We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comments on the negative reviews...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Happy Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aloha Happy Place to your Saves list
Aloha Happy Place
2.5 of 5 Cottage   |   19-3870 Old Volcano Road, P.O. Box 490, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785 (Formerly Aloha Place)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comments on the negative reviews...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I think the reviewers w/ negative comments are significantly biased...

Their Main dis-satisfactions were: 1. Not Enough Water. 2. Dusty Smell. 3. Chicken.

Considering where the inn is located, these situations are understandable:
1. Water is a scarce resource in the mountain. Availability is based on recent precipitation.
2. You have to pick your poison: open the window to avoid dusty smell and inhale the volcanic ash/volcanic gas instead.
3. You are in Hawaii, expect chicken!

In general, I had a pleasant stay. Rooms are nicely decorated. They are very unique. Owner has attention to details. I stayed in many B&B before and was rarely satisfied with the breakfast. No breakfast doesn't bother me. A great breakfast place is walking distance away from the Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We spent 5 wonderful nights here. Though it does a little cold at night this time in volcano village, the thick but comfortable quilt is enough to give us a great sleep. The room also has dehumidifier, beach mats, towels, flashlights, wifi and almost everything we might need there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I had a very comfortable stay at this place. Some of the negative comments I read were worrisome before I got here, but once I see the place I found it quite adequate, not unlike many country B&B that I have used. The room named Ali'i that I had was quite large, very comfy bed, sofa, plenty of tea and coffee machine. Some nice touches here and there. Yes, the hot water was slow to come and when it came, it was hot. Some bonuses at this place were the artwork all around the house, a large library of books and videos. It also has a desktop computer you can use, but quite slow. Umbrellas to borrow. Yes, there chickens outside but if the windows are close, it won't bother you. I even met the innkeeper, Joan, just briefly. This place is great for someone who just want a quiet place to rest after a day's activity. There are a few places nearby that serves a good breakfast, or lunch and diner. And you are just 5 minutes from the park entrance. Good location to take a quick drive into the park at night to see the volcanic glow after dark.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We spent two nights at Aloha Place - Inn of Volcano during our nine-night Big Island trip.
The place looked nice enough and at first glance seemed to provide a lot of extras - robes, tea set, games books, refrigerator, umbrellas, etc. etc... As we had very low expectations for this place, having read all the reviews and wanting just a basic place for three to rest our heads for that portion of our trip with the most activities planned, we were pleasantly surprised. However, we quickly realized no extra goodies could take the place of the basics the place lacks or make the stay bearable. The room was dusty and damp, and something in it made us all itch. One of the pillows reeked too much to be usable. All the posted rules such as "don't take a bath" and "don't flush the toilet unless necessary"(?!) were really bothersome, too. If they just installed a more efficient water heater, so that you don't have to waste so much cold water first for a warm shower, I'd think that should conserve enough water to stop the drought worries. The lack of personal contact with the owners/management (check-in consisting of finding an envelope with keys and registration form taped to the office door) would have been fine, except that we could feel that they were watching us throughout our stay, like they were making sure we didn't break any of their rules. It was really creepy, not to mention made us feel absolutely unwelcome. The worst part of our stay, however, was the cold. We slept in our jackets and woke up with stiff joints. One of the posted rules was to turn off the heater when leaving the room, except we didn't see any heater no matter how hard we looked. The note in the envelope stated that firewood for the library fireplace would be provided daily, but we didn't get a single stick of wood. We would normally have asked the management, but we were so creeped out by the place and the invisible owners that we didn't dare.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan P, Manager at Aloha Happy Place, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
These three visitors booked a room designed for two, with a limit of two guests only. They snuck in a thrd person and then complained about anthing they could invent to complain about. There are only two single beds in the room these three booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed at Aloha Place - Inn of Volcano for two nights. When I made my reservation I was already aware that they did not serve breakfast and that it was self check-in with an envelope on the bulletin board. Unlike others I was not surprised by these things. There were a few good things: free parking, free wireless internet, bed was comfortable, umbrellas provided, information sheet about nearby businesses with hours, and a small fridge provided.

But here is what surprised me:

I never received a confirmation from the owner that they received our reservation and when we arrived our room had changed. At first I thought the change was good because the room was the larger Sushi Guest Cottage...except directly behind the cottage is the chicken coop! The chickens will crow at all hours of the night and morning...they don't wait for the sun to come up. They would crow a bit at midnight and then start around 5am and not stop till 9am! I understand that people in Hawaii raise chickens but if you run an Inn you should give up this lifestyle for the comfort of your guests.

The other reviewer was correct about conserving water. They ask you to not take baths, reuse your towels, and to flush the toilet only when necessary. Volcano is experiencing drought and the water provided is gathered through rainwater. It was a shame that we couldn't do laundry but there is a laundry mat in town right next to the great Thai restaurant.

We also had a circuit breaker go out when I used the hair dryer provided. This circuit breaker provided power to three outlets in the cottage. We knocked on the office door but no one answered and called both provided phone numbers but had to leave a message. When we returned from the park nothing was fixed so we knocked on the office door again. The owner did not seem pleased, had an argument with someone else in the office/main house, and then came out but was unable to fix the breaker. The whole experience made us feel unwelcome at the Inn and we would not recommend anyone to stay there...even if their rates are cheaper then nearby B&Bs in Volcano. Either pay more somewhere else in Volcano or stay in nearby Hilo and drive back and forth to the park.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan P, Manager at Aloha Happy Place, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
There are no chickens or roosters at this accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

First of all Aloha Place is NOT A BED AND BREAKFAST!!!!! Just a bed and NOTHING more! Upon "check in" we found an envalope tacked to the office door that indicated "NO MEALS ARE PROVIDED IN ACCORDANCE TO LOCAL REGULATIONS" !?! We felt more like we were an imposition while we were there. We were on edge the whole time we were there. Then there is this list of all of the things you can't do. First you can't take a bath, only short showers. Let me tell you after a day of hiking the volcano area, I WILL TAKE A BATH IF I WANT TO! And another rule: Don't flush the toilet unless it's necessary, ...please.....the toilet....umm....whats wrong with flushing it every time????? And this rule: If you use the cups, spoons, coffee maker etc. you will be charged with an extra $20.00 cleaning fee. It makes one wonder just how many people have used these items and have just spit polished them and put them back. GROSS! And this rule: Don't use all of the towels, what?, oh yea you won't need to use them because you can't take a bath! And we were sound asleep the second night and were jarred awake by someone running a vacuum! Unbelievable! Seriously ,the whole place could have used a good cleaning, but vacuuming at night? Really? Mind you we never saw another human being the whole time we were there, except a person doing yard work. No one checks you in or out. the curtains on the windows are see-through sheer, we managed to find a musty smelling blanket to hang over one window and two beach towels to cover another window so we felt like we could go to sleep without being seen from the main road. The removing of your shoes to go in the house was ok. BUT... had we known of all of the RULES and that there was no breakfast we would have stayed somewhere else. We wanted to cancell the second night, but with no one tending the place it was impossible to let anyone know of our dissatisfaction. I just hopethe creepy little spider in the night stand who built his web between the bible and the front of the drawer is much happer staying there that we were! Sleep in your car if you must, but don't stay at Aloha Place, there is no ALOHA spirit there!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan P, Manager at Aloha Happy Place, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Some travelers bring their unhappiness with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Booked one night in the Aloha Place through Expedia. Was one of the cheapest in the area, but it was only one night so didn't have much to lose. At first we didn't know what to expect - the key was attached to a pin board outside 'reception' with directions to the room. There didn't seem to be anybody about. so we made our way into the house and had a look around. It really was a home from home. We had the place to ourselves. Lots of little extras - internet access, cds, dvds, games, local information, flashlight, selection of 'novelty' slippers at the door, snorkle gear, even a selection of walking boots at hand to save getting our own dirty. The room was small but had everything you could have wanted and more. Beds really cosy.

Walked up to a Thai restaurant (it started to rain so we just helped ourselves to the selection of umbrellas at the door) which was fantastic! Would recommend to anyone wanting to explore the area. It was such a nice break from all the other standard hotels we stayed in while travelling around Hawaii.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloha Happy Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Happy Place

Address: 19-3870 Old Volcano Road, P.O. Box 490, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785 (Formerly Aloha Place)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aloha Happy Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is NOT your regular Joe B&B; actually it isn't a B&B at all, but a farmstead accommodaton. It offers everything you'd expect at a three star hotel and more for a fraction of the cost. Our location is key for planning your perfect stay while visiting the Big Island. We are located a short drive from Hilo International Airport and just minutes from the most active (and safest) volcano in the world. Kilauea is situated at the 4,000 foot elevation amidst lush tropical rainforest where you can escape the heat and crowds of the fast paced city life. Come enjoy some "Aloha" hospitality at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Aloha Happy Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Happy Place Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Happy Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.