We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Volcano Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
19-4037 Olapalapa Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Volcano B&B and Inns
Denver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Volcano Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Garden Room. 2 Queen beds with heated blankets. We were exhausted from travel and slept very well. The room is large with a private bathroom. Very comfortable room. Robert makes a killer breakfast...Hawaiian fruit, pancakes, sausages, eggs, coffee, juice. Wonderful. He can be a little condescending but it's no matter really. Just brush it off because his breakfast makes up for it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    61
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
35
72
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were very impressed with our stay at the Volcano Junction B&B. The place is huge and impressive. Built in 1920 as a vacation get away for the plantation big shots, Robert has done a great job converting it to a B&B. Our room was large, with a king size bed and our own private bathroom. Breakfast each morning was wonderful, real plates and silverware. Plenty of coffee, juice, fresh fruit and plenty more! It was quiet and private but very social in the evenings if you choose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

W stayed in the Pele site. The room was big and cozy. It had a porch of the back that overlooked the back year and the chicken coop. We could barely hear the roster when he crowed in the morning. The breakfasts were great and Robert was very hospitable. Aloha Junction has all the comforts of home. We would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place was affordable and easy to get to. Getting in was a trick. The proprietor wasn't home so we had to call to find out how to get through the gate. The beds were squishy. Prior to my booking here, I asked the proprietor what kind of mattresses were in the rooms. He told me they were pillow tops. Pillow tops they were NOT. Still, the room had everything else and everything was functional. There was a balcony overlooking the beautiful yard that I wish we could have lazed around on, but our schedule was too full. Breakfast was filling. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that all the rooms are in the same building. There was a family with small children st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are going to Volcanoes National Park and doing more than just driving the park for a few hours, you should stay here. We like to see things at both sunrise and sunset and so we always want to stay close to the National Park and this location was perfect. One morning we weren't even going to get up for sunrise but we woke up and because we were so close we jumped up, got gear together and made it over there in about 5 minutes just in time to see the sun start to come up. If you are going to do the boat ride to see the lava, this location is also very good - you are only about an hour away.

The people are really nice here, the breakfast is hardy and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The living space has comfortable furniture and Robert lets you use everything, including the kitchen.

When we go back to Volcanoes we will stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed only one night but it was very enjoyable. The grounds are lovely, the plantation syle house is very accommodating and rooms are are good with private bathroom, coffee pot provided and a fireplace and electric blanket for those cooler nights. As we are dog lovers it was good to visit with Robert's dogs too. Breakfast was great and kept us going till late afternoon!

We would stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsford
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we stayed for one night so we could explore the volcano national park. Wish we would have stayed longer. Robert was a great host he showed us our room the queen suite and it was really nice. electric blankets, fireplace, nice kitchette, nice porch to sit out on, bathrobes and slippers provided. Everything you would need was there. You had full use of the house, you could use the kitchen if needed, nice living room with tv and fireplace, dvds. he even gave us pointers on where to eat.
The house was full that night every room was rented out and it was still super quite. Breakfast the next morning robert put out quite a spread. We had pancakes, fresh eggs, sausages, fresh fruit, coffee, orange juice and tea. We found out that morning that our fellow guest in the house were staying at the same resort we were the paniollo greens. How funny is that. Anyway do not hesitate to stay at this place it is wonderfull. We ever go back to the big island againd we will stay here for more than one night for sure. Thank you Robert so much The Weinfurters

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms and really loved our queen suite. They all looked nice you can't go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19-4037 Olapalapa Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloha Junction B&B is located in Volcano Village, just behind the Post Office where it is quiet and private. In this old plantation home you will not feel crowded in these spacious rooms reminiscent of the 1930's. Property is fenced and gated for privacy with plenty of free parking available too. Each room has it's own coffee maker, mini fridge and toaster, but you won't want to miss Uncle Robert's famous Papaya-boat and macadamia nut breakfasts. Guests are also welcome to use the kitchen at night if you want to stay home for your own cooked meal.While touring this "Drive-in" volcano, you definitely want to include some sunset time to see the glow from Kilauea. Well attended to pet's and children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and Booking.com so you can book your Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Junction Hotel Volcano
Aloha Junction b&b
Aloha Junction Bed And Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.