We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Village Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Volcano Village Lodge to your Saves list
Volcano Village Lodge
19-4183 Road E, 19-4183 Road E, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Nov & Dec now 25% off!!
Ranked #7 of 30 Volcano B&B and Inns
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

We stayed here on July 8 and 9. The B&B was as beautiful as all the reviews said it would be. Kay is a kind and gracious person who cares alot about the property and our happiness. I wish there were more like her out there. Our cabin had the most amazing smell as it was made of white cedar (I believe that it was the Mauna Kea Lodge). The remote controlled gas fireplace and candles gave a nice ambience as well. My wife says it was extremely romantic. Dont forget to crush some macadamian nuts while at the reception area. They taste much better than canned ones you find elsewhere. We would definitely come back and highly recommend it to anyone who wants a romantic and relaxing retreat.

  • Liked — Beautiful and relaxing
  • Disliked — Only spent two days there
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    41
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
102
419
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

I just got home from my honeymoon where we spent 10 days on the big island. Unfortunately, we only spent 1 night at the Volcano Village lodge as we were at a timeshare in Kona. Staying at the lodge was the best night we had on the island. My husband and I were blown away at just how amazing the entire facility is, our room was incredibly clean and prepared for us. The lodge is private and everything you could possbily need was there and Kay and her husband were absolutely wonderful. I worked with Kay to suprise my husband with champagne and cheese and fruit..... wow! Just an absolute stunning place to stay wtih music, beautiful furniture, towel warmer in the shower, and all of the amenities you could possbily want. The hot tub was great, complete with slippers and robe. Do not hesistate to stay here, we now understand why everyone gave it such great ratings...... you MUST stay here! You will not regret it! We are already planning our return, but want to be there for several days!!!

  • Liked — Attention to every detail.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

Volcano Village Lodge is an amazing place to stay. We were there for 2 nights of our honeymoon in late June and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We have already decided to return on one of our anniversaries.

The lodges are beautiful. They are built of cedar and the wonderful smell fills the rooms. Showers are an unforgettable experience in the fresh, clean rain water they collect for tap water as well as the organic soaps they provide. Taking a dip in their hot tub at night, with a light rain falling in the jungle was awesome!

Kay is a wonderful, welcoming person who truly makes you feel at home. Let her know your plans while you are staying there, she is very accommodating! We had an early morning flight from Hilo to Maui so she provided breakfast food that we could take with us.

We also got Lomi Lomi massages right in our room which was a great experience. I highly recommend couples visiting the park to stay here.

  • Liked — The rooms are incredible, surrounded by jungle
  • Disliked — The town itself - I would love to spend a week here but there isn't enough to do in Volcano!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

Volcano Village Lodge is a very peaceful getaway just 5 minutes from the Park, which is great if you plan on spending a lot of time in the park as my wife and I did on our honeymoon. Each lodge is made of very hight quality wood, mostly cedar I think and is equipped with very nice wood furniture, a mini fridge, a peaceful lanai, an LCD TV and DVD player with a volcano eruption DVD, we liked it so much we bought the latest one at the park vistors center. There's also a hot tub which is perfect after those long day hikes in the park.

Kay is a wonderful host and prepares a very good breakfast, although a little small, and puts it in your fridge the previous afternoon so you can eat it at your leisure. She is also very knowledgeable about the area and told us about a short hike to see the Lava flow into the the ocean. It was a 4.5 miles if you hiked through the park to see it, which we did the previous day and couldn't get very close to the flow. If you decide to hike outside the park beware, there are no roped off areas and you can easily walk up on a pahoehoe flow(slow moving) without knowing it. We got within 15' of one before we realized the ground was glowing!!

Cons:
It's pricey but not enough to stop us from coming back

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

A very short drive from Volcanoes National Park, this place is beautiful and well kept. Kay is very helpful and provides you with lots of great tips about activities, restaurants, the park. Nice hot-tub. Gorgeous, manicured grounds. Several nice restaurants very nearby. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

Everything was wonderful, food, room, hot tub! My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in early June. Kay was great giving insider tips on everything in the area. Other than that - the stay was one of the most peaceful we've had anywhere (US or other), and we'd consider the long flight from NY just to get away to stay here and visit nothing else in Hawaii.

Also - visiting the Volcano & getting to see an active lava flow for the 1st time is unforgettable. I would recommend staying in Volcano Village for anyone who really wants to hike out to the lava flow. The hike can be long depending on where it is flowing, and just exploring really knocks you out.

  • Liked — The feeling of being home (acess to necessities), but the tranquility & set up of the lodge.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

This place will probably take your breath away. It's less of a B&B and more of a relaxation spa resort. There are four lodges which are separate from each other so you feel like you're on your own in the jungle. They're made with white cedar and smell great. The patter of rain on the roof as you sit on your covered lanai is great background noise while you read a book. The bed is really, really comfy. Bring some DVDs, since there is a LCD TV in each lodge (there is also a small library of movies already there). The breakfast, placed in your mini-fridge for you the night before, worked great for us, as we were able to stash a lot of it in our packs for our hikes in the nearby national park.

I found the cool temperature of the town of Volcano a welcome break to the humid hot of the rest of our Hawaiian vacation.

  • Liked — Beautiful room, convenient packable breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Village Lodge

Address: 19-4183 Road E, 19-4183 Road E, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaven on Earth. Welcome to the paradox of fire and tranquility. We created the Hawaii Volcano Village Lodge for people who want more out of life than a whirlwind tour of the island. Located just a mile from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, our lodges and retreat are where you will wake up in peace and beauty. Stroll through the sacred rainforest and rest in your deluxe lodge with every comfort, including the plushest bedding, a fireplace, DVD, CD, private telephone, wireless connection, tropical breakfasts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Volcano Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Village Hotel Volcano
Volcano Village Lodge Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Village Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.