We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Cedar Cottage

Volcano Cedar Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Cedar Cottage
Save
You added Volcano Cedar Cottage to your Saves list
11 37 99 7th Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 30 Volcano B&B and Inns
Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

We first choose this B&B, based on their website, and price point. The reviews here were good as well.

We stayed there for 2 nights during the 1st week of November. There directions were very clear, and easy to follow. We had no problem finding the B&B. We pulled up in the drive which was lined with palm trees, heading to the parking area which fit 3 or 4 vehicles. Our first impression was that of the owners waving at us from the large living room window. Barbara met us in the driveway and knew exactly who we were. We felt like we were being welcomed to our grandparents house - very warm and charming indeed.

The Room we had was the Ali'i room. We had our own private entrance. Barbara escourted us to our room, and let us know about the features of the room, and did everthing to make us comfortable. We then headed to the living and kitchen area, and had a good talk about the area, and where we were from etc... We felt right at home. Barbara was very good at letting us know about the village, and places to eat.

Our room consisted of 1 large Queen sized bed, and a Single Bed. A writing table in the corner by the window. Also provided is a microswave and TV. The ceiling fan came in handy too! The bathroom was very spacious, and clean. There were plenty of towels for us to use. The room was lined with cedar walls, and smelled of fresh wood, really felt like a cottage to me. They had just renovated this room as well. They have just purchased this B&B 2 years ago and are upgrading it themselves.

The Breakfasts were very well prepared, with a touch of love, there's nothing like home cooking. The first morning we had a fruit cup, with French Toast, and Sausage, and the Second morning we had Fruit Cup with Scrambled Eggs and Bacon. They had fresh juice and coffee all ready for us.

I would recomend this B&B to everyone. It was excellent.

  • Liked — Hospitality of Owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edison, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

My husband and I stayed in the Ali'i room (in the house). First the negative, the room was old and in desperate need of updating. There was a rather musty smell to it and reminded me of the 70's. But, it was clean and the location and price are excellent. The breakfasts were wonderful, lots of food and the inn-keeper was very friendly, made you feel like part of the family (which you kind of were since breakfast was served in her kitchen... a lilttle bit strange!). If you are looking for somewhere to stay while in Volcano it is in a great location but certainly nothing fancy.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2006

This was my first bed and breakfast experience, but I have nothing but good things to say about our stay here. I don't remember the name of the room, but it was tidy and well appointed. The candid photos posted here are mine. We were told not to drink the tap water but we were given a jug of drinking water plus another 20oz bottle for the bathroom.

Breakfast was tasty and the owners are very friendly. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2006

We stayed in the haku cottage. It was really an old building someone fixed up. It was decorated pretty, but it was VERY dusty. I spent a lot of time sneezing. The bathroom was nice.

The breakfast was very good and the hosts were pleasant. But this place needs a thorough cleaning. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

We spent 2 nights at this wonderful Bed & Breakfast (October 17 & 18). The home is very cute, the location and grounds are lovely, and most important, the owners (Barbara & Ernie) were wonderful. We felt like we were staying with long-time friends. We really enjoyed their hospitality. Barbara and Joanne made us a great breakfast. They had a flashlight ready for us to use for hiking Volcano National Park. This is truly a "home", not just a place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2005

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Volcano Cedar Cottage during our trip to Hawaii. The cottage was adorable, very clean and beautifully decorated. It is very close to Volcanoes National Park, which is really convenient if you plan to spend one or more full days there. Barbara and Ernie were wonderful hosts. They gave us great information on where to eat in Volcano, which drive to take to the other side of the island, and places to stop on the way. Barbara's breakfasts are delicious too!

We really loved Volcano, and we will definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2005

Barbara and Ernie are very gracious hosts. They made us feel like old friends. We rented two rooms (the cottage and the master suite) as we are travelling with two small children. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast delicious. (fresh fruit, coffee, eggs, sausage, bagel, etc etc!) Nice and close to the park.

There were toys available for our little girl to play with and Barbara even fixed her a bag of snacks to take to the park.

We will certainly stay here again.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Cedar Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Cedar Cottage

Address: 11 37 99 7th Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Volcano Cedar Cottage Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Cedar Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.