We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small room but it good for a night!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) to your Saves list
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection)
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very small room but it good for a night!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We checked into this hotel and were sent off to another property where we had one very small room with shared facilities. It was clean and quite comfortable but was just quite too small for luggage and walking around the bed but we only stayed one night so in the end it was too bad. Also it wasn't expensive.

It was like one big house with many bedrooms. The shared bathroom was good with plenty towels and toilettres but other guests weren't too tidy. Also the one thing that put me off this property but no fault of the owners was the fellow house mates were noisy and annoying as we were close to the main entrance and also heard a lot of noise from upstairs as we were on the ground floor.

Once again Trip Advisor do not have a rating of "good" as I cannot say it was "very good".

Volcano was good for one night and visting the National Park.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We always welcome any comments or feedback from prior guests. I apologize for the neighbors that you had while you were staying with us. Some are not as respectful of others as they should be and it is unfortunate that you did not have the peace and quiet you were looking for due to other guests. Also, yes the rooms at Volcano Hale are small, however, because this is a budget hotel for guests looking to save on accommodations while they are here, we offer the lowest prices in the area and for most, this is what they are looking for. Again, thank you for your comments and suggestions and we hope to see you again on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i. Mahalo and Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    62
    15
    15
    4
See reviews for
16
70
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I'll try to write in english even though it's not my mother tongue (?) because i'd like my opinion would be usefull to someone who really could go there (i live on the other corner of the earth). the lodge is amazing itself and is located in one of the most beautiful places i've ever seen. the house and the room are warm, clean and well furnished with a taste for beauty which i found unusual for hawaii. you are in the middle of the rain forest, the nature surrounds you and the lodge makes you feel protected, happy and in peace. i hardly understand those who declare to have had a bad experience. the breakfast was very good and cheap. the room was so confortable that we spent there more time that we've planned. i would recommend it to everyone who loves nature, beauty and autenticity and if i had to choose only one place to be on hawaii (among the several i visited during my trip -kauai, maui, ohau and big island) it would be lokhai lodge and volcanoes national park.
thank you!
n. from italy

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. For any future guests, this review was placed under the wrong property and should be under our other property, Lokahi Lodge. We are sorry for any confusion this may cause. However, we appreciate your positive comments and love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come visit again on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawaii. Mahalo and Aloha!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent rainforest experience. No rooms alike. Great staff and grounds. Great trade off to the same old hotel experience. Highly recommend for a 3 day stay. Perfect location to volcano and village. Plus, local restaurants .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review and recommendation of Volcano Hale. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the uniqueness of the rooms and were also able to enjoy the village and the local restaurants the village has to offer. We hope you will come back and see us on any future Volcano vacations. Mahalo and Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We went to Volcano Hale last January 2013, only for one night, before going to camp in Namakanipaio. We had the nene room and we really liked the room (yes it was tiny but we found it very cozy), the hotel itself, and the bathrooms and kitchen. We quickly regretted leaving it for the very poorly run campsites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Aloha. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Volcano Hale and thank you for taking your time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you found the room (although small) very cozy and that Volcano Hale provided everything you needed for your stay. We hope to see you again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Skåne Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This shared house is perfect for staying at when visiting the Volcano park! The room was very cozy, the bathroom also cozy and modern. Even my man who has never stayed at a shared living place thought this was an awesome place. You didn´t really hear a lot from the others. The only thing that didn´t give this place a ranking 5 was the host where we got the key. She wasn´t too happy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you both had an enjoyable stay at our shared facility lodge and were able to enjoy the park as well. We hope to see you back on any future vacations to the Big Island of Hawaii. Mahalo and Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My son and I visited Volcano Village for 1 night recently and it was a lovely surprise to find somewhere as charming and cozy as this for a very reasonable nightly rate. We arrived outside the check in time but instructions were left outside the office for us and we found our room easily.
The share bathrooms were clean and there were plenty of clean towels /soaps shampoos etc.
Our room was charming with lovely views of the garden and the share kitchen was clean with everything we needed. It was exceedingly well run.
Having common areas also meant that we met other visitors .
I would definitely recommend Volcano Hale, especially to travellers who are on a budget and would like have access to a kitchen,and if I am lucky enough to visit this area again I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Aloha and thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to make use of everything Volcano Hale has to offer. We love hearing that our guests had an enjoyable stay and always welcome any and all comments and feedback. We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area. Mahalo and Aloha!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very nice stay by the Volcano. We arrived after dark, so it was not completely straightforward to find our room, which was not on the main site, but indications were clear so we could find our place easily. Room was not big, but location nice, and price very competitive. Great breakfast with a lovely view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor!! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the continental breakfast. We always recommend that guests get here before closing considering that we are in a remote location. However, I'm happy to hear that you had no problems with our easy directions and were able to find your room. We hope to see you again on any future Volcano Vacations. Mahalo and Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection)

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Formerly Volcano Bed & Breakfast) Cute budget property for travelers in search of comfort at a great value! Charming, cute, historic, fully renovated property with 3 floors, 6 bedrooms (cable TV), and 2 clean, fully-stocked common bathrooms. Perfect for travelers with an independent spirit in search of eco-friendly accommodations! Uniquely provides the smallest impact upon the surrounding rainforest ecology. Back to Mother Nature, low-impact vacationing. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.