We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but average Thai food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Thai Restaurant

Thai Thai Restaurant
19-4084 Old Volcano Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
808-967-7969
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Westchester, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent but average Thai food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We ate at Thai Thai one night while staying in Volcano Village. The restaurant choices in the village are very limited and since both my husband and I like Thai food we decided to give it a try. The food was adequate. Not great but o.k. I had the salmon thai chu chi, and my husband had the green curry with chicken. The service was good and we were seated right away but we both felt that it was pretty expensive for food that was just average.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    415
    122
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Thai food right in the Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We went for lunch. the service was adequate, maybe a little slow as the place got busier. the menu was fairly extensive. I liked the green curry; ordered medium and it had a nice spice. Pad Thai was also good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Thai meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We arrived just before 7pm on a Friday night. We usually eat earlier and were worried we might have a long wait. We were seated immediately and served promptly. The spring rolls were very good and the sauce was delicious. I ordered the green curry. I realized I didn't specify how spicy I wanted it, so I assumed they'd make it mild (I usually order spicy). It had enough spice for me...I may order medium spicy next time...but ordering spicy or Thai spicy would be intense for most people. I thought the green curry was very flavorful. I always stir in some jasmine rice and that makes it enough food to more than fill you up. My husband ordered the massaman curry and said it was good. Overall I'd say the service was efficient and pleasant, if subdued. The atmosphere is nothing to write home about but that's ok with us. The food we ordered was very good and a very reasonable portion size. I will go back next time we're in volcano.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
“Very good Thai food, but a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had a very good meal at Thai Thai, with my husband even calling it the best Thai food he had ever had. The service was friendly and efficient, but we felt that the prices were a little high even by Hawaii standards. That being said, it is probably the best dinner option in Volcano.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I ate here after a day in Volcanoes National Park. The food was very tasty and the portions were large. My husband had a huge bowl of chicken and rice soup and I had the thai basil chicken. We were very satisfied with our meal. Added bonus: a fantastic everything but the kitchen sink gift shop is attached to the restaurant. A perfect place for your Hawaiian souvenirs.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Thai Restaurant also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Thai Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.