We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish they had an extra day so we could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Garden Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Lotus Garden Cottages
PO Box 213, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi and parking.
Ranked #3 of 30 Volcano B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
1 review
“I wish they had an extra day so we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This was a charming hideaway close to the Volcano Park; directions to get there were very good. You felt tucked into the tree ferns. The vaulted ceiling & glass peaks gave a feeling of space. The miniature kitchen was adequate for our needs as was the refrigerator. The bed was luxurious but soft for us ( We like firm); it was decorated charmingly & the bathroom was good. We had fun in the hot tub even tho' it didn't get quite hot enough for our taste; the flat screen TV worked well with a lot of channels. The switch for the fireplace was hard to get at but warming once you got it on; the breakfast was very good & presented beautifully by John and Induck who were most gracious hosts. We would have liked to stay another night but all the cottages were booked for the next day.
All in all it was a most pleasent experiece at a lovely location. We'd recommend it highly and hopefully can return for a longer stay in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    46
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
279
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
pottstown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

great innkeepers close to the volcano and great restaruants and a short drive to the winery ,golf course and volcano garden arts a most ..ira ono founder/director perect for gift or oneself they also ship !serenity of this b&b . the lotus room perfect for us wrap around porch view from all sides of the room gas fireplace cozy artistic bath with whirlpool tub just the perfect place to end our day of doing.much more to tell but limited in characters

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Hula Moon Cottage for 3 nights and 4 days and it was a truly special experience. The room was gorgeous, comfortable, with lots of natural light. We rarely ventured out of the room other than the evening trips to see the volcano and grab some dinner.. the rest of the time we just relaxed indoors by the cozy fireplace. The room was very quiet.. we hardly ever saw or heard anyone during the entire trip (there a only 3 other cottages in the entire place) Breakfast was promptly delivered everyday to the room and it was pretty amazing.. hand selected fresh fruit, bread/pastries, coffee/tea. cornbread..etc.. we would spend every morning slowly enjoying our breakfast while in bed. Free WiFi is also available everywhere which was great.

Highly recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

John and Induck were great inn keepers, the environment they provided was very comfortable in all respects.

Barry and Jeanne Bergman

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

we booked a room for the end of our big island trip, and were not satisfied with the room, it was FREEZING..a small fireplace in the corner provided little heat, the bathroom was the worst (NO HEAT AT ALL), hidden behind a very tough to open door.. it was even more cold than the bedroom...you know kind of made you not want to shower it was so cold in there. When you did shower the bathroom the mirrors fogged up and were un-usable so hopefully you don't mind not using a mirror to get ready....what a poor way to end our amazing hawaiian vacation..I know that hotels in the volcano area are limited but we will NOT be back

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

The Kims were warm, attentive and thoughtful. When asked about different trips they had a ton of great ideas and even packed us the cutest little basket with mats and towels for the beach.

The rooms were perfectly clean and nicely appointed, they did not seem musty or problematic in any way at all.

The only thing, and this is a matter of taste, is that the breakfast was definitely friut and toast, if you want oatmeal, eggs whatever that's not this place. As I really really love a big breakfast that was a downer for me, though my gf loved it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obommarito
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

This was an excellent value located only a few miles outside of Volcano Village in a beautiful garden area. Although slightly outdated, the private cottages were peaceful and quiet with a fireplace en suite. There is a community hot tub in the gardens that was excellent. We would've given this a much higher rating, however the breakfast part of the B&B was a little disappointing compared to other B&Bs we stayed at on the island (fresh fruit with generic pastries and store-bought muffins).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Garden Cottages

Address: PO Box 213, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in Paradise! Nestled in the heart of the Volcanic Rainforest lies Lotus Garden Cottages. Zen-like accommodations of post & pier design immerse guests in the luxury of paradise. Conveniently situated in Volcano Village, minutes from dining, galleries, and the unforgettable Volcanoes National Park. This wonderful getaway is a quiet retreat for visitors and local Island guests as well. Lotus Garden Cottages offers an elegance guests will enjoy year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Lotus Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Garden Cottages Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.