We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, beautiful , rainforest bungalows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Village Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Volcano Village Lodge to your Saves list
Volcano Village Lodge
19-4183 Road E, 19-4183 Road E, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Nov & Dec now 25% off!!
Ranked #7 of 30 Volcano B&B and Inns
arkansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Cozy, beautiful , rainforest bungalows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

An intimate property tucked away in the palms and ferns , volcano village lodge was just perfect for the start of our anniversary trip to the big island. We arrived after the office closed ( 6pm) and so they had our lights on and door unlocked, goodies on the table and breakfast for the following morning in the fridge. A delicious bottle of wine ( with a little sign to congratulate us) was also put out for us to enjoy in the rocking chairs on our porch. Lovely. Comfortable bed and bedding and the gas fire stove were welcome on cool nights. They have thought of everything for a special stay.
This is a wonderfully run gem of a place! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking time to write a review. We appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    41
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
102
419
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place is amazing. We stayed in the Mauna Loa lodge and it was beautiful. The bed was sooo comfortable, the shower was great, the kitchenette with all the extra treats and breakfast were delicious, and the view of the rainforest out every window was amazing. This resort is top drawer.

The only draw back, and it was a big one, is the lighting. They leave the outside lights on around the office and hot tub and, I believe, in unoccupied lodges. Since these lodges are made of windows, and the blinds (which are only on some windows) are sheer, it means that when it gets dark, the lights shine into the surrounding lodges and, in our case, right on the bed. The first night, I was exhausted and slept through it. The second night, I tossed and turned all night with the light right in my eyes. I finally went to the office and unscrewed a few light bulbs so I could try to get some sleep. The porch light from a nearby lodge was so bright shining into the spare room (with no window covering) that my son had to sleep in the loft.

I told the front desk when checking out, but she did not seem very interested. I am hoping this review will effect some change, as I would love to come back and tell friends about this amazing place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking time to write a review of our property. We appreciate your kind words about our property.

Please accept our apology regarding the lights. We do leave dimmed porch lights on around the reception area overnight for safety reasons. We encourage our guests to call us at any time, if there is a problem. Our Mauna Loa unit has extra privacy screens inside the bathroom closet that could have been used to block out any bothersome light, and we would have been happy to share that with you.

Our Innkeeping staff takes pride in addressing issues as they are brought to our attention, and we will be looking into a more permanent solution to this problem. While we are sad that the lights caused you discomfort, we are grateful that you brought it to our attention so that we can take the necessary steps to give our guests a good night’s sleep.


Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Volcano Village Lodge recently and had a peaceful visit. Volcano Village Lodge is absolutely beautiful! The Lodge is unique.

We stayed in one of the larger rooms and it was a nice size. The property is aaammmaazing. It isn't cheap, but it is affordable and comfortable. The Lodge is the place where you want to stay because it is the one people talk about.

Our bathroom was moderate, but it was clean with everything we need. I would say that it is like staying at an expensive nature retreat. There are big windows in the room, but it wasn't an issue since it was only the two of us and our suite was tucked away in the rainforest where few people venture. Also, our room had a gorgeous view of the beautiful plants and nature.

I loved the fact that they leave breakfast in the room every day, along with a bunch of snacks in case you're craving a snack at any hour of the day. The free wifi was a nice perk as it is a peeve of mine having to pay to get connected.

The location is so convenient to everything in the area. Good location for those who want to go to the park.

The staff that took care of us was very attentive and respectful. I was so pleased. Meghan is a hoot with a nice personality and was very helpful with places to go.. Kelsey welcomed us as if we were one of the family.

All in all I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Mahalo for sharing your experience. We like to think of all of our guests as members of our extended family, so we thank you for that note. If you come back to the Volcano area, be sure to let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband says I'm a picky traveler. I think I like quality and I like it clean. I also like good service. I'm not the type to usually pick a B&B. What I don't like about my experiences with B&B's is what I do like about Volcano Village Lodge. I don't want to have breakfast with people I don't know. I don't want to stay in someone's home. I don't want to feel like I have no privacy.
Volcano Village Lodge was picked because my husband wanted to spend time at the Volcano. I would normally prefer a beach, but the time in Volcano was lovely.
Breakfast was in the room so no requirements to socialize with people I didn't know. The rooms are set up like a lodge so there was a lot of privacy. The lodge was amazingly clean.
Kelsey checked us in when we arrived and treated us like family. That part I liked.
We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Mahalo for your kind words. We understand your thoughts on staying at a traditional bed and breakfast and believe that many of our guests feel the same way. At Volcano Village Lodge, we strive to make ourselves a unique lodging facility that provides our guests with all of the comforts of home while providing a private and romantic rainforest getaway. It is our goal to make sure all of our guests feel like family when they walk through our door.

Thank you again for your positive feedback. We hope you will visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have been fortunate to travel to some great places, sometimes accommodation not quite as described.
This is not the case here, volcano village lodge is about as idyllic as you will get, especially at the price.
Rooms are scattered about in a beautiful rain forest setting, they are nicely decorated and very peaceful. We were here three days and did not hear anybody at all. Staff went out of the way to help and the provided breakfast was excellent.
If you are visiting volcano national park just treat yourself and stay here, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayLeeVVL, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review about your stay. Our staff was delighted with your kind comments.

Our staff works very hard to please and we are always happy to hear from satisfied guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back at Volcano Village Lodge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg manitoba
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our third stay at the inn Can't wait to get back ? The inn keepers do a great job There if you need them otherwise they are hardly seen yet everything gets done Have stayed in 3 different cabins all excellent with each offering a subtly different experience. If you want to experience the rain forest in a peaceful luxurious setting this is the place. If your exploring the volcano or the Hilo side of the island spend a day or three at the inn you will not regret it. Words can not describe the Vvl it has to be experienced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

as we tried to explain this place to our families when we got back from our vacation, we kept saying that it was "rustic, but reallyreally nice!" we chose VVL because it was so close to Volcano National Park. we were so glad that we did! we stayed in Hale Manaluna, the one that's attached to the main lodge.....it was clean and thoughtfully supplied (even towel warmers) and we got the BEST sleep of our entire vacation there. it was so quiet and dark, since you really are in the rainforest. we felt so secluded and cozy. each morning when we were headed out the door for the day, we could hear the staff come in to their office, but as we were already awake and the noise was very minimal, we weren't bothered in the least. i would compare it to the incidental sounds you might here at a hotel....and again, that's only during office hours. other than that, it's SILENT. and a big thanks for their gracious (and tasty!)accommodation of my dairy allergy. look forward to tasty breakfasts and make sure you visit the national park after dark to view the lava flow from Jaggar Museum....one of the most memorable moments of the entire trip! thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Village Lodge

Address: 19-4183 Road E, 19-4183 Road E, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaven on Earth. Welcome to the paradox of fire and tranquility. We created the Hawaii Volcano Village Lodge for people who want more out of life than a whirlwind tour of the island. Located just a mile from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, our lodges and retreat are where you will wake up in peace and beauty. Stroll through the sacred rainforest and rest in your deluxe lodge with every comfort, including the plushest bedding, a fireplace, DVD, CD, private telephone, wireless connection, tropical breakfasts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Volcano Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Village Hotel Volcano
Volcano Village Lodge Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Village Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.