We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Garden Cottages

Save Saved
You added Lotus Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lotus Garden Cottages
PO Box 213, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi and parking
Ranked #2 of 30 Volcano B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Perfect Retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I sayed here for 3 nights and highly recommend it. Wonderful, cosy and perfect place to stay when in the Vocano National Park area. I concur with the other reviews on what a special B&B this is. Both the location, nestled within the trees and tall ferns and other fauna, and the tasteful design and comfort provide a calming setting for your stay. All the necessities and more are here for you to relax and enjoy your stay.

Add tasty and varied breakfasts, deliverd by John to your door (what a variety of fruits included!), a nice modern coffee/tea unit, fridge, mini kitchen and more, with a visit to welcome your day from the purring kitty, as you step out on the large wrap around porch (lanai) to take in the fresh air and sparkling sun. You won't be dissapointed staying here and John is both welcoming and helpful. I seldom write reviews but was motivated to spread the word about staying here and at such a relaxing place.

You're a mile from the National Park, close to the historic Kileauea Lodge, which I highly recommend for lunch or dinner; close to the Volcano Garden Arts Center selling wonderful and tasteful local crafts which also has a very tasty vegetarian lunch which you can eat inside or in the garden that is also full of items and art objects, and well worth visiting before you head to the Park. I'd also recommend inside the Park the Volcano Arts Center, which has items from over 300 artists of all types and price ranges. It's a non-profit and the staff are very knowledgeable about Hawaiian history, culture and arts. Seeing the crater after the sun goes down (Park stays open all night) is also fun since the white smoke turns red from the glow of the lava below.

I can assure you you'll like the Lotus Garden Cottages, their comfort and peaceful setting, and chatting with John who's a very interesting host and was a pleasure to meet. My wife and I loved it, especially having stayed at a resort on the West Coast (Mauna Lani) before arriving for a more intimate experience here. You won't be dissapointed and will be well taken care of!!! Don't delay.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are deligtful, well designed and comfortable, so don't worry, you'll love the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    43
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
258
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I have never been to the Big Island before and we were excited to explore Volcanoes National Park. We originally chose to stay at Lotus Garden Cottages to be close to the park, and we wanted somewhere to stay that was quiet and private. We were so delighted with our stay at Lotus Garden that we must go back! John Kim and his adorable cat are wonderful innkeepers. We stayed in the Aloha Moon cottage, which has a beautiful lanai on which John served us delicious breakfasts. The interior is spacious, pretty, and very clean, with a cute loft above the bathroom. We loved it so much that it was difficult to leave, especially when sitting out on the lanai and listening to the sounds of the surrounding rainforest! If you are considering a visit to Volcano and you do not want a standard hotel setting, then we highly recommend Lotus Garden. All of the positive comments on Trip Advisor are consistent with our experience. Thanks again, John!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Lotus Garden Cottages was, hands down, our favorite home away from home on our nearly three week sojourn to the Big Island, where we circumnavigated the island and stayed at many top-rated hotels, inns and resorts. Our cottage, the Aloha Moon, had such a beautiful feeling of zen calm and peace about it that we slept the best we'd slept over our entire trip, felt truly at peace and achieved total relaxation. I believe this spirit of calm is something organic about a place that has nothing to do with furnishings, decor, amenities or even service - although all of these were top-notch as well. Most hotels and inns, even though they might be beautiful, luxurious, homey, or chic and stylish don't contain a spirit of true peace, and this place does.

We awoke each morning to fresh breakfast being brought to our door and served on our private balcony by John Kim, the owner, and ate, surrounded by lush flowers, tropical vegetation, and visits by the resident kitty. All in all, a perfect and memorable stay and we will return to Volcano for the hiking, but mostly just to stay here again. Love.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Recently my husband and I were fortunate enough to take a trip to Hawai'i. On the Big Island of Hawai'i we stayed at the Lotus Garden Cottages, a lovely B&B in a gorgeous rainforest just outside of Volcano National Park.
Our host, John Kim, was a gracious innkeeper, and our breakfasts were served on our lanai (balcony) each morning. Breakfast was a treat - fresh fruit and baked goods, fresh fruit juice and coffee and tea.
We had stayed there six years ago, and it was so pleasant that we decided to stay with them again on this trip. A very good decision!!

Room Tip: There are three rooms at this b&b, and any one of them would be an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The cottage was lovely and well appointed and very close to Volcano National Park and to the town of Volcano City. We were provided with a marvelous notebook containing information about local restaurants, the Park and comprehensive data on volcanoes, lava, et.al. A lovely tray of fruit and other breakfast goodies arrived promptly at 8 am. Best of all was waking in the morning with the windows (covering two sides of the cottage) filled with the green of the forest and the sounds of birds.

Room Tip: We were there when it was raining and I was wishing I had a sweater to put on. The fireplace worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

When my husband and I decided on vacationing in the Big Island, we were originally not going to stay in Volcano but instead were going to do a day trip to Volcano National Park from the Kona side of the island. After some discussions on tripadvisor, we decided to fly into Hilo and spend 1 night in Volcano, specifically at Lotus Garden Cottages. We are so glad we did. The Lotus Garden Cottages is conveniently located about ½ mile away from Volcano National Park. The owner and innkeeper, John, was very courteous and helpful. He gave us great tips regarding Volcano National Park as well as dining options in the area. Our cottage, the Aloha Moon Cottage was clean, beautiful and stocked with the perfect supplies, reading materials and toiletries. The king sized bed was also very comfortable. In addition, the breakfast was delicious and healthy. I’d definitely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Volcano National Park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Such a lovely experience! The cottages are very clean, well maintained and beautifully decorated. Very elegant and comfortable. Every morning we had a different surprise for breakfast. Very fresh items in a beautiful arrangement always with special details. The room was very spacious too and the temperature of the fireplace was set to perfect. We had a great time and would love to come back one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lotus Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Garden Cottages

Address: PO Box 213, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in Paradise! Nestled in the heart of the Volcanic Rainforest lies Lotus Garden Cottages. Zen-like accommodations of post & pier design immerse guests in the luxury of paradise. Conveniently situated in Volcano Village, minutes from dining, galleries, and the unforgettable Volcanoes National Park. This wonderful getaway is a quiet retreat for visitors and local Island guests as well. Lotus Garden Cottages offers an elegance guests will enjoy year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, T4B and Travelocity so you can book your Lotus Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Garden Cottages Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.