We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Place; Pricey Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Inn
Save
You added Volcano Inn to your Saves list
19-3820 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Volcano B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Comfortable Place; Pricey Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our room was comfortable and bunk beds in our room made it easy for us with two young children. The room, common areas and hot tub area were all nice and clean. The grounds were lush with flowers and plants. The location is great for visiting Volcano National Park. Breakfast is prepared by "an outside vendor" and though it was good and convenient, it was pricey ($12 for 3 egg omelette).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    89
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
58
165
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we hoped to take in as much as possible while celebrating a family destination wedding. Seasoned island travelers may have better advice but here goes our take on this wonderful little inn just outside of Volcanoes NP. We, like many Big Island visitors, enjoyed the Kona side of the island as our primary base. That being the case, a trip to Volcanoes NP required some thoughtful planning and clock management.

We made a northerly clockwise loop from the Kona side and arrived at the Volcano Inn after dark with plans to take in the NP the next day. I should say that even before the trip, the management at the Inn were lovely and very helpful as we made our plans and inquired about timing, reservations, etc. We were concerned about (snail) mailing our pre-trip reservation confirmation but they assured us that we'd be good and they were right. We stayed in one of their houses a short distance from the Inn, proper - navigation was a bit of a challenge after dark but we managed to find it OK (GPS will not help you here). The accomodations were clean, well kept and very comfortable, not luxurious, but more than adequate. Better to think of it as a mountain cottage than an island paradise - we had everything we needed. One thing to consider... if you're traveling with a large group (>10) and hope to dine en masse when you arrive later in the area, take note - the local restaurants were packed and could not take our party. We did, however, eat at the Base which provided a unique experience in itself - burgers, fries, moco locos and bowling!

While the Inn offers a breakfast, we opted for a drive down the to the Lava Rock Cafe - local, rustic and very nice. The Park was a treat though we didn't spend near enough time there and the drive back to the Kona side was a breeze. We would stay at Volcano Inn again in a heartbeat - what a lovely Pacific mountain nest!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a great place to stay. The price was super and the location close to Volcano National Park. Use the old fashioned directions they give you, don't rely on GPS and get there before dark. The entrance is on a small road and easy to miss. Ron took care of every question we had. The room was clean and neat. We stayed in the Volcano Room. Four of us slept there. The whirlpool was a favorite for my kids. Lights, hawaii music (ok they didn't like that part especially, they are teenagers) and active bubbles. There was a kitchen and fridge in the room, so we were able to make noodles and a mid-day meal for all, saving more money. You pay for your breakfast, but we passed on that, choosing cereal and toast in the room.

Room Tip: Volcano room for three is great, four means one sleeps on the sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It may be a great place, if you managed to get there! We enquired for days we wanted to visit. They said they had several options for the two nights we wanted. We booked our flights according to this. And when we decided to book for the hotel: we've been told they wouldn't book us for less than three nights. Why didn't say it the first time so that we could have booked accordingly? I tried to defend my case, but no. They wouldn't take the booking.
So no acknowledgement they'd been wrong not telling us the first by making an exception.
Also, I had never come across a place that would take the whole money of the stay simply to book a room. Well, you'll be warned: don't try to argue, just give them the money (3 nights min).

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here on a visit to the volcanoes when on the big island. Great rooms, great hosts and a great breakfast. Highly recommended if you visit the park for a few days. Very close to the park entrance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

They're not kidding when they say arrive before dark as it's easy to miss. We had reserved a corner room which is across the highway and two streets down from the main lodge. The parking area and the short trail to the room was gravel which made it a little difficult to maneuver with luggage. Both the lodge and the rooms had signs to remove shoes before entering which we did. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and there was a coffee pot, microwave and refrigerator. The corner window did provide a nice view of the rain forest. There is a cafe (not open on Sundays) for breakfast and lunch, but it's kind of expensive ($9 for a bowl of oatmeal). We opted to shop for a few things at the store in the village and got by okay. There were complimentary robes, extra towels for the hot tub, and a warming rack for the towels. The soap, shampoo, and conditioner provided was in large containers and had a very thin consistency. Overall, it's an okay place to stay and it is convenient to the national park, but I'd probably only stay here one day next time instead of the three we'd allowed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Volcano Inn for 3 nights, as we visited the Park and Hilo. We were lucky enough to have a large room (one side of a duplex) with a huge corner glass window looking out over the jungle. It was so cozy - especially after a long day of site seeing. Beautifully decorated with lots of wood, cork floors, and great bathroom. Please note - We were here the last week of September and there was only one cafe open in the village of Volcano -- (The Lava Rock Cafe, which was wonderful) but be prepared, as on Sundays and Mondays it closes at 5 p.m. Because our room had a small refrigerator, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker we were able to put together a bite to eat. I would highly recommend the Volcano Inn as a home base as you tour this part of the Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Inn

Address: 19-3820 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve unique rooms, all with their own private bathroom. We have rooms to accommodate two guests or six. We have a common area for complimentary morning coffee and breakfast. Relax in our hot tub after a day at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, which is only a couple miles away. We have the nicest rooms and the best rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Inn Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.