footfalls and you have to wonder, what is he doing? And then at 7am we could clearly hear conversations in the office right through the wall next to us. The Garden room is on the ground level and we would not recommend it. We asked to switch rooms and they obliged. All the other accommodations are on the second floor and are perfectly pleasant...!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us once you moved rooms:) We apologize on the other guests' behalf for their noise level and inconsideration of others. However, it's great that we were able to accommodate a move for you to help the rest of your stay be more pleasant. Again, thank you and Aloha!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Located minutes from Volcanoes National Park, my husband and I truly enjoyed our stay in the Treehouse suite at Chalet Kilauea.

The grounds are thoughtfully manicured. There is a hot tub which overlooks the property and the koi pond. A path winds around the pond. The property is exceptionally lovely.

After signing in, my husband and I took the outdoor stairs which led up to a beautiful covered seating area and the door to our suite. We entered and went down a few stairs to the kitchenette area and the bathroom. (This bathroom is HUGE! I never bumped elbows with my husband when we were getting ready in the morning. I have been in hotel rooms that were the size of this bathroom alone!) There was a door leading from the bathroom to a small seating area overlooking lush foliage. I took the opportunity to read out there in the evening before heading in for the night.

A spiral staircase led to the upstairs bedroom. A wall of windows gave the feeling of being in the treetops...lovely. The large flat-screen television was an unexpected bonus. The bed was big, the pillows were heavenly and the mattress and bedding were comfortable.

The suite was very clean...and quiet. We didn't hear anyone else during our entire stay.

The continental breakfast is fairly basic, but lends itself to being held in a room that is great for socializing with other guests. The only caveat...if you're a tall person, the lower ceiling may make for a bit of a claustrophobic dining experience.

The most important question to ask is, "Would I stay here again?"
The answer: "Absolutely!"

Room Tip: If you have a hard time navigating stairs, choose a different room to stay in...but definitely make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your lovely recommendation on the Treehouse suite. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and found the gardens here to be as special as we try to make them. The bathroom in treehouse is definitely a larger one which does make getting ready with two people sooooo much easier!!! We are glad that you enjoyed the room! Come back and visit again on any future trips to the Big Island. Mahalo and Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had a great stay at Chalet Kilauea. We were in the Jade Room which was upstairs with a view of the koi pond and gardens. The unit is not air conditioned but that was not a problem for us. A little side porch attached to the room gave enough ventilation along with the window in our room. We did not have the optional breakfast as it looked to be dry cereal and fruit which we had actually brought along with us. This is a great place to stay to visit the park.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms require carrying luggage. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to provide comments and feedback on Chalet Kilauea for the Jade room. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and the attached lanai. Jade definitely has a great view of the pond and gardens so it's great to hear that you appreciated the view!! We hope you will come back and visit on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i!! Aloha and Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a terrific time, rooms were spacious, clean, and with nice amenities. Each room is unique, we were in Tree house which is very cool, but requires navigating a winding staircase to go to the bathroom at night. If that is OK give it a try. Optional breakfast is so-so. Check-in was adequate. The volcano area and rain forest are a must see; I would highly recommend a night or two on this amazing part of the island, and if you go this is a top place to stay. Disclaimer: This entire area is rustic, this is not the Ritz, but as nice as you will get, and that is pretty darn nice.

Room Tip: Tree House requires navigating a winding staircase to bedroom, which is separate from bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Aloha and thank you for reviewing Chalet Kilauea. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Treehouse room and mahalo for your recommendation. It's wonderful to hear that you found the rooms to be clean and the amenities provided sufficient for your needs. We hope to see you again if ever in the area. Again, mahalo and aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We chose to stay here because we were going to Hawaii Volcanoes Nat'l Park, and what's closer than Volanco, HI? It was a great place to stay for that because the park is only about 5 minutes down the road. If you aren't planning to go to the park, there isn't much point to staying up here as it's about 30 minutes away from everything else. There are only a few restaurants around, but they are pretty good, if a bit pricey. The hotel itself is very nice, although the room we were in (the Africa Room) could use a few updates (like getting rid of the purple sink/toilet/tub), but everything was clean and worked properly. The separate balcony with mini-kitchen (mini-fridge, microwave, sink) was great and we sat out there one morning to eat some pineapple. They don't have air conditioning, but you really don't need it since you are at around 4,000 ft elevation. We just left the window open and the provided fan on and we were comfortable, and there's virtually no noise except for the birds chirping outside and the rain. We thought the fact that they serve breakfast and don't just include it in your room rate is kinda dumb, but we did go ahead and pay for it since it was a decent continental breakfast. All in all, it was a great stay and we would recommend staying for 2-3 nights if you are planning to head to the National Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your review of Chalet Kilauea!! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of our location to the National Park. I do agree that the restaurants are a bit pricey, however, for the area, it's about normal. While Volcano village may be remote, it's still a great spot for touring the entire island. Most anywhere you stay on the island requires some driving. With Volcano being central to the major tourist spots, it's a great spot to "set up camp" and drive to desired locations. To address your comment about breakfast not being included; the reason for this is that when we included breakfast (historically), guests usually felt that it was a disservice when added to the room rate. About 50% of guests we have staying here leave very early in the morning and do not get a chance to eat the breakfast. (Or they just choose not to.) If we continued to include in the room rate, the other 50% are not getting to use what they paid for. So, we offer the breakfast at cost (actually a little below our costs) to guests. In this way, guests have the option to pay for breakfast or not. I hope that explains a little as to why we provide breakfast as an option. Again, we thank you for your comments and feedback and hope to see you again. Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Kilauea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.