We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Crab Cakes Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe

Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe
Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
808 967 8526
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 12 Restaurants in Volcano
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Sparta, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Crab Cakes Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

After a long day of travel we stumbled upon this place. We weren't sorry! The best crab cakes I've ever had and the steak was supreme! (My wife never finishes hers). Wholeheartedly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    220
    153
    43
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“American Comfort Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stopped here for lunch. They have good food at reasonable prices. This a good place to take picky diners. Service was okay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The food was merely OK. The service was very slow and forgetful. Surprisingly few local beers available.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This place has soooo much potential....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If only they could learn how to handle the not-so-huge numbers of people that come here. Just simple things, like expanding the bar a bit and offering drinks to those waiting. For is good. Staff has an excellent, hard-working attitude, but managment needs to take more hospitality classes.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We liked this place and ate breakfast there twice. It was one of the only places in Volcano open past 7pm. We didn't have any other meals there, but the breakfasts were good. Their passion fruit butter is not to be missed. I was very hesitant to try it on my pancakes, but I am so glad I did. It is awesome.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.