We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place great location great price we stayed two nights.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Inn Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Volcano Inn Cottages to your Saves list
Volcano Inn Cottages
19-3820 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place great location great price we stayed two nights.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Volcano Inn is a great place to stay and visit the National Park. The corner room was clean and set up nicely. Our room was set apart from the hotel but we met and talked to another visiting family. Hot tub was a nice touch on a cool evening.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We (2 adults, 2 children aged 8 and 11) stayed in the Volcano Room at the Volcano Inn for 3 nights.
The location of the inn (and the village) is ideal - a few miles from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Why would you stay in Hilo and drive to see the Park?? The proximity enabled us to see most of the sights in the Park over 2 days. Don't miss seeing the Kilauea caldera from the Jaggar Museum at night - the glow from the lava is spectacular and it is only a 10-15 minute drive from Volcano Inn.
The accommodation was excellent and very good value. It comfortably slept 4 (1 double bed, 1 single bed and a sofa bed), and was spacious with a full kitchen. The outlook (over a forest of tree ferns) was beautiful and the gas fireplace was a wonderful finishing touch to a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed in one of the corner rooms (across the highway from the main hotel and office) for two nights on our recent honeymoon trip.

Before getting there, the owner was very helpful in getting us to the hotel in time for check in after our flight was delayed 3 hours. Once there, we found check in easy and loved walking in to the cozy room and seeing the jungle right outside our window.

The room was clean and comfortable, with a nice bathroom. The towel warmer and inclusion of a full water jug were nice touches. It wasn't very cold when we were there, so we had no need to turn on the heater or electric blanket, however we ran the required air dehumidifier all night and it was pretty loud. I had to adjust the collection bucket a few times to stop it rattling. It, low pressure from the shower, and single ply TP (a pet peeve!) were my only complaints about the place.

Otherwise it was a great place to stay, very convenient to Volcano NP, and in my opinion a good deal (especially compared to everything else in the town which is pricey). I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

we stayed in one of the corner rooms in mid Feb..room was clean with lots of room..had a microwave and coffee maker and a few basic cooking needs for a quick breakfast in the morning..room had a very slight mildewy smell...but its the rainforrest..kinda smelled dampish outside too lol...we thought the notes..which seem to be an issue for some..were kind of funny....and there certainly is not excuse for not finding your way to the office !! and thankyou thankyou thankyou to the lady who was doing the cleaning who had picked up my wifes rings that she had forgotten

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My latest stay at Volcano Inn was in late January 2012. We stayed in a family room--Caldera was it's name; it was on two floors of a three-story home. The home was beautifully built with many lovely little details. The only problem we encountered with this was that the bathroom was downstairs and the bedroom was up, which was a problem for one of our party who has trouble with stairs. She wound up sleeping on the sofabed downstairs.

This unit had a very nice kitchen with full equipment and a spacious bathroom. The upstairs community bedroom held two double beds, two twin beds, and a loft/platform bed.

The outdoors hot tubs were very welcome and walking to them through the lush grounds is a treat. The house had huge picture windows looking over the tree fern forest. The gas fireplace was welcome in the cool evenings.

There are directional signs fairly obvious but I can see their necessary in this fairly out of the way spot, with conventions like catchment water and septic systems that many city dwellers might not be familiar with.

My husband and I have also stayed in the "corner window rooms" which don't have a full kitchen but have a microwave and coffeemaker, just fine for a couple of nights for two people.

I've never experienced any problems with mildew or lack of cleanliness, the rooms are always very clean and well stocked.

Ron and Jeab, the owners, are maybe not the warmest and fuzziest of proprietors, but they definitely take pride in their property. Ron does all the building himself, including the solar power for water heating and all the electrical, and his skill and high standards are evident in the places.

Recommended for a visit to Volcanoes National Park.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTLAND
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I really like this place in general - quiet, clean, off the beaten path, good location, awesome hot tub. It seems like the rooms really vary in quality. I stayed in the Hapu'u which had a really uncomfortable mattress, but the owner later told me the mattresses are different in each room and he'd let me try some out next time. The place is very peaceful and a great location for going to the park. I've stayed in other B&Bs in Volcano and this place thought of some important details: a heated towel rack since it's so humid things don't dry well, and a de-humidifier, for the same reason. The last time I stayed in Volcano my suit and towel never dried and the choice was either cold or very humid. Volcano Inn solved that problem with a few nice touches. I'm fine with no-frills, this place is cheap for a reason. So I would recommend it, but if you're picky about mattresses like me, ask the owner if you can try out another room if yours doesn't fit your sleep preferences.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very different - look at the pictures on the website and read other Trip Advisor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

If you like the odor of sweat soaked bed covers and mildew this is the place for you. Gecko was the worst. When calling at 6 pm about the almost gone bottled water and informed it could not be replaced until empty meaning we could go most of the night without drinking water. And Informed that the tap water was not supposed to be safe to drink. Opening the windows for hours did not help the odor. The middle of the room dehumidifier would fill before the night was half over and had to be emptied to restart. Multiple notes to remove shoes, wash dishes(or pay 30 dollars) and turn the bathroom fan off would not have been as bothersome if they had spent as much time washing the bed covers/blankets. Good location to Volcano Park could not be overcome by the smell of the room

Room Tip: not Gecko smell the covers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Inn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Inn Cottages

Address: 19-3820 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have nine cottage-style units beautifully nestled in the rain forest of Volcano Village, Hawaii. All rooms have private bathrooms, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Our larger, family, units have kitchenettes and gas fireplaces. For an additional cost, we have a limited menu of delicious homemade food from 7 am - 8 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Volcano Inn Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hotel Volcano
Volcano Inn Cottages Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Inn Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.