We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay to visit volcano” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kilauea Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilauea Lodge
Save
You added Kilauea Lodge to your Saves list
19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Whyalla, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best place to stay to visit volcano”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Great stop in Hawaii to visit volcano. We had room 7 which was a rooms with ensuite in a shared house area. No tv in room which isn't necessary there anyway! There wasn't much parking which was difficult as we had a big car.
Highlight is the restaurant and grounds. Had dinner at the restaurant which was fantastic! And breakfast too. The grounds are beautiful. Lush green and lots of wildlife. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    116
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
107
177
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms are great, the staff even better. In our cottage, there was a fireplace, with a fire laid, match ready for us when we got back from our evening trip to see the Volcano after dark (highly recommended), nice people from Michigan and NY joined us. Great way to meet new friends in a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Any room here is wonderful - wake up to the local birds in their rain forest - snuggle into your qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed here as part of our 30th anniversary trip. We had the honeymoon room (#11) for three of the nights, but had to switch to another room (#1) for the 4th night. The honeymoon room was very nice, with a very comfortable bed and a wood burning fireplace. The location could not have been better, with close proximity to the park and the convenience of the lodges dining room. Breakfast, included in the price of the lodging, was very good. We were less impressed with the second room. The bed was less comfortable and the room was quite cold, even using the supplemental heater and the gas fireplace.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We didn't stay at the lodge, but did have new year's eve dinner there (nine of us), and lunch a couple days later (two of us). Great waitress on NY Eve; she really added to the festive feel and helped us celebrate. Drinks were fun, e.g. lilikoi (passion fruit) cosmopolitans and margaritas, and the food was good with some interesting options (antelope anyone?). We didn't have the same great service for lunch unfortunately and it made a difference. Seemed pricey for lunch, but there isn't a lot of competition in the locale.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This place was perfect. Perfect location right outside Volcano Park, maybe 1mi away. SUPER clean rooms. The lodge is more like a series of cottages. The restaurant onsite is excellent - get reservations if possible and be prepared to have a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Caanada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We chose to book a table at the Lodge's restaurant based on an excellent review in Lonely Planet's guide. Our experience far exceeded our expectations as the menu, food and service were just topnotch.

Room Tip: Make sure your reserve as it fills up very quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

While the property itself is quaint and charming, our experience was marred by the haughty, insulting and unwelcoming demeanor of manager Teri. Following an email complaint, the owner said it would be addressed, but our visit was already tainted beyond repair.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilauea Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.