We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but not clean and bring your own breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
Save
You added Volcano Guest House to your Saves list
11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Hannover
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, but not clean and bring your own breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

The Mahalo Hawaiian Retreat is a very nice setting, a bit remote, and very quiet. On the bad side, the bathroom was not clean, full of black sand from earlier guests. The water kettle in the kitchen was so rusty, we decided not to use it. The worst was that they promised breakfast, so we did not bring any from one of the big towns. However, the caretaker insisted that it was not included, even though we had a print-out of the email that promised the breakfast. Finally, he brought us breakfast for one morning (as a courtesy, he told us). As we stayed for four nights and as in Volcano there are only two rather small supermarkets, overpriced and not with a really good selection, basically, we ran out of food.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    57
    23
    2
    3
See reviews for
61
53
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I would recommend this to a large group or someone who is looking for a quiet spot for reading or meditation. That said, personally, I wouldn't stay here again. Next time, I will pay more for accommodations that are a little cleaner, fresher-feeling, and more charming.

We enjoyed the fact that the grounds are very secluded and peaceful. Here's a few additional items to add to what has already been written about this place:

1. Gary, the property's caretaker, is great. We really enjoyed listening to his stories about the property. He took time to show us around and provide recommendations about the local restaurants. Everything that he said about them turned out to be true.

2. It is important to note (and this is mentioned on their website) that you're just renting a room in a house. You will definitely run into your housemates if there are any. We were lucky enough to have the whole Mana house to ourselves; however, we likely would have not enjoyed our stay as much had there been any housemates.

Either of the houses would be ideal for a large family that needs private sleeping areas but still wanted a common space to eat and talk.

3. The Rainforest suite is a little stuffy. The big windows in the bedroom do not open (although the sliding door does), so it is not possible to get a cross-breeze through the room. As a result, the room felt a little stale.

In addition, there were old toenail clippings on the bathroom floor. Honestly, this grossed me out and kind of ruined the place for me.

4. In the Mana house, there is a community kitchen available for use. Full fridge, range, oven. No microwave.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

This lovely 3 bedroom house with a yoga dojo was just what we needed as a retreat from our busy lives. The grounds were luscious rainforests with a tranquil harmonious energy resonating within. We felt very at home and welcomed. The yoga studio was beautiful and our family did yoga almost every day. We would definitely visit this unique property again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed in one of the twins for two nights. Place was big, own kitchen, fridge, parking space...setting is in a lush plant filled environment. Its pretty quiet located about 5 minute drive from the volcano national park. GET DIRECTIONS!!!! if it is foggy at night, it is difficult to spot the road... other than that, yes they could use softer towels, but all in all considering the proximity to the park (which we wanted) thought it was a good, solid choice....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We loved how roomy the Ohana house is at Mahalo, we were able to invite another couple from Kona to come up and stay with us for a few nights. The setting is perfect and tranquil, the accommodations are perfect. Everything we needed was right there! Gary was a great help and made us feel welcome. I don't think I've had as good a night's sleep in months! Very romantic.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta GA
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
167 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

The good - proximity to volcanoes national park (less than 5 min.); quiet; very friendly staff; breakfast and snack foods available

The bad - lack of heat/hot water;

I was unprepared for the cool weather. the handbook in the unit advises you to conserve electricity because it is very expensive there. There was only an electric radiator heater in one of the rooms and i felt guilty for running it. Luckily there were electric blankets for when i went to sleep. The hot water was almost non existant because it was solar, with an electric back up. I may have not worked the back up system right, and once again, felt guilty for doing so.
the unit had a nicely stocked kitchen, so for longer stays, cooking is an option.
It may seem a bit pricey, but i am convinced it is a good deal for the area.

In summary, if you are a B&B person and into the eco thing - this is a place for u. If you are used to four star accomodations - look elsewhere

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

Mahalo Hawaiian Retreat is without a doubt the most peaceful, yet stimulating place in the most beautiful spot. I was there for only one week but had the opportunity to experience an amazing connection with nature. The lush surroundings that embrace the retreat are truly unique. The accommodations are outstanding with all the amenities and great décor.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.