We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty Thai food in the heart of Volcano country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Thai Restaurant

Thai Thai Restaurant
19-4084 Old Volcano Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
808-967-7969
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Volcano
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
St. Albert
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very tasty Thai food in the heart of Volcano country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

After an action packed day driving to Volcano from the Kona area we enjoyed a delightful dinner at the Thai Thai Restaurant. The food was piping hot and just the right amount of spice.We had the Thai spring rolls and satay chicken for apies. The main course consisted of Pad Thai,coconut rice and red curry . The servings were fairly large so we did run out of room for desert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    366
    104
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed take out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We did take out from here after a long day of traveling to the Big Island and starting our exploring of the Volcano National Park. We really enjoyed the food, and maybe it was the circumstances and not eating in a restaurant after several days of eating a lot of restaurant food, but we all really enjoyed the food. Not the best Thai food we've ever had, but it was great for that time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Ordinarily I'm not a big fan of Thai food,but there isn't a lot of choice in Volcano Village and we had eaten elsewhere the night before. I loved everything here. The coconut soup base was amazing, and I liked all four of the other dishes we ordered. There was a ton of food, the price reasonable, and the service excellent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Some good, some poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Disappointed after reading such great reviews on Yelp. The Tom Yum soup was excellent, the pork dish with vegetables was poor - the meat was way overcooked to the point of barely being edible. There aren't many dining options in the small town of Volcano so they almost have a captive audience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Okay and filling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It isn't bad and as their are few options in Volcano, if you are eating here you will be fine. It does not compare to a true Thai restaurant you might find elsewhere in a larger city. It is very filling. We went on an 8 mile night hike after having a late lunch here and I was very glad we ate here for that reason alone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Thai Restaurant also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Thai Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.