We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a magical place off the beaten track!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Garden Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Lotus Garden Cottages
PO Box 213, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi and parking.
Ranked #3 of 30 Volcano B&B and Inns
Haiku, Hawaii
1 review
“What a magical place off the beaten track!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We live in Hawaii, on the island of Maui and I'd say we are almost spoilt by beauty we witness every day… I decided to take my girlfriend to Lotus Garden Cottages for her birthday as I wanted something different, a special place for us to celebrate. The stay exceeded my expectations by miles and it's hard to do, we don't get blown away easily. Don't expect Four Seasons, don't expect big resort, don't expect being one of the many in a big hotel. When you stay at the Lotus Garden Cottages, you get a really amazing, cosy, personal experience, breakfast brought to your bed in the morning, a great fireplace for those cold evenings in the evening and much much more. Make sure you go see the volcano after dinner to see the red glow into the night!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    46
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
279
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We visited the Cottages in November 2013 and had a great time. We're sure it's one of the best ways to experience the island, rather than staying in one of the big chain hotels. The family did a great job with the furnishing which completely fits its unique environment. We'll be back soon! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We spent two delightful nights in the Aloha Moon Cottage. What a beautiful, peaceful place with delicious juice, fruit and pastries delivered to our room. John was the perfect host and the house kitty is most friendly. This is just the right place to return to after a day filled with hiking and exploring the Volcanoes National Park just 10 minutes down the road. Wonderful touches everywhere you looked, especially the foot massager after all our hiking! We will return here on our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Thanks John. You have a great atmosphere in your condo's. You have 3 condo's. All condo's are furnitured as a pole of Feng Shui. You find a very clean condo with a perfect breakfast made by the owner himself under perfect clean conditions. I would book this condo again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our three night stay here was perfect. Having our own cottage afforded us the comfort and privacy that we were hoping for. The design of the cottages is very unique and in fitting with the surrounding landscape. The grounds are breathtakingly beautiful. This B&B had the tropical ambience that we were looking for. Breakfast was always an amazing variety of exotic fruits and delicious pastries. John was a wonderful host and very accommodating. This cottage in the lush rainforest was a very unique travel experience.

Room Tip: Hula Moon Cottage - very clean, quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful time in Volcano and loved our stay at Lotus Garden Cottages. John was the perfect host. The cottages were spacious, private, comfortable and clean. The property was beautiful and well maintained. Proximity to the park made it possible for us to take breaks during the day to rest up between hikes. Thank you, John!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Loved our stay here - lovely, cosy room with great facilities and decor. We were due to leave very early the next morning so Mr Kim prepared a packed breakfast however our plans fell through when our tour was cancelled in the early hours. Mr Kim was really helpful, cooking us breakfast, and helping rearrange our plans. Best hotel of the trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Garden Cottages

Address: PO Box 213, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in Paradise! Nestled in the heart of the Volcanic Rainforest lies Lotus Garden Cottages. Zen-like accommodations of post & pier design immerse guests in the luxury of paradise. Conveniently situated in Volcano Village, minutes from dining, galleries, and the unforgettable Volcanoes National Park. This wonderful getaway is a quiet retreat for visitors and local Island guests as well. Lotus Garden Cottages offers an elegance guests will enjoy year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lotus Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Garden Cottages Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.