We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay at on Big Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Country Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Country Cottages
Save
You added Volcano Country Cottages to your Saves list
P.O. Box 545, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay at on Big Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was perhaps our favorite place to stay at during our vacation to the Big Island (and we stayed at five different places!). Garret and Sandy were lovely hosts and truly welcoming, making sure we were comfortable and happy. If you have time, ask Garret to show you around his garden! His enthusiasm and passion is infectious. We stayed in the Camellia Suite (this one doesn't have breakfast/kitchen) which is attached to their home, and all I can say is I wished we could have stayed longer. Wonderfully decorated, SO clean and comfortable. Very close to Volcano National Park. If we ever come back this will be the first place we'll call.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your lovely review. We are so glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay here and your visit to the island. As you mentioned, Garret loves to share his garden and is always pleased when our guests enjoy it as well.
We look forward to your return. A hui hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    20
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
74
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I just spent four wonderful nights at the Volcano Country Cottages and couldn't be happier with our choice. All of the cottages are set in a quiet forest just a few minutes from the main entrance to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. We were greeted by our hosts, Garret and Sandy and given a full tour of the gardens as well as many helpful tips for our stay. Sandy said we should think of it as our "house" for the duration of our stay and it really did feel like home. If you plan on visiting the Volcano area while in Hawaii you really should spend a few days and this is the perfect place to stay. The best volcano viewing, either at Halema'uma'u crater or down on the coast where the active lava flow are is at night and it's much nicer to drive from Volcano village than try to go all the way from Kona.

Our cottage was immaculately kept and had everything we needed. Fresh breakfast, including eggs, homemade bread and tropical fruit was delivered daily and our hosts had a cooler and other useful items available if we needed them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for such a great review. We appreciate your taking the time to write and spread the word. We do enjoy sharing the island and of course Garret enjoys sharing his gardens. We are happy to have the cottages so close yet so secluded so you feel at home.
We look forward to seeing you again if another trip is in the works!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent 4 very comfortable nights at the Artist's House, a two bedroom, full kitchen well appointed house. Breakfast was delivered to the house the afternoon before and was plentiful. Garret helped us organize our stay and had some great suggestions as to how best to optimize our time, what to do, where to shop and eat. It is located a couple of minutes from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. During our time there, we saw lava flow into the ocean, a truly spectacular and humbling sight. We also hiked some pretty amazing trails and would highly recommend attending at least one ranger talk. After a pretty full on day, it was comforting coming back to the Artists House, which felt like a home away from home.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Aloha and mahalo nui for such a sweet review. We are glad you found the Artist's House to be so comfortable and call it your "home away from home". We certainly strive to make you feel that way.
The park is near by and the rangers do an amazing job as well. Garret loves to share his tips with our guests and is always happy when they pan out.
Mahalo again for such a sweet review and maybe we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in the Ohelo Berry cottage and had a fantastic experience. The cottage was very clean and guaranteed privacy, the location was perfect to go around the Volcano, the garden was lush and full of birds, the spa very inviting, the breakfast fresh and filling. But what makes this place unmissable is the hosts. They're very knowledgeable and very keen to make your stay the best possible. Garrett will give you all information to make your volcano experience unforgettable, from the best hikes to see lava to the opening time of the Thai restaurant, you're in good hands. Sandy will make sure you have everything you need and has a great sense of humour. My only disappointment was to stay only for two nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for such a kind review. We do aim to provide a clean comfortable place for our guests. So glad that you were able to take advantage of Garret's advice. We both love to share island and he is the "go to" guy when it comes to organizing your day.
If you are able to make it back you're welcome to stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

but we still remember what a great time we had in Hawaii because of this hotel experience. We stayed three nights in July in the double room off the main house. It was clean and quite a luxury for us. We camped in several places on the big island but the beautiful gardens and location of the B&B next to the National Park were too good for us to pass up. We loved spending time with Sandy and Garrett and were lucky enough to enjoy some wine with them on the porch one night. Thanks for a great time!

Room Tip: The separate rooms looked nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for writing such a kind review! As is said, "better late than never". . . We certainly enjoyed your company and look forward to your return in the future if the winds bring you this way! Mahalo nui and a hui hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our third visit in six years. Still the best. Ideally located in dense rain forest with hundred-year-old Japanese Tsuji (?) trees. Yet within easy walking distance to “downtown,” (5 minutes) that is half a dozen buildings, including a well-stocked country store, four restaurants from low to high-priced with an inverse food-to-value relationship, and a pleasant post office. Five minutes drive to the volcano. Even without eruption, just steaming heavily still fascinating to watch. In the dark you see a pink glow.

The hosts, Sandy and Garret, a real pleasure by themselves. Genuinely friendly welcome, even a pleasure to talk to and happily providing any service you may need. The cottages are fully equipped, complete kitchen and all. Everything sparkling new and clean.

We’ll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Aloha and mahalo nui for taking the time to write such a lovely review! As always we enjoy sharing the island and the property with our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Mahalo too for the wonderful books you left behind. We have enjoyed and will pass them along to our guests for their enjoyment as well. Take care and a hui hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a great place to stay. The cottages are reasonable priced, it is in a great part of town, and if you want info on the surrounding activities (or really anywhere on the Big Island) Garret is your guy.

Cottages are private, comfortable, and cozy. I stayed in the Artist's Cottage which was one of the older ones, but still great. Full Kitchen to use and fresh milk, juice, eggs, and fruit for all of us. There is no TV, but they do have wireless if you need to be connected. Garret and Sandy have done a great job landscaping and are the most gracious hosts. Ask for any information you need for them, either for Volcano National Park or wherever you next destination will take you. Oh, and make sure to eat at Thai Thai next door---awesome food. I recommend the Papaya salad, and if you don't do spice well, just tell them "zero".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Aloha and mahalo for your kind and thoughtful review. We strive to make our places clean and comfortable and welcoming. This is a big island and it can certainly wear one out so having a welcoming place to return each day is always helpful. So glad your enjoyed your stay and the amazing food at the Thai Thai. Her papaya salad is yummy. . . We love sharing the whole island and are always willing and happy to share what we can to help you make the most of your trip. The park is amazing as are many other "must see" spots on the island. Mahalo again for such a nice review and hopefully the memories of your trip will help keep you warm this winter! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Country Cottages

Address: P.O. Box 545, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Country Cottages make paradise feel like home. The tranquil surroundings and cosy cottages help you relax and leave your world behind. We have several cottages to meet your needs, complete with a private bath, wireless internet access, hot tub access and usually a kitchen, living, and dining room. Breakfast is included and will be brought to your cottage. Our one-bedroom studio Ohelo Berry Cottage, sleeps one or two comfortably. Our two bedroom Artist's House will sleep up to four. The one bedroom Lehua Blossom Cottage and Ohia Forest Cottage will sleep four guests with a futon couch in the living room. Volcano Country Cottages sits on three breathtaking acres with hapu'u ferns, beautiful Ohia lehua trees and century old tsugi cedar trees. We are an excellent base for exploring the south east side of the island. You will be close to hiking trails in Volcanoes National Park and within walking distance of several wonderful restaurants in Volcano Village. Visit Hilo, Akaka Falls, and Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Country Cottages Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Country Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.