We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the most Unique B&B in Volcano!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Crater Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aloha Crater Lodge to your Saves list
Aloha Crater Lodge
11-3966 Lanihuli Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Volcano B&B and Inns
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Probably the most Unique B&B in Volcano!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Even if you decide not to stay here, it's worth having a private tour into the lava tube by Danny while you're in the Volcano area... It's a tour within itself and such a treasure to have in their own property!
Staying at the Aloha Volcano Crater Lodge was such a unique & intimate experience! I Loved my bedroom upstairs, it was so big, yet cozy and decorated warmly... My favorite part (besides having the adventure in the lava tube) was taking a long bubble bath in the jet tub in the privacy of my own room after hiking and driving all day.

Danny and Shannon make your stay very comfortable and aim to please.

They have a big jacuzzi tub in the backyard, a tree house and three adorably friendly dogs that would come running to greet me every time I arrived.

The breakfast is more than enough to get you full for the whole day... Fresh Kona coffee and pineapple juice, fruit, yogurt, milk, granola cereal, etc.

The setting is in a lush green rainforest with NO bugs, bats, or creepy crawlers... Just birds and an occasional rainfall ;-)

I rate my experience 4 stars because:

1- This will be the ONLY B&B you find with its own Lava Tube, lol... The tour is FREE with your paid stay, or you can book it aside for an investment of $25- totally worth it!

2- You also have room and price options, including the ability to camp out in the back if you are looking for a more inexpensive option!

3- There is a tree house (fun for kids)

4- The owners live on site, are always available and very friendly.

5- Bed is super comfy, rooms are clean, breakfast is plentiful.

6- Private Jet tub in your room, or go to the backyard jacuzzi day or night!


Thank you, enjoy your stay, and hope this review helps :-)))

Aloha!

Room Tip: Get the biggest one upstairs ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    58
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
48
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived a little early and caught them off guard - not to worry though, Dan and Shannon made us feel like family and we relaxed and truly enjoyed our stay. Our boys (12 & 10), loved the tree house, hot tub and lava tube. My husband and I loved the lanai, hot tub and separate bedroom. Nice big kitchen made me WANT to cook on vacation. The fresh fruit alone was worth plenty! The place was cleaner than my house so I felt very comfortable! Let me say that the lava tube on their property is absolutely fantastic! It does make the one in the park look lame. Thank you for a great start to our vacation! Aloha - cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: Hot tub is good and fitness would really be hiking in the lava tube? This is a five room lodge. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Quaint surroundings and a lot of effort made by the owners however they were let down by the musky smell in the room and the tired looking bedding which didn't look good. If these things were sorted then there would be no complaints. Nice little touches made and the Lava Tube was a great little gem, thanks Dan.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Delightful B & B in the middle of volcano land. Just delightful and quaint. Comfy bed, fantastic spa bath. Owners Shannon and Dan made us feel so welcome. Delicious freshly cooked muffins, fresh fruit to eat - so many extra touches. Old world charm and so close to the volcanoes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We arrived at the lodge early in a misty evening in May, and we felt like floating through a fairy tale. I had to drive carefully around trees, plants and flower pots which marked the meandering driveway. When backing up the car I almost run over a bush (watch out when driving). Were we arriving at the castle of Snow White?

The lodge is ideally located close to the entrance of the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, and not far from several restaurants in Volcano. Only four rooms can be booked; we were in Room 1 on the ground floor and stayed for two nights (and heard our neighbors in their room above us).

Our room was cozy and furnished with love. We liked the breakfast with the ingredients already ready in the kitchen corner when we arrived (However we would have preferred to find an empty trash basket at arrival, and untouched portions of butter and fruit preserves).

We found a number of broken things (pieces of furniture, power outlet, sliding door of bathtub). And WiFi did not work consistently in our room (we tried it with two devices).

As we used the lodge as our base camp for hiking the national park, we did not find time to try out the tree house or accept the owner's invitation to visit the lava tube which is a pity (actually the lodge has a private entrance to the Kazumura lava tube system extending for 41 miles).

Before you decide to stay in Aloha Crater Lodge be sure that you are ready for something special, or that you have a gardener's soul, are with kids, or have time and interest to see the tree house, and to visit the cave. Beside that you should not expect professional lodging in all the details. After all, also for Snow White the world was not perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The most comfortable bed in the world, well it felt like it at the time.
Room 1.
It almost felt like staying in someone's spare room actually. Shannon is friendly.
The place could do with a bit of a makeover really, but it was fine, everything we tried, worked.
Breakfast was a bit light though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Except for this B&B, we stayed at upscale resorts on both Oahu and the Big Island during our 2-1/2 week vacation .... and we just loved this B&B the best! We stayed in the Hale Ohia vacation rental ... very spacious with all the amenities we needed. Close to VNP but very secluded and peaceful! Dan & Shannon are wonderful folks, so down to earth! Dan was a great tour guide of the lava tubes; at his suggestion, he took all kinds of family photos of us with our camera during the tour ... such keepsakes! And being there on Earth Day, we asked at VNP if there were any earth-friendly projects planned and there wasn't, so Dan & Shannon came up with a project for us to do as a family. Of all of the many, many things we did, saw, and experienced while on this vacation, this B&B was one of our family's favorites ... it was my oldest son's #1 pick!

Room Tip: Look at the photos ... they are exactly what the accommodations are like. NO surprises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloha Crater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Crater Lodge

Address: 11-3966 Lanihuli Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Hawaiian fern forest at the edge of kazumura cave and crater, Aloha Crater Lodge welcomes you. Located next to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Our rooms are designed with your privacy in mind. Every room has private entrance and bath. An outdoor hot tub is situated in the heart of an ohia tree and fern forest. Kazumura cave is a treasure to behold. Breathe in the beauty and majesty of days of old when lava created this incredible sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloha Crater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Crater Hotel Volcano
Aloha Crater Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Crater Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.