We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Orchid Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bamboo Orchid Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Bamboo Orchid Cottage Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11-3903 10th St, PO Box 205, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed 3 nights in the 'Enchanted Forest Studio" to which Kathy the innkeeper upgraded me so that I didn't have to move between rooms (I originally booked one night in 'Kipuka' and two nights in 'Wild Ginger'). The studio is just wonderful: spacious, super-clean, decorated very elegantly. I loved the fireplace, the comfortable bed with an adjustable bed-warmer. Do not be discouraged by the on-line description that the studio is 'located away from the main house'. There is like 2 m distance between the two houses, this means that you have to walk 2 minutes for breakfast, and also you can enter the main house any time since you are given the code to open the door.

During my whole stay Kathy was nothing but hospitable and friendly. Breakfast was delicious, and Kathy remembered all my little requests from the day before. I greatly enjoyed other guests' company. We all sat at one 'round' table and shared our hiking/sighseeing experiences. Most seats were occupied all the time - you see that this place is popular!

The location is perfect, just 10min drive (at most) and you are at the Visitor's Center in the Park. Another 5min drive and you are at the block with a variety of good restaurants (which Kathy will recommend to you). I would say it was a 'home away from home', only that my house is not as beautiful as 'Bamboo Orchid'!. If I am back, I would not look for another place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    43
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
201
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I highly recommend the Bamboo Orchid for an overnight stay in Volcano. Kathy (!) and Greg were perfect hosts. They accommodated our early arrival, provided local Volcaon Village restaurant recommendations (Kiawe Kitchen and Thai) and map and made us quickly feel at home. The lodge itself is beautifully maintained, furnished and decorated. Hawaiian music greeted us as we entered our room (Kipuka) which opened onto a private lanai with rainforest view. The bed was made cozy despite the chill in the mountain air by an electric bed warmere with dual controls. The breakfast, which included healthy choice and island coffee and fruit was enjoyed at a community table where all guests shared travel experiences. Kathy and Greg were helpful in that regard as well, responding to requests for suggestions for the upcoming day's itinerary. I look forward to visiting again and I will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at the the Bamboo Orchid Cottage B&B for 4 nights in May 2012 while seeing all the attractions in Volcano National Park. The B&B was beautiful and clean. Kathy the innkeeper was very friendly and helpful. On one of the days we were leaving too early for breakfast she gave us some coffee in a to-go cup and some bagels for the road.

We stayed in the the Royal Orchid suite which was amazing. It was beautiful and clean, and had a number of useful amenities like a mini fridge, slippers & robes, and a fireplace (which only worked intermittently). My wife was in love with the bed warmer. It also had a private entrance, but we didn't really make use of it because it was quiet and easy to come in the main entrance. We did make use of the balcony once. The massive bathroom features a jacuzzi that we made use of every night. Great after a long hike in the park. We didn't make use of the hot tub because of our private jacuzzi, but would have otherwise. There was a even an audio CD with a self-guided tour of the park, which we used during the day in our car.

WiFi was available, but the signal was a little weak in our room. Still usable.

Breakfast was good, with the delicious papaya boats. One day it was served with waffles, but the other day there wasn't any "main dish" to go with it. There were bagels, boiled eggs, cheese, etc so we definitely didn't starve.

The B&B is very close to the park gates, so you can easily get there in 5 mins. Great for making the most of your day, e.g. if you want to go on some hikes. It was also not too long a drive (~1 hour) to South Point to get to the green sand beach.

One tip: Our GPS took us to the totally wrong street. The cross street you need is Pearl. Check it out on Google Maps before you go.

Room Tip: Royal Orchid suite is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We had the Royal Orchid room. Great breakfast, great room. Private entry and the neighborhood cat Maurice.

A great place for either volcano hiking or exploring the Puna Region.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Warm and welcoming, relaxing and calming atmosphere. Thanks Kathy for a lovely stay, you've got a great B&B. We liked the location right next to volcanoes national park and really appreciated the hot tub and rainforest surround to relax in!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We live in Kona on the Big Island and have frequently made excursions to the Volcano area, as an enjoyable change of scene. We have stayed in a number of B&Bs in this area over the years, and the Bamboo Orchid B&B turned out to be a real discovery. The innkeeper, Kathy, extended warm hospitality to us and was very sensitive to our needs. She readily arranged for an early check in so my 82 year old husband could get his afternoon nap. When we came back, cold and chilled, from a somewhat rainy outdoor hula performance, she quickly built up a fire in the attractive comman room. Breakfasts were very satisfactory with good local coffee, tropical fruits, assorted bagels and rolls, hard boiled eggs, cheeses, and tasty spreads. We stayed in the wild ginger room which was, as other guests have commented, large enough for our needs, and had relaxing views of the rain forest from both the bedroom and adjoining shower bathroom. Everything was quite clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Best of all, was the gas fireplace, conveniently controlled by the thermostat, and the warm electric blanket under the bottom sheet of the bed....we stayed toasty warm during a somewhat chilly and off-and-on rainy Volcano weekend. We slept very well in this quiet and comfortable room.
We especially enjoy seeing the "Kohiko" style hula performances at the National Park which are held every two or three months at a stone platform that looks out over the caldera -- the home of the goddess Pele. They are held rain or shine, and this time was more rain that we would have preferred. However viewing the ancient style of hula dancing in this outdoor venue, where the dancers are performing right in front of the huge caldera, is a moving experience. Since it usually starts about 10 or 10:30 in the morning on a weekend, it is a good excuse to make an overnight trip from Kona, so as to get a good parking spot for this very popular type of event. (But bring your warm raingear, mats, and umbrellas if you come!) The Bamboo Orchid makes a great home base for exploring the Volcano area and its many attractions and cultural events. We will certainly be back and can definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at Bamboo Orchid in April 2012 and felt immediately at home in this comfortable B&B. The house was quiet, the breakfasts were ample and the hosts, Kathy & Gary were very hospitable. Was a great B&B to relax in after a day at the Volcano National Park. Recommend it for those who want to explore the park and its surrounds.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Orchid Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Orchid Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11-3903 10th St, PO Box 205, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bamboo Orchid Cottage Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo Orchid Cottage is a newly built,contemporary, art-inspired B&B tucked into the rainforest adjacent to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Rooms with private baths, fireplaces, hand-crafted beds, and orginal artwork.Hearty tropical breakfastwith espresso and fine teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bamboo Orchid Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Orchid Cottage Hotel Volcano
Bamboo Orchid Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Bamboo Orchid Cottage Bed & Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Orchid Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.