We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious breakfasts & dinners at Kilauea Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant

Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant
Volcano Village, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
(808) 967-7366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $43
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: between Wright and Haunani
Description: Kilauea Lodge and Restaurant, located in the quiet village of Volcano, sits on 5 acres of gardens and gazebos and native forest. This hotel restaurant features a large fireplace, local art, koa tables, and is open nightly. Chef/owner Albert Jeyte blends flavors from his European background with farm, ranch and seafood products from Hawaii, the surrounding Pacific and elsewhere. Volcano Village is at 3700 feet elevation and evenings are often cool and misty. The historic fireplace welcomes guests with it's cheery fire. Home made soups and breads tease the appetite. Albert specializes in unusual game...venison, antelope, rabbit, duck. The biggest sellers are local fish dishes; ahi, ono, mahimahi and the exotic Tristan lobster. A large wine list complements the eclectic menu.
Margate, NJ
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfasts & dinners at Kilauea Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family stayed here for a couple nights in August...(highly recommend). The three breakfasts we had were all absolutely delicious. We tried dinner one night & it was very good. Hunters soup (rabbit - so many layers of flavoring) and some sort of squash soup (so amazing). The chicken was delicious & the service was super. Don't be put off by the exotic meats - they have a kids menu too. Servers were extra accommodating - my kids fell asleep at the table - they made my dinner to go (plate & all) & the waitress even helped me carry it to my room ( my hands were filled w. sleeping kids - Thanks Lacey!). I tried to tip her for this extra help- but she wouldn't accept it. Talk about extra service with a smile - THANKS - I'm sure any traveling parents can appreciate this :). To sum it up - when in Volcano - stay HERE, eat HERE

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    212
    102
    29
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A cross between old Hawaii and a European hunting lodge. Loved the atmosphere and the food. I think those who were disappointed ordered fish, which is not their specialty. They have game, duck, lamb chops, and other dishes that are the things to order here. I am usually not a big meat-eater, but I had a steak (grass-fed Parker ranch beef), which was the best steak I have ever had. Tender and perfectly cooked medium rare with yummy mashed potatoes. My husband had duck, which was also delicious. Reservations are a must as this place is very popular, and rightly so. It was crowded (but table are well-spaced so it doesn't seem croded) so the service was a bit slow, but very gracious. Definitely recommend eating here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. Good quality at a reasonable price. I would recommend it if you want a home style meal in comfortable surroundings. Not too pretentious but above the standard fare.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Plan on lunch or dinner here if at Volcanoes National Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Kilauea Lodge is a 'must-visit' stop whenever we are on the Big Island. We first discovered it when we rented a house in Volcano village and make sure to go back whenever we are in the park. It is 2 minutes from the park entrance, so when we are wiped out from a morning's worth of activities we head there for lunch, then back to the park for another full afternoon. Fantastic atmosphere, feels almost like the Muskokas here in Ontario with the huge stone fireplace. Food was unique and flavourful, and clearly culinary thought had been put in to the menu and in particular the daily special (I had the tarot infused homemade burger). Came home with two Christmas tree ornaments from the gift shop this time! If you are planning on checking out the night lava glow at Jagger museum (recommended), consider having dinner here before or after.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of those hidden gems of the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Great food... GET THE ANTELOPE SCHNITZEL!!! Server was friendly and attentive. Calm and peaceful, just like the island used to be. If you want to see the volcano at night, eat here first

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.