We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

'Our Hawaiian Hideaway'Secluded-Tropical-Paradise

Our Hawaiian Hideaway
Our Hawaiian Hideaway
Our Hawaiian Hideaway
Full Kitchen
Kitchen & Dining Room
Traveler Palm in our Garden
Total privacy behind our Gated Property
Volcano
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SteveKinN...
Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this rental. It was very clean, well appointed and centrally located between Hilo and Volcanoes National Park- about 25 minutes to either. WiFi was automatic...no log-on necessary. . Everything was well labeled and easy to find. Instructions to find the rental and gain entry were precise (A civic address would help those using a GPS device). Bed was very comfortable. The lanai was very nice.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Very clean and had all expected ammenities.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
aelte
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“really hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we had difficulties finding the HIDEaway, because we trusted google maps.... only trust in what the owner writes and so you will find it without problems.....
once here, everything was as we expected and still a bit better. everything you really need is here (except a large bed, we are used to have one, so this is not a reproach)
get asleep with the chants of the coqui frogs is (fos us) fantastic. we really prefer this sound instead of a highway, loud neighbour's TV or people step dancing on your head in the appartement above...) when the frogs stop the roosters in the woods begin, when they stop, the birds begin to sing..... the sounds of the jungle, NOT New York City.... for every nature lover PARADISE! We love especially the fully equipped kitchen and the perfect working wi-fi to write our blog daily without going to a internet café. for us swisses where everythibng is close, driving half an hour to the national park seems a bit long, but now we are here in BIG island....and gas is so cheap (too cheap to teach people just to make working their engine when the car is moving....) another thing I would buy immediately if the house were mine: a shower to take in my hand, (not fixed to a wall) but the pressure is good and warm water also comes good, you might need it when visiting in winter al we are doing right now. WE WOULD COME BACK, YES, WE WOULD

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: tranquility and the screened lanai (balcony)
Liked least: queen size bed too small for us (used to have eachone one of such kind)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2014
Aloha Frank & Susi,
We hope you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for leaving us a nice review on FlipKey.
We like your idea of adding a hand shower, and will do so on our next visit. Sorry we do not have a King Bed, but we hope you still found it a comfortable bed to get a good night sleep. We also enjoy all of the sounds of nature at the Hideaway.
We look forward to reading your blog about your travels.
We wish you all the best and safe travels in the future.
Mahalo,
Bob & Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ruth D
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Secluded, peaceful, lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed for a week in Our Hawaiian Hideaway with my cousin and we enjoyed it thoroughly. We had the misfortune to come in after dark in the rain, but the directions that were provided were so good that we had no trouble at all finding the property. Likewise the directions for access to the house were clear and complete. That said, I'd recommend that you try to arrive in the daylight hours to make it a little easier on yourself. This is not a neighborhood with bright street lights! There are some solar powered lights lining the long driveway from the gate to the cottage, but they don't seem to get enough sunlight to get powered up and so didn't provide any illumination. It's not a huge problem - bright beams on the car were perfectly fine for negotiating the driveway.

The cottage is located about halfway between Hilo Airport and the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. It's a great location for visiting the volcanoes, and good for things in and around Hilo (it's about 16 or 17 miles from the airport), but a little far if you plan to spend much time on the Kona side of the Big Island. There's plenty to do on the southeast part of Hawaii, even if the government shuts down the National Parks. For a first-time visitor, this is a good location.

The seclusion of this property was one of the things we really enjoyed. Sitting on the lanai for a breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt and toasted Hawaiian sweet bread was a real treat. The local flora (anthuriums and other beautiful flowers) and fauna (saw the chickens, heard the coquis) contributed to the atmosphere. The kitchen is very well equipped and we could easily have cooked meals there, but mainly used the coffee maker, toaster, knives, cutting board, corkscrew and refrigerator.

The bathroom was furnished not only with bath towels but also with beach towels. There's a hair dryer as well.

The cottage is beautifully decorated and very well maintained. There are helpful labels on light switches and in other places where you might need a little guidance or a reminder.

There is a VCR/DVD player with the TV. We had some trouble with the remote control, but doing it the old-fashioned way (pushing buttons on the player) worked for us.

There is a double bed (maybe queen size) in the bedroom and a futon in the living room that can (in principle) sleep two. I had trouble getting the futon folded down flat to make a bed, but I attribute that to my inexperience with futons. There was a notebook with direction on how to do it, but I couldn't quite get the hang of it.

Bob and Linda, the owners, were great. They were very accommodating when we decided to change our reservation to add a day, and were very clear in the directions they provided, telling us all we needed to know about the property for our stay. They asked that we call when we arrived so they would know that we were settled, and to make sure that everything was in order. They gave good advice on shopping (get the fruit at the farmers' markets!) and were more than willing to provide suggestions on things to do or see.

This is definitely a place to return to.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Atmosphere - it was a very peaceful location
Liked least: Futon
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jkmac07
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect seclusion!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Well named as it is the perfect hideaway! Every modern convenience, e.g., cable tv, wifi, even AC if you need it, along with seclusion in a tropical setting. The beach is a short drive (20-30 min) away so if you want to hear the surf, you need to look elsewhere. This is the perfect location for visiting Volcanoes National Park (about a 30 min or so drive) or exploring the east coast of the big island. Will definitely stay again!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Locaton and seclusion.
Liked least: Looks like the price dropped right after my visit. It is what it is.
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to have you as a guest again soon. Mahalo, Bob & Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
gesauls
Texas
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
6
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Purple-El...
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!! Loved everything about it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this cottage for 5 nights during our honeymoon. everything about it was perfect.
It was a good size for the 2 of us and the kitchen contained everything needed to cook a nice meal. The decor was really cute with great ornaments around to keep you amused and the whole house had a real holiday yet homely feel.
The large lanai was fantastic and was encased with mosquito netting so we could sit out and relax without worrying about getting bitten.
The garden was stunning, so lush and green with the gentle sound of wildlife. It would be easy to spend hours just walking around the garden looking at all the different aspects of it. The house was surrounded by trees and plants and down a long gated driveway so it felt completely private and away from the crowds and other tourists, yet still close to all amenities and only a few minutes drive to the Volcano National Park.
Overall a fantastic little gem, great for couples and honeymooners!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Lanai
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2011
We want to thank Eleanor & Daniel for choosing to spend there honeymoon at Our Hawaiian Hideaway. We wish you all the best in you future together. Thank you for your kind words about Our Hawaiian Hideaway. Mahalo, Bob & Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Frank H
Hawaii
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
4
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$75
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
linda M
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2011
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing