We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good,view great, a little overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The RIm

The RIm
Crater Rim Drive, Hawaii National Park, HI 96718, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Volcano
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food good,view great, a little overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The food was very good here and we did get to see the glow of the crater; however some of the portions were small and it was a little overpriced for what you got

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“Spectacular meals, spectacular view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were privileged to stay at the Volcano House for two nights. What an experience!
We had pupus in the bar area during reduced price happy hour while watching the volcano spew forth, had an awesome dinner that evening, and a wonderful breakfast buffet the next morning. I know my food, so no fluff here. It's good and NO issues. As far as expense is concerned, you're in Hawaii. A meal of this caliber is well within range of others in it's class, so get over it.

That being said, the bar food menu look good. We just got the Hawaiian Avocado Dip with
Island Chips;
Johnson Farms avocado and mango are mashed with red onions, limes, cilantro, and
yellow jalapeños. Served with house-made root vegetable chips.
We were saving ourselves for dinner. If you click on their website up at the header, you can view all the menus. Waiter was friendly and service was fast. You need ice for your room? This is where you get it. Small coolers will be filled. Great view of the volcano!

Dinner;
We made reservations and requested seating by the window so we could view the "red glow" from the volcano. Due to the glare of the restaurant lighting, you won't be able to see it too well, but several times they will turn off the lights after they announce it, so all can see for a little bit. Nice touch.
Our waitress was AWESOME. Lisa B. Ask for her. Very friendly and very knowledgeable of the menu. She moved us to a better table as we saw it had a better view. Nice!
I got the chef's special (if there's a chef special anywhere...get it). It was totally mindblowing! Ono with a portuguese sausage/parmesan crust. Whoa! They know how to do fish here! Best ono I have ever gotten here!
My wife got the Mauka & Makai;
Kuahiwi Ranch steak grilled and topped with fresh Dungeness crab meat, Hamakua sweet potato steak fries, sautéed wild mushrooms, macadamia nut green beans, and Kona tarragon compound butter. Man was this ever awesome! Steak was perfectly cooked to medium rare (NY strip) and was very tender and flavorful. Man! And the crabmeat and the compound butter sent this over the top.
Had a great bottle of Pinot Noir from Oregon ($41). Very affordable! I'd go here again!

Breakfast buffet;
Had another great waitress! Friendly!!! Candy M. She was very helpful and showed us to a table that she said had the best view. Nice!
Got a bloody mary. A BACON bloody mary! Whoa!
Omelette station chef is in da house! Pick out what you want and he'll make it. Waffles, homemade breads, breakfast meats...you can see what they have on their website. All GREAT and well worth the cost. The view is amazing!

This was a great restaurants and a wonderful facility! Lodge, hike, visit and eat!
Bucket list quality experience!
Do it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Main dining room only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This review is for Dining only:
Ate dinner last night and ordered the prime rib steak. The piece of meat was all fat and gristle. It was stringy and tough and unable to chew it. Another person in our group also ordered the same meat and hers was just as bad. Other items were tasty and done well but we live here and take friends out to eat when visiting. They have not changed the menu in over a year and a half. Time for some variation. Service was good but meat quality was very poor. It ended up in our dog's bowl. Eat anything but the steaks!

Room Tip: Don't eat the meat!
See more room tips
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Convenient...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Food was average, service was really great, views amazing. Price what you'd expect given the convenience level.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Crater best seen at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

It is worth planning your trip to get a view of the volcano from the Jagger center as it gets dark. During the day all you see is some smoke in the distance but at night the glow from the lava is quite amazing - even at the distance the center is from the crater itself. During January you need a jacket at night though!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The RIm also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The RIm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The RIm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.