We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant

Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant
Volcano Village, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
(808) 967-7366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $43
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: between Wright and Haunani
Description: Kilauea Lodge and Restaurant, located in the quiet village of Volcano, sits on 5 acres of gardens and gazebos and native forest. This hotel restaurant features a large fireplace, local art, koa tables, and is open nightly. Chef/owner Albert Jeyte blends flavors from his European background with farm, ranch and seafood products from Hawaii, the surrounding Pacific and elsewhere. Volcano Village is at 3700 feet elevation and evenings are often cool and misty. The historic fireplace welcomes guests with it's cheery fire. Home made soups and breads tease the appetite. Albert specializes in unusual game...venison, antelope, rabbit, duck. The biggest sellers are local fish dishes; ahi, ono, mahimahi and the exotic Tristan lobster. A large wine list complements the eclectic menu.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had read great reviews about the lodge's restaurant, and we decided to stop on our way out for breakfast. The menu is short but has a lot of unique options. I appreciated that I could also order a la carte. The restaurant is so charming, with it's warm friendship fireplace and colorful placemats and napkins. The woodwork of the building is gorgeous. For a moment, I had to stop and remind myself that I was not in Alaska, but in Hawaii. Really pleased with this little find. Will definitely stop again when in Volcano Village.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    211
    102
    29
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hartford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast if you have time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Service and food are great in this ex-YMCA building (literally). The high ceilings and atmosphere are comfortable and campy. It's one of the nicer places to eat near the park. Only dislike was receiving lots of attitude from the person thats seats you. You'll be asked to wait 15-20 min for a table even if the room's mostly empty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham Vale
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and delightful service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

For a special night out in Volcano this is the perfect choice. The meals were delicious and there is a bit of a German influence on the menu reflecting the chef's origins. The staff were efficient and friendly, and helpful. Meals are not cheap but we felt it was value for money.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful duck l'orange!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I live in Volcano Village and have eaten at Kilauea Lodge many, many times over the past 20+ years. The food is always delicious and the staff absolutely wonderful and attentive. The restaurant has retained it's old world atmosphere and the chef is German and trained in France. One of my very favorite restaurants anywhere!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Sep-Oct 2013 Hawaii vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the service at the Kilauea Lodge Restaurant during our stay in the Volcano Village. We can not remember the name of the entrée that my husband ordered, but he loved it. I had never heard of Safari Schnitzel, so I ordered it out of curiosity .... and I LOVED it. The prices are a little high, but we thought that it was worth it.
Wilma and Jack Petrovich

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.