We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Happy Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aloha Happy Place to your Saves list
Aloha Happy Place
2.5 of 5 Cottage   |   19-3870 Old Volcano Road, P.O. Box 490, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785 (Formerly Aloha Place)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Bronx, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August. We were a bit hesitant about staying here, but were pleasantly surprised. The house is homey, and the room (Alii) was lovely. The bed and bedding were comfortable and we both slept very well. There is a lovely library where you can sit by the fire (working fireplace) and read. The inn keeper provides both a large variety of books and movies (there is a tv with vcr dvd player in the room). While there is no official kitchen facility, she does provide a microwave, refrigerator, tea and coffee as well as a hot water maker. We didn't realize it until we left, but she also provides warm coats and hats if you are going to Volcano National Park at night (it can get a bit chilly). There are 2 house rules-no shoes inside and no smoking. The one thing I would say, is that it would be nice if she would provide a place for you to put your shoes right when you enter, instead of having to leave them outdoors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Aloha place was AMAZING! The place was very clean and comfortable. The owner provided a well organized and convenient place to stay. She provided flashlights and maps to use if u wanna tour the volcano at night. Also, there are thick jackets, hats, umbrellas to use at night, because it gets really chilly at night. The place is just a few minutes away from the volcano. 30 min to black sand beach. A definite must experience is the green sand beach located in south point, 40 min f err on the aloha place. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Every room is greatly themed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

booked this property in march 2013. Followed instructions - no one was at the home. Very clean. Unfortunately, we had a very rainy night and the windows in the small back bedroom banged all night long. Mattresses need to be changed - very little support. Saw no one the next day. This is not a B&B since there is no breakfast but there is a kettle downstairs and tea.
This property could be so much more than it is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in the Ali'i Room and it was fine for our purpose. All the windows were shut when we arrived so the room was boiling hot, but cooled off when we opened all the windows and got the ceiling fan going. The bed was very comfortable, and the living room helped us not feel cramped. We had dinner just down the road at the Kiluea Lodge, that had great food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Granada, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

One has to be careful about booking accommodations at Aloha Place online, because there are at least three websites for this inn, all containing conflicting information. We used the main site to book a four-night stay in the separate Sushi Cottage and were attracted by the description of the elegant furnishings and the private lanai with a promised view of native birds, a bamboo forest, and a field. In fact, there are a couple of hydrangea and camellia bushes that don't do a good job of obscuring a large shed covered with a green tarp, a backhoe or bulldozer, and a field of dirt and rubble. Further, the lanai is private but, even without the promised view, it's not very inviting, as the chairs, BBQ, and umbrella are all covered with plastic. Another Aloha Place website I looked at later omits the promised views from the lanai. All the websites promise a DVD player; in fact, there was only a DVD remote. Two sites promise Wi-Fi in the cottage, and one does not. There is Wi-Fi only in the main house.

On the positive side, though not elegantly appointed as our web description also suggests, the Sushi Cottage is comfortable, quiet, private but quite modest. The "kitchenette" is just a tiny sink, refrigerator, and two-burner stove. One can heat a bowl of soup and that's about it.

Also, at the time of our stay in late September, the recycling bins were filled--five of them containing bottles--as if they hadn't been emptied for weeks.

Future guests should also be warned that Aloha Place, which is listed on several bed-and -breakfast sites for Hawaii, does not offer breakfast. The main website is very clear about this, so it's a little strange that the place still is listed on B and B sites. At one time, breakfast was apparently offered because older reviews mention it.

The facilities are described as "self check-in," which means that, in the four days we were there, we never saw a proprietor or caretaker, nor is there any maid service. You are on your own, in other words, and if you book here, it's imperative that you have a cell phone in case of an emergency. If you are the sort of traveler who wants to chat with a friendly innkeeper, look elsewhere. If you crave privacy, then this lack of human contact won't bother you. Still, it seemed odd.

Last, I need to mention that we could have overlooked these aforementioned defects, but as inveterate animal lovers, we were disturbed by the chicken coop behind the cottage, which houses about a dozen chickens and one rooster. These chickens were never let out during our four-day stay, which seemed strange because just to the left of the coop is a huge field where chickens could happily peck away eating bugs. Even worse were the red Queensland heeler and another dog that are kept in a wire enclosure. I foolishly went over to see the heeler, and he lunged and lunged at the fence. We own a blue heeler, and this one sight alone would make us unwilling to recommend the Aloha Place to future guests. To our knowledge, these dogs were never let out in four days. It appears that these birds and animals are on the inn's property, as there's no fence dividing their quarters from either the main house or the cottage.

If you book at Aloha Place, be sure to bring ear plugs, as the roosters crow at all times of the day and night.

The price is right, though, and the more nights you stay, the lower the nightly fee. So, at least the Sushi Cottage is a comfortable little place, but the glowing web descriptions are bound to result in disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We decided to stay in volcano for one night as we were kona based and wanted a more liesurely drive experience (and to see the volcano in the light and dark).

We're glad we picked this little place. Check in a very different - and trusting! They leave the keys on a cork board and you serve yourself. There is no breakfast but we left early and didn't mind. We ate at the lava rock cafe and it was delicious!!

Yes it's a bit musky... but you're in a rainforest. I didn't see chickens. Our room was done up in a horse theme and it was very cozy and nice. Bed was comfortable and overall I felt very comfortable here.

I do recommend

Room Tip: We stayed in palimino which was a cute horse room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I think the reviewers w/ negative comments are significantly biased...

Their Main dis-satisfactions were: 1. Not Enough Water. 2. Dusty Smell. 3. Chicken.

Considering where the inn is located, these situations are understandable:
1. Water is a scarce resource in the mountain. Availability is based on recent precipitation.
2. You have to pick your poison: open the window to avoid dusty smell and inhale the volcanic ash/volcanic gas instead.
3. You are in Hawaii, expect chicken!

In general, I had a pleasant stay. Rooms are nicely decorated. They are very unique. Owner has attention to details. I stayed in many B&B before and was rarely satisfied with the breakfast. No breakfast doesn't bother me. A great breakfast place is walking distance away from the Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloha Happy Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Happy Place

Address: 19-3870 Old Volcano Road, P.O. Box 490, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785 (Formerly Aloha Place)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aloha Happy Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is NOT your regular Joe B&B; actually it isn't a B&B at all, but a farmstead accommodaton. It offers everything you'd expect at a three star hotel and more for a fraction of the cost. Our location is key for planning your perfect stay while visiting the Big Island. We are located a short drive from Hilo International Airport and just minutes from the most active (and safest) volcano in the world. Kilauea is situated at the 4,000 foot elevation amidst lush tropical rainforest where you can escape the heat and crowds of the fast paced city life. Come enjoy some "Aloha" hospitality at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloha Happy Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Happy Place Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Happy Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.