We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe

Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe
Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
808 967 8526
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 12 Restaurants in Volcano
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Delicatessen, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Rouyn-Noranda, Qc, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went there for a good breakfast before hiking in Volcano National Park. Nice omelet with real home fries. The coffee was good and they have free wifi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    244
    169
    51
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was impressed, we rolled in there at 7:00am on a Sunday morning and they had the coffee brewing and were ready to fire up the griddle. I asked for an egg white omellete and it was no problem at all. The kids had nice pancakes and breakfast fare in plentiful portions. The bathrooms were a little rough....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thayer, MO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Near volcano Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is very good probably one of the best on the island "Ono" :)
We visited Volcano Park mid morning to noon. We stumbled onto this place & it was very good. Lunch prices are reasonable but Dinner was a little pricey. That being said it was worth it. The service was rather harsh but that's okay the food made up for the way the service was! I definitely recommend it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Volcano Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

So close to Volcano National Park, the little town of Volcano is a definite must-visit. Lava Rock Cafe offers a varied menu in comfortable surroundings. Burger is delicious as is everything I've tried on their menu. Also, fun little gift shop right next door.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One of Few Options in Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The town of Volcano does not offer many options. We pulled in here in the late afternoon looking for comfort food. We were pleased - that is exactly what is on the menu.
Unfortunately, the waitress did not write down what we ordered properly, but we ate what they gave us. It was typical "diner" food - burgers, sandwiches, etc. Lots of filling food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.