We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed here several times all good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Inn Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Volcano Inn Cottages to your Saves list
Volcano Inn Cottages
19-3820 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Waimea, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Have stayed here several times all good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My latest stay at Volcano Inn was in late January 2012. We stayed in a family room--Caldera was it's name; it was on two floors of a three-story home. The home was beautifully built with many lovely little details. The only problem we encountered with this was that the bathroom was downstairs and the bedroom was up, which was a problem for one of our party who has trouble with stairs. She wound up sleeping on the sofabed downstairs.

This unit had a very nice kitchen with full equipment and a spacious bathroom. The upstairs community bedroom held two double beds, two twin beds, and a loft/platform bed.

The outdoors hot tubs were very welcome and walking to them through the lush grounds is a treat. The house had huge picture windows looking over the tree fern forest. The gas fireplace was welcome in the cool evenings.

There are directional signs fairly obvious but I can see their necessary in this fairly out of the way spot, with conventions like catchment water and septic systems that many city dwellers might not be familiar with.

My husband and I have also stayed in the "corner window rooms" which don't have a full kitchen but have a microwave and coffeemaker, just fine for a couple of nights for two people.

I've never experienced any problems with mildew or lack of cleanliness, the rooms are always very clean and well stocked.

Ron and Jeab, the owners, are maybe not the warmest and fuzziest of proprietors, but they definitely take pride in their property. Ron does all the building himself, including the solar power for water heating and all the electrical, and his skill and high standards are evident in the places.

Recommended for a visit to Volcanoes National Park.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PORTLAND
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I really like this place in general - quiet, clean, off the beaten path, good location, awesome hot tub. It seems like the rooms really vary in quality. I stayed in the Hapu'u which had a really uncomfortable mattress, but the owner later told me the mattresses are different in each room and he'd let me try some out next time. The place is very peaceful and a great location for going to the park. I've stayed in other B&Bs in Volcano and this place thought of some important details: a heated towel rack since it's so humid things don't dry well, and a de-humidifier, for the same reason. The last time I stayed in Volcano my suit and towel never dried and the choice was either cold or very humid. Volcano Inn solved that problem with a few nice touches. I'm fine with no-frills, this place is cheap for a reason. So I would recommend it, but if you're picky about mattresses like me, ask the owner if you can try out another room if yours doesn't fit your sleep preferences.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very different - look at the pictures on the website and read other Trip Advisor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

If you like the odor of sweat soaked bed covers and mildew this is the place for you. Gecko was the worst. When calling at 6 pm about the almost gone bottled water and informed it could not be replaced until empty meaning we could go most of the night without drinking water. And Informed that the tap water was not supposed to be safe to drink. Opening the windows for hours did not help the odor. The middle of the room dehumidifier would fill before the night was half over and had to be emptied to restart. Multiple notes to remove shoes, wash dishes(or pay 30 dollars) and turn the bathroom fan off would not have been as bothersome if they had spent as much time washing the bed covers/blankets. Good location to Volcano Park could not be overcome by the smell of the room

Room Tip: not Gecko smell the covers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011 via mobile

My group of three stayed here while on a two day adventure into Volcanoes National Park.

The room we got was very large with a small kitchenette, dining room table, and a TV. The room was very clean; it had bath robes, extra blankets and towels already in the room, and pump bottles of body wash, shampoo, and conditioner!

On the second floor is a great lounge area with tables, couches, and a fireplace for everyone to use, along with free wi-fi. Just remember to take your shoes off before entering.

Finally, there is a jacuzzi available to everyone to use right outside the rooms; I, however, did not personally partake.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We spent 2 nights in a family room (gecko room) this November. No complaints about the room, location, owners or anything. Room was plenty big for the 6 of us who stayed. There were some dvd's in the room which was nice. Close to the Volcanoes national park. Hot tub was nice. Food in nearby town was very expensive, we ended up buying tins of soup from the general store and heated them up in the microwave in the room for dinner. Overall very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Our room was away from the main inn (Three streets away). We were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves in the middle of a rain forest. The room had a beautiful corner picture window looking out into the forest. Not a lot of storage space, I think the rooms are probably for one or two night stays (We stayed 4 nights). It's a great location for the Volcano and not far from Hilo.

Room Tip: Big windows in the corner rooms of the annex are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We decided on this place as it is well located in terms of distance from the Volcanoes National Park - only about a 5 min drive away. It is also a good price for a 3 night stay. We landed in Hilo at around 7:00 pm and by the time we drove up to Volcano, it was almost 8:00 pm and dark. We went to the main building and were told that our accommodations were located in the other property - about half a mile on the other side of the highway. We were handed a map to help us get there and also some phone numbers of restaurants in the area. There are absolutely no street lights on the other side of the highway and it really gives you a feeling of being alone at night in the middle of nowhere. There are lights outside of the Volcano Inn building parking lot - but they are motion sensitive (?) - and don't light up until you are exactly under them. Our room was located about 50 yards away from the parking lot and we had to drag three bags across gravel - which is difficult to do with heavier luggage like we had. The room itself was pretty clean, but had a musty smell to it. It was well equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and dehumidifier and drinking water, plates, glasses, etc. The corner window was nice.
We did not use the shared hot tub - we would probably have used it if the area around it and the path to it was better lit. The rainforest-type trees that surround the property also make it very dark as evening approaches.
Overall, an average experience - nothing too great or too bad about this place - a few more lights would definitely have made a big difference in our overall experience.

Room Tip: Arrive during daytime if you're a little uncomfortable/paranoid about entering an unknown, pitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Inn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Inn Cottages

Address: 19-3820 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have nine cottage-style units beautifully nestled in the rain forest of Volcano Village, Hawaii. All rooms have private bathrooms, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Our larger, family, units have kitchenettes and gas fireplaces. For an additional cost, we have a limited menu of delicious homemade food from 7 am - 8 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Volcano Inn Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hotel Volcano
Volcano Inn Cottages Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Inn Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.