We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant

Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant
Volcano Village, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
(808) 967-7366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Volcano
Price range: $20 - $43
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: between Wright and Haunani
Description: Kilauea Lodge and Restaurant, located in the quiet village of Volcano, sits on 5 acres of gardens and gazebos and native forest. This hotel restaurant features a large fireplace, local art, koa tables, and is open nightly. Chef/owner Albert Jeyte blends flavors from his European background with farm, ranch and seafood products from Hawaii, the surrounding Pacific and elsewhere. Volcano Village is at 3700 feet elevation and evenings are often cool and misty. The historic fireplace welcomes guests with it's cheery fire. Home made soups and breads tease the appetite. Albert specializes in unusual game...venison, antelope, rabbit, duck. The biggest sellers are local fish dishes; ahi, ono, mahimahi and the exotic Tristan lobster. A large wine list complements the eclectic menu.
Fox Island, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We found this restaurant quite accidentally on our way to Volcanoes National Park. What a great find! We stopped for lunch - it was a prefect experience! Great service, great atmosphere and wonderful food (the portobello mushroom sandwich). Worth the stop and I highly recommend it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    191
    91
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a lunch spot before going to the National Park and happened to find Kilauea Lodge. What a great place. We both had home made celery soup and the Ahi Tuna Cesar salad which was cooked to perfection. Two lunches one glass of wine and iced tea put us around $50.00. Word of caution, if you are using Apples Map app it put us on the wrong side of 11, we almost gave up trying to find it. Take the turn for Volcano Village and it's on Old Volcano road.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Place for Special Occasions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Kilauea Lodge is the place to go for a special occasion. The food is very good and the service is equally good. Reservations are recommended for this place.

This restaurant has food with a European flair so if you like German food, try their sausage platter among their many options. This place is pricey but worth the ambiance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent food and comfortable and cozy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The food was amazing! One of the things I really appreciated was their willingness to help make my meal gluten free. I actually had several options that were delicious! My husband had the german sausage plate and I had grilled fish with an amazing papaya sauce. The staff were very friendly and although the prices were a little high, the quality of food was worth it. We'd definitely eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, atmosphere, and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This restaurant was our favorite near Volcano. Very accommodating service for vegetarians, and very warm staff. It was certainly a bit pricey, but definitely worth the splurge for the nice dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.