We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Kilauea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Kilauea to your Saves list
Chalet Kilauea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
new york, ny
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fine for the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights during our two week honeymoon to the Hawaiian islands. While the hotel was probably fine for the area, it was a little dark and dingy and the breakfast left something to be desired. We decided to try our chances elsewhere after the first morning. The one bright spot was a gentleman who worked there who gave us lots of great tips for our days in the area. It's fine for a place to crash after a stunning day on the volcano, but if we ever returned we'd likely try our luck elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Aloha and thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to hear that you had a less than desirable experience on your stay with us. We pride ourselves as a unique and non-cookie cutter hotel and find that most guests enjoy the newly remodeled rooms we provide, as well as the atmosphere and nature that surrounds our hotel. As for the area, our collection offers the best and most updated accommodations, at lower prices than comparable hotels in the Volcano vicinity. Again, we are sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than great and mahalo for taking your time to review Chalet Kilauea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    66
    19
    14
    15
See reviews for
26
143
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I went for our honeymoon and stayed 2 nights in the rainforest bungalow which is a short walkway away from the main Chalet. We arrived late (the office closes after 5pm) but everything was arranged perfectly for our arrival. We found a welcome letter with directions to the bungalow and our keys at the front door of the main building and were happy to come "home" after a long day driving around the Island. I was very curious about the bungalow as it is kind of unique and it indeed felt very warm and welcoming. A little hide-away in the middle of the rainforest. It has a cute patio with a gas chimenea, a cozy living room with kitchenette, seperate bedroom and a very spacious bath with jacuzzi bath tub. Everything was clean, comfortable, functioning and very inviting. As we arrived so late, I was excited that we were about to stay 2 nights and not just one so I could enjoy our stay a little longer. :) The $6 breakfast buffet is really good too and being only minutes away from the Volcanoe NP it's in a very convenient location. I would stay there anytime over staying in Hilo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Hapuu Bungalow and were able to stay two days with us. It's great that you made use of the continental breakfast and were able to appreciate the uniqueness of the rain-forest and everything it has to offer. We hope you will come back if you are ever in the area for a future vacation. Aloha and Mahalo!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Chalet Kilauea is a five minute drive from Volcanos National Park. The rooms are as attractive as the look in the photos. I had the Forest Bungalow which is in the woods about a half block from the main hotel (with a private walkway). The $6 breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Hapuu bungalow and continental breakfast. We always appreciate when guests leave us comments or feedback and hope that you will visit again for any future Big Island vacations. Mahalo and Aloha!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laplata
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because we planned to go to the national park. The government had other ideas. It is a beautiful spot. We were very pleased with the rooms. The common room is cozy. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Aloha and thank you for reviewing Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our continental breakfast. It's unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy all the national park has to offer, however, it's great to hear that you appreciated the beauty of Volcano Village and were able to at least enjoy nature in our volcano rain-forest. We hope you will come back to visit if you are in the area on any future vacations. Mahalo and Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Beautifull rooms and the area near the volcano park is amazing!
We had a nice suite with lot of space and rainfall shower!
A very vell smelling garden outside with a small lake and flowers. Five minutes to the national park with the Car.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Aloha!! It's great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our hapuu'u bungalow. Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and we hope you will choose us again for any future Volcano Vacations. Mahalo and Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights while exploring the local area.

A great place in the village, you need a car to get around, but the accommodation itself is sufficient for all your needs

The breakfast is extra but the wifi is free in the house. Staff very helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review Chalet Kilaeua. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciate the compliment on behalf of the staff here. Any time you are in Volcano Village again, we hope you will choose Chalet Kilauea for your accommodation needs. Aloha and Mahalo!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We chose this resort for the convenience to the Volcano and were pleasantly surprised how quaint and quiet the garden suite was. So warm and homey feeling. The breakfast was delicious, the sweet bread!!!

Room Tip: The garden suite was very quiet and set alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Mahalo for reviewing the Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor!!! We always appreciate any comments and/or feedback on your stay with us. We are happy you had a pleasant stay here and enjoyed the sweet bread and breakfast. Please come visit us again for any future Big Island vacations!!! Aloha and Mahalo!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Kilauea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.