We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and very nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Thai Restaurant

Thai Thai Restaurant
19-4084 Old Volcano Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
808-967-7969
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Volcano
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“good food and very nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

good fresh food and despite the crowd,staff made time for small talk. we went there twice.loved the green curry and sate

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    365
    103
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A decent place to get dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

There are so few options to eat in volcano, that this place seems like a gem. Especially if you are a vegetarian, your options are very limited. Food is very good too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food in Volcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went to Thai Thai to get takeout while staying at Kate's Cottage. The food was delicious and affordable. A great place to eat!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had just finished our afternoon visit to Kilauea Volcano but wanted to linger till dark to see the glow of the active volcano. Thai Thai was recommended to us. Loved it from the moment we entered. Loved the eccentric decor - the chandeliers alongside Thai images and Royalty. The staff were very friendly and were happy to look after our every question and request. They cook authentic Thai and so were very informative about the spiciness of their dishes. Drinks and appetizers appeared almost instantly. Our main courses were really good. The pad thai had just the right amount of heat and my husbands pepper chicken was delicious. There was so much food that we took a doggie bag for the next day's lunch. A very unexpected and tasty surprise in what was seemingly the middle of nowhere. Only note - stay away from the local volcanic wine. We thought we'd try it for fun - fairly bland. Otherwise I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If you go, go very early”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arrived at about 6:45pm. Waited in line for a table for upwards of half an hour (won't take reservations). After we were seated it took about 45 minutes to get drinks, and at least another 30 minute wait thereafter for the food. So by 8:30 pm we got our meals ( green curry and pad thai) which were very tasty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Thai Restaurant also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Thai Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.