We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Garden Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Lotus Garden Cottages
PO Box 213, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi and parking.
Ranked #2 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We loved our 3 nights stay at Mr. John Kim's Lotus Garden Cottages. The room was spacious and the breakfast delicious. The Cottages are located conveniently close to Volcanoes National Park. Please be aware that are only a limited number of restaurants in the surrounding that are open at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    46
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
298
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our 2 night stay at Mr. John Kim's Lotus Garden Cottages was amazing. The location is fantastic - about a 5 minute drive from Volcano National Park. We stayed in the Lotus Suite, which was the most beautiful room we stayed in during our 2 week trip to Hawaii. It is very quiet, cosy (but quiet large), and well decorated. The bed is one of the most comfortable we have slept on in a while - we wish we could have taken it with us! We spent our days hiking and driving in the park and our evenings in the the room. The breakfast was also incredible - delicious fresh fruits and hot cooked food. We will certainly stay here again if/when we come back to the Big Island. Mr. Kim was also very sweet and helpful. Overall, a wonderful end to our vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We just came back from our Big Island vacation and our stay with Mr. John Kim at Lotus Garden Cottages was one of the best experiences we had. We stayed in the Lotus room, which I believe is the smallest room, but it was very spacious. All the furnishings were tasteful and cozy, and the bed was extremely comfortable. My husband and I stayed for three nights and it was such a pleasure to sleep in the very comfortable bed after long days at the national park. We also looked forward to the breakfast that Mr. Kim provided every morning, which always consisted of a lovely platter of fruit accompanied by some sort of warm carbs. Mr. Kim will happily converse with you if you want, or if you don't want, that's okay too! I would definitely recommend Lotus Garden Cottages to anyone who is heading to Volcano. One thing to be aware of while you're in Volcano Town is that you are in a rainforest and it's very damp there, so things don't dry very well. Mr. Kim provides fresh towels every day for this reason, I think.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This is and serene oasis close to the National Park with every amenity you could want. If you've never stayed at a B and B before this is an excellent first one to try! The host is quiet and non-intrusive, accommodations are beautiful!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddleston, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We only stayed one night, but it was very nice. The room was clean and spacious and nicely decorated. The gas logs were a treat. We were going to stay at the Volcano lodge and we're glad we didn't. The lodge was not clean. Mr. Kim was very nice and welcoming. The breakfast of fresh fruit and rolls was delivered to our room and presented beautifully, but I would have preferred more food options and not such an early time (7:30 am), but other than that it was a gray place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We live in Hawaii, on the island of Maui and I'd say we are almost spoilt by beauty we witness every day… I decided to take my girlfriend to Lotus Garden Cottages for her birthday as I wanted something different, a special place for us to celebrate. The stay exceeded my expectations by miles and it's hard to do, we don't get blown away easily. Don't expect Four Seasons, don't expect big resort, don't expect being one of the many in a big hotel. When you stay at the Lotus Garden Cottages, you get a really amazing, cosy, personal experience, breakfast brought to your bed in the morning, a great fireplace for those cold evenings in the evening and much much more. Make sure you go see the volcano after dinner to see the red glow into the night!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We visited the Cottages in November 2013 and had a great time. We're sure it's one of the best ways to experience the island, rather than staying in one of the big chain hotels. The family did a great job with the furnishing which completely fits its unique environment. We'll be back soon! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Garden Cottages

Address: PO Box 213, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in Paradise! Nestled in the heart of the Volcanic Rainforest lies Lotus Garden Cottages. Zen-like accommodations of post & pier design immerse guests in the luxury of paradise. Conveniently situated in Volcano Village, minutes from dining, galleries, and the unforgettable Volcanoes National Park. This wonderful getaway is a quiet retreat for visitors and local Island guests as well. Lotus Garden Cottages offers an elegance guests will enjoy year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lotus Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Garden Cottages Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.