We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad office staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kilauea Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilauea Lodge
Save
You added Kilauea Lodge to your Saves list
19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“bad office staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had to leave early, at the same time breakfast starts. The person checking us in said we could show up just as breakfast opens and get something to go. When we did that, the person running the breakfast insisted we had to order the night before. Pretty poor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    120
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
110
188
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in August 2013 for 2 nights as part of a Backroads trip. The website does not due it justice. I thought it was a bed and breakfast but it is much nicer. Rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed. Rooms were connected to a common area with TV, fireplace and couches. Food and service in the restaurant was excellent as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night this summer and paid $275 for a room. For the room to sleep four, we received one double bed and two futons. During our several weeks in HI we stayed at several VRBO homes, and not one was near this expensive and all were so much nicer. The restaurant is quite nice and the people are friendly, but you just don't get what you pay for in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Kilauea Lodge. This time with our daughter. Booked the Hideaway - basically a small apartment, perfect for 3 or 4 (or potentially more). Kitchen, fireplace. Breakfast was exceptional as usual and the office was cordial and helpful in suggesting guides for a Lava Flow hike. They treat you like family.

Be sure to look for the Emmy in the office that the owner won - and ask the story. He came to the island as a makeup artist on Magnum PI and stayed. He won the Emmy prior to that.

See also writeup on the lodge as a restaurant. Highly recommend booking for dinner(s) while you are there - and do it about an hour after sunset (depending on time of year) so you can see sunset and lots of stars.

Be sure to read the writeup on the Friendship Fireplace in the dining room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Four of us spent the night at one of the off-property cottages since we couldn't get 2 rooms at the lodge. Called Pi'i Mauna House. Great choice for us.

Ten minute drive from main lodge was no big deal. (No traffic jams in downtown volcano). Reminded us of an old-timey cabin in the Adirondacks. Very pleasant and secluded.

Dinner was pretty good by Hawaii standards. Breakfast (included in price of room) was good by any standards!

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good. Ours was nice for 2 couples. Separate sitting areas- almost like two cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We recently stayed in Tutu's Place for 1 night at the end of our Big Island vacation. The cottage is certainly charming--tucked away on a quiet, out-of-the way lane (that was initially challenging to find), and very peaceful. The cottage is a nice blend of old and new, with a beautiful updated bathroom (my wife took pictures to inform a bathroom update when we returned home!) and a very functional kitchen, along with a quaint overall feel. It was refreshing to sleep with a blanket after a week on the Kona coast! The included breakfast at the Kilauea Lodge was quite good. Overall, it wasn't cheap, but a worthwhile splurge for our last night on the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great four night stay. Arrived in the pouring rain, quickly to the room where it was easy to warm up. Ferns outside the window added to the atmosphere. Nice queen bed, fireplace sitting area, and bathroom with a skylight the covered the ceiling. Only issues were a shower that drained very slowly, and the heavy rain made some noise as it hit the roof, so hard to sleep. By the last day it was dry so no problem. The rooms are far back from the road, and feel like they are deep in the forest.

Woke up the following morning to a very blue sky and sunshine. Quite a contrast. Tried several different breakfasts. The fresh papaya was delicious, as were the omelets and banana pancakes. The Kings Benedict was worth the extra $3.

The property is well maintained and interesting to walk - many different plants and sculptures, and a friendly cat. It's about a minutes walk to the general store with excellent fresh baked goods, plus a cafe and Hawaiin quilt store. Five minutes drive to the volcano caldera, so well situated.

Room Tip: Hale Maluna Rooms at the rear of the building look out onto the ferns and rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilauea Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.