We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD PLACE NEAR VOLCANOES NATIONAL PARK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
Save
You added Volcano Guest House to your Saves list
11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“GOOD PLACE NEAR VOLCANOES NATIONAL PARK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had our group of ten there in June and rented the Olapa and Akala houses. Bonnie is a great host.
This Eco-friendly property is tucked almost too tightly into the Ohia and fern rainforest in that the roads were narrow and tight for our vans. The rooms are spacious and bright from the skylights. The kitchen is well equipped. Our room (Olapa - Bedroom 3) had a view of the forest at both ends and the rain is relaxing to listen to at night.
The self-serve breakfast consists of coffee, instant cocoa, milk, orange juice, fresh bananas, fresh papayas, previously refrigerated cut pineapple, hard-boiled eggs, cold cereals, instant oatmeal, break and muffins, etc.

The one important negative was that the beds are too soft, perhaps on purpose for the warmth of the mattress surrounding you . But there were insufficient blankets to be found so we used our sleeping bags and I had to inflate my Thermarest to very hard to put over the soft mattress or else get a backache.

Overall, we will return there with or without a group.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    57
    24
    2
    3
See reviews for
61
54
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you end up staying here because you’re spending a day or two in Volcanoes Park (which you should, because it’s amazing) you will be fine. VGH is clean, the guest units are spacious and have sparsely equipped kitchens The surrounding forest and gardens are lush and lovely. There is a separate cottage for breakfast with a hot tub that is pleasant enough to hang out in. The owners are nice and will answer any questions if asked, though they won’t go out of their way for you (which, depending on your personality, can be a relief or a slight).

So it’s fine. And I imagine at one point VGH was actually more than fine. But the issue here seems to be that the owners have been running this place for many years and they have figured out a way to do it that works very well for them—but maybe less well for their guests. In fact, it is hard to really feel like a guest here. There is neither the convenience and amenities of a hotel nor the warmth and attention to detail of a B&B. The furnishings are adequate but not especially comfortable; the sheets, towels etc (which are not changed while you are there, nor is there any tidying done or beds made) are basic at best and somewhat worn. There was no soap in the shower/bath when we arrived, just economy-sized bottles of Herbal Essences shampoo.

I would, perhaps, fact find all of that quirkily charming if it weren’t for the breakfast. The one thing one expects from a B&B is the second “B.” What you get at VGH is, I hate to say it (because, again, the owners are really nice) is cheap and indifferent. Cold cereal from Costco; Quaker instant oatmeal; Skippy peanut butter and grape jelly in a squeeze bottle; stale refrigerator bagels with a big tub of cream cheese that is three-quarters empty and deeply unappetizing (all knife-gauged, gummy and with crumbs in it). The first morning they put out an already-stale, pre-packaged cinnamon twist coffee cake, also (I’m guessing) purchased from Costco. We ate one slice, and didn't like it. They then proceeded to put the same package out every morning, as it grew more stale and even less appealing. Yes, there are fresh papayas and bananas, but the pineapple was visibly overripe and, once more, when we didn’t eat it, they just served it to us again the next day.

My feeling is if you’re going to run a B&B (and price it competitively) you should truly care about your guests’ comfort. Because they are just that--guests, not relatives that you want to discourage from ever coming back. I would so like VGH to be a better place, because it has some great qualities. But it needs to be seriously stepped up.

So for accommodations, because it’s spacious and well-located I give it 3 stars. For service, comfort, and breakfast I give it a 1 ½ or maybe a 2. I can’t fully recommend staying here, but you won’t be devastated if, for whatever reason, it’s where you end up. Just be aware that it does the job, absolutely nothing more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This place is exactly as advertised. Good breakfast. Accommations clean. The only caveat is that you are in the middle of a fern forest, so expect showers and some damp conditions. But that is all part of the adventure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent place to stay. We were with 2 adults and 2 kids. Had lots of space. The kids loved all the animals and the hot tub. The owners were so helpful letting us do washing and just being really relaxed about everything being available. The breakfast was awesome. Love all the recycling and solar etc. So close to Volcano National Park. would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Love the breakfast lanai. I love that there are no rules just suggestions like you can use the hot tub anytime just be considerate to guests nearby.
I like that they are environmentally conscious- solar water heater, recycling, compost etc.
Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our family (six of us) rented the entire house. We wanted a three bedroom house. It was very spacious and the bedrooms each had their own bath. Lovely setting and very quiet. Kitchen had all the basics. We could cook breakfast before we left each day. We chose this house because of proximity to Volcano National Park and the Hilo coast. It is minutes to get into the park which is wonderful. We did a day trip up the Hilo coast all the way to the end of the road and we still back to house by 8:30 pm. Great location. The innkeepers are wonderful. I had numerous questions which were all answered via email prior to us getting there which definitely helped our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

As a family with one 8 year old child, we enjoyed the relaxed, welcoming feel of the place. The collection of garage sale furniture and décor was comfortable and I did not feel like I had to worry that my son would break anything terribly valuable.

Everything seemed to be clean, neat and tidy. Having a kitchenette was great since most of the eating establishments in Volcano are closed on Monday nights (our first night in the area).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.