We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bed, the bathroom, the coffee, the brownie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Artist Cottage at Volcano Garden Arts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Artist Cottage at Volcano Garden Arts
Save
You added The Artist Cottage at Volcano Garden Arts to your Saves list
19-3834 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The bed, the bathroom, the coffee, the brownie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

The Artist Cottage was a dream. It was really easy to find in our newly hired car out of Hilo. Great welcome, fresh fruit, fresh flowers and lots of smiles and travel tips from Ira. The brownie in the cafe was to die for and they even packed us dinner for the evening too. Ernest the goat was charming and the setting and location in beautiful grounds was homely and brilliant. Not too posh but certainly not tatty, the hotel up the road looks rather stuffy by comparison. Our bed was very comfy and the bathroom was just so roomy and luxurious. The water shortage made sharing showers fun too.

A home from home indeed. Handy guide books and maps were supplied too. This place gets a hearty recommendation from us to anybody wanting to stay in Volcano Village.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zubenelgenubi28
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

This was an idyllic setting, surrounded by lush landscape, garden art and Ernest the goat. The cottage was spotless. Compared to the condos of Kohala or K-K, the cottage was small. But it made you realize that you truly do not need all that much space, when everything is at your fingertips and you have acres of quiet, beautiful landscape around you. Two nights wasn't enough. I'd stay there longer as a contemplative retreat if I had more time. Make sure to visit the volcano at night -- truly an experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

This little cottage is completely different from the sterile, monotonous hotels you tend to get in commercial tourist areas. Whilst it is small and on first impressions a little tired, it truly is a delightful home from home, with all the little extras that larger chains fail to provide. It's location is ideal for couples wishing to explore the national park but it is not for those who prefer the hustle and bustle of city life. Cafe Ono is wonderful. The food is fresh, tasty and very reasonably priced. Being a vegetarian I particularly enjoyed the selection on offer but if you're a big meat eater make sure you bring your own food to cook in the fully equipped kitchen within the cottage. We stayed for two nights, which is all we felt was needed to explore the local area but we are very pleased we chose this cottage and would recommend it to others wishing to find a little tranquility and peace during their trip to the Big Island.
ps. the pet goat was also a very entertaining extra!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waianae, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

My girlfriend and I spent a couple of nights over the long Valentine's Day weekend and found not only a very special place, but a place we will be coming back to. We weren't sure what to expect other than almost everyone agreeing about how wonderful the cottage experience was. We had read about the goat (Ernest, if you did not hear about him yet), the smallish size of the place, and the AMAZINGLY large bathroom. I was blown away when we got there. I could have stayed there for a month and never felt the need to leave.
The night's were chilly and being from leeward Oahu it was a wonderful change of pace for us. Working the heater was not a problem as some have mentioned before. Ira had provided clear and simple directions for it, as he did for just about anything else you could think of asking. It was very thoughtful and much appreciated. The entire design and detailing of the cottage and grounds left us with no choice but to relax and enjoy each others company. I hate to gush about things, but Ira, his staff, and the cottage deserve no less. If you ever have the chance you should absolutely stay here, the longer the better. The pictures don't focus on the cottage, more on things around the grounds. There are plenty of pics out there about the cottage already.
The town of Volcano was almost as amazing as the cottage. This is coming from the perspective of a person that loves a low key kind of place and has a very demanding sense of adventure. We met lots of characters and made a couple of friends over our short stay. Not a single bed or even mediocre experience to mention. Besides the actual cottage and its awesomeness I would fully recommend the Thai Restaurant just up the road. I felt like I was back in Phuket for a second when we walked in. The king's picture was up on the wall, the smells were so authentic, and for god's sake they even served Chang beer. The Thai Thai pork curry was the best I've had in a while and the service was excellent.
On a side note, for those of you from Pennsylvania, the KTA in Hilo actual has Lebanon bologna consistently on sale. Talk about a mind blower right there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed at the cottage over a long Valentine's day weekend and it was just what both of us needed to get away from the daily grind and recharge. Everything is so well-taken care of: directions/contact information (mailed beforehand!), yummy banana bread and fruits (beware of the kumquats...blecch), even a box of chocolates. Everything was well labeled and just so easy!

The cottage itself is phenomenal. The bathroom is everything everyone else says it is and more! The grounds are so relaxing to explore in the morning - there's a fabulous tree sanctuary area - and Ernie, our new friend, the goat, greeted us every morning. We loved it so much that we decided to stay in for our big Valentine's Day night, light up some candles, heat up some food and enjoy hot chocolate. We highly recommend it! (Also, the Thai place down the road is yummy!)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlebury, vt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

If you want to stay close to the Volano National Park and you want a unique living experience this is a great start. This really is a very, very small cabin, and very rustic with limited space. We brought our bags in an unloaded the clothes we needed for the 3 days we were there, and then took them back out to the car. Limited storage space for 3 day worth of food but we got by.The bathroom is really unique, and probably 1/4 of the size of the entire cabin. All this my sound like a negative, but it isn't unless you are the pampered type used the the lushness of condo rental living. I really enjoyed the place. You really have the place all to yourself. It is tucked back on the property of a local artist, Ira Ono, who has a wonderful gallery there. He is very friendly and accommodating. The gallery doesn't open until 10 and closes at 4, so you have all the grounds and gardens to yourself. There is a nice area to eat outside in the garden, and we had wonderful breakfasts daily. The evenings were a little cool for that. Ira provides plenty of fruit, sweet bread, cerial coffee and teas on arrival. Perfect place for a couple with the right mind set. Wrong for the mascara set.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Expectations exceeded! If we ever have it to do again, we will stay at the cottage. Perfect location for exploring Volcanoes National Park. Peaceful and regenerative.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Artist Cottage at Volcano Garden Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artist Cottage at Volcano Garden Arts

Address: 19-3834 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
The Artist Cottage At Volcano Garden Arts Hotel Volcano
The Artist Cottage At Volcano Garden Arts Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Artist Cottage at Volcano Garden Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.